We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“E44” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“E44”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked via the Internet and was not disappointed. As you turn off the main road you might wonder what you will find - never judge a book by its cover! The distance from town was not a problem for us and we enjoyed the interesting aspect of being at the Harold E Holt Communication Base. The hosts were excellent and very helpful with advice about where to eat and places to visit. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, very clean and with good facilities. Very nice pool and BBQ facilities, both well looked after. Reasonable price in an area which is not cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your review and you got us puzzled with the E44??? We have no idea what that means but the main thing is that you had a great time! Thank you for pointing out that we offer great value for money. Exmouth is expensive and we try to keep it as affordable as possible.Our prices are dynamic so book early and get a good deal! Hope to see you again some time!
Kind regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    284
    42
    11
    16
See reviews for
167
344
40
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here four nights, units older style with air/con, may be a little out of town for some people, (5km's) but that could suit other people, rooms very neat and tidy, with small kitchenette, we used BBQ most nights, this area was always kept clean owner doing wonderful job here, