We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, lovely service”
Review of Sea Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our family of 3 stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room (upstairs). We were very comfortable. The building is not new by any means, and the bathroom was fairly basic. However it was clean, spacious and well presented. It was also very quiet. There was a lounge area outside our room, which was shared with other guests. This would be great for families travelling together. It looks as though there is one lounge room per 4 rooms on the upstairs level.

We took a package which included a small car. It was just big enough for the 3 of us, but if you were a bigger family I would suggest discussing car size when booking, just to make sure. Once we had snorkelling gear, wetsuits, an esky and our day packs in there, there would have been no room for a 4th person! The car also has a 100km per day limit which is pretty difficult to stick to. You need to expect a surcharge for extra kilometres used.

This hotel, being 5km out of town, and in a relatively unattractive building, has endeavoured to set itself apart on packaging and service. I think they have done this very well. The free airport pickup alone saves you a lot of money. The staff were all lovely and very helpful, particularly Robbie and Nadia. We were given fresh beach towels each day, and offered extra towels too. We also found the wi - fi in the room very useful. It was a bit cold when we were there, but the BBQ area certainly looked very appealing and was spotless. (Huge modern BBQ with nice tables and chairs - like an outdoor restaurant)

The Seabreeze only uses selected whale shark tours; ones that they have checked out and feel are of a high standard. This took the guess work out of choosing a whale shark operator. (We went with Kings).

All in all, given that accommodation is expensive in Exmouth, the Seabreeze package was a good choice which I am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melscottmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review which we fully agree. The Whale Shark Packages are the simplest and best way for guests to take any worry out of their holidays. You summed up our advantages and differences very well. Yes the building is not easy on the eyes, but as they say....
never judge a book by it's cover! Thank you for trusting us with this so important holiday and hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very much one of the best Golden Chain Resorts in WA. Located next to the Harold E Holt Navy Communication Base the opportunity to explore was just too great. The history is amazing. The beds and furniture are very comfortable and the units are serviced each day.

Room Tip: Very accommodating and helpful staff. The Common room adjoining the 4 units was well used and a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your time and staying with us. Hope to welcome you again soon!
Cya Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here last month and found it the perfect place to stay in Exmouth. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and offered helpful services such as a shuttle to and from the airport and in and out of the town. We booked the full package, which included car rental and the whale shark tour with Kings, and the overall value was excellent! They also offered free snorkel and beach gear which was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your Whale Shark Package experience with your fellow travelers! If swimming with the Whale Sharks is on the Bucket List then our Packages are offering the best value for your money! Thank you for trusting us with your holiday and please send more City People out to the WA outback! ;-))) Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards
Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Sea Breeze Resort offers a great 3 day package that includes accommodation, airport transfers, car hire and whale shark tour. The package is great value - you certainly can't match it booking each of these items on your own - and they even offer a package for a solo traveller.

The rooms at Sea Breeze are comfortable, clean and have a small kitchenette. There is a pool, BBQ area, laundry and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Sea Breeze is about 5km out of town next to the Harold Holt naval base so you definitely need a vehicle if you stay here, particularly as there is no restaurant, so you need to venture into town for meals.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us and you were true champions... with all the rain and bad weather we had. You took it in a Breeze and always with a smile and you still had a great time... I wish you much better weather next time! Cya Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Axel and his team deliver excellence in customer service. From my initial query before evening booking right through to looking after us for an unexpected additional night (due to a Qantas cancelled flight), the staff are friendly, professional and helpful.
We booked the whale shark package which is very good value for money and the services were all delivered exactly as stated, no hidden costs. The packages have been designed to provide all you need while staying in Exmouth - accommodation, hire car, tours and gear eg snorkeling equipment, esky.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well set up for an extended stay / self catering in respect of a kitchenette with full sized fridge.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sea Breeze to anyone looking not just for accommodation in Exmouth but an operator to set you up for your entire Exmouth holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room which was part of the package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aputula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you sooooo much! This review ha made our day and was the opening of our last staff meeting! We are trying very hard to please our guests as good as we can and most of the time we are not only achieving, no we are exceeding our guests expectations. In your case we had a great time and a very interesting finish with your return to the resort while you were on the way to the airport. Again the rain and challenging conditions made it more interesting and forged the group of guests together! We enjoyed your company and thank you very much for your very kind and nice comments! Hope to see you again soon! Sunny regards Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed 7 nights here (Couple). Location is great as it is one of the closest resorts to the Cape Range National Park and Ningaloo Reef, and also close to the town centre. You do need a car, which was organised in a convenient package with accomodation and whale shark tour (3 Islands, also reviewed on tripadvisor), because the drive to the park is about a 1/2 hour.

Interesting historical building, thoughtfully converted barracks/quarters. The open plan room was spacious, plenty of room for a couple. Nicely decorated. Very quiet as well. Kitchen area had all that we needed: stove, microwave, big fridge, sink and utensils. Modern appliances. Corner of the room was curtained off to use as a closet. It had plenty of space for us to unload our clothes and shoes into the space provided without it being cluttered. Comfortable furniture in the room. Aircon worked very well. TV, including Foxtel, was good, although some Foxtel channels had some occasional static. Didn't really watch much TV anyway. Thoughtful touches, such as a foodbox, extra toiletries, soaps, sponges, towels, brochures about the area, etc.... Shower had good water pressure and heating. Plenty of shelf and hanging space for two. Free wifi too, although not fast enough to watch videos (youtube, etc...), it was fast enough for general web-browsing.

Staff were phenomenal. Room was cleaned very well daily, and provided extras as requested (milk, towels, etc...). Very flexible and responsive when any issues arose. Also very informative and took the time to talk to us although it was clear they were very busy. Gave great advice that helped make our trip more awesome.

Resort also provided convenient services, such as airport transfers, shuttles to and from town for dinner, restaurant reservations, equipment hire (snorkel, eskies, ice packs, beach towels, etc...), and laundry services (we didn't use this in the end). The airport transfer is a good service as Exmouth town is about a 1/2hr drive from the aiport. Snorkel equipment was good quality. We snorkeled every day and we didn't have any issues with the mask or fins. There was also a nice BBQ area, with a great grill. I only got to use it once, but I might upgrade by BBQ to the same brand. There's also a pool, but didn't get to use it as the water was cold. But why go in a pool when you can go swimming at the beautiful turquoise bay?

Breakfasts provided were delicious. Continental, cereals, bread, cheese, etc.... Good coffee (latte) and plenty of food to start the day. The breakfast area is a good place to get information from the other guests for the best snorkeling spots and to trade stories.

Overall, definitely a good 'base' for holidaying in Exmouth. Good value, especially when packaged with tours, car hire, etc.... Staff are excellent. A very nice resort, especially considering how isolated Exmouth is. Will stay here again on our next visit, and would definitely highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesse f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your in depth review and sharing your experience with others. It is very nice to hear that you were not only enjoying yourself but value and respect our service, too. We appreciate your comments very much and try to work as hard as we can to keep the level of service right up there, the prices affordable and invest into the resorts outdoor presentation as well as the comfort of the studios... We are looking forward welcoming you again soon! All the best, Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here June 4 - 11 on a 7 night complete whale shark package. We appreciated the airport pick-up and drop-off and the inclusion of car hire in the package. Being out of town meant a quiet unique experience on an historic naval base. The accommodation is an old barracks, which is heritage listed, but the rooms have been renovated and are very comfortable indeed and decorated with the owner's awesome photography. The staff were all friendly and extra helpful, going the extra mile. We really enjoyed getting to know the owner Axel and his lovely daughter Lisa. Continental breakfast suited our needs admirably. The beach combo of sun shelter, Eske eyc was very welcome on our snorkeling trips. The Whale Shark tour was awesome, and has been rated separately with Ningaloo Blue. The resort is perfectly situated to get to all e attractions. We loved being here, and especially appreciated the reaction of the staff when our plane was cancelled and we arrived back - the welcome back to Sea Breeze and the excitement was so cool. We would highly recommend this property for what it is - a family owned and run comfortable resort in a converted barracks on a naval base (not many of them around). Thanks for a great holiday Axel, Lisa and crew!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
380 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.5 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
3.1 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
248 reviews
3.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Resort

Address: 116 North C Street, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Breeze Resort)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £80 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Breeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Breeze Resort Exmouth, a unique owner-operated resort located next to the Historic Naval Base just 5km north of Exmouth, Ningaloo Reef in Western Australia. We are the closest resort to the Ningaloo Marine Park in Exmouth. Our resort was a former Chief Petty Officer Quarters of the US Navy and the Passeck Family "recycled" this building and turned it into one of the best resorts in Exmouth. With only 30 fully self-contained studios we are proud to offer personalized service to all of our visitors. Our facilities and services are unique which makes our resort the perfect place to stay in Exmouth for a couple, the family escape or for corporate guests. Our 30 studios are quiet and serviced daily. Each studio features a kitchenette with cook top, range hood, large 260 liter refrigerator, microwave with convection oven & grill. Guests can enjoy free WIFI, 8Ch Foxtel, Restaurant and airport transfers on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exmouth
Exmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing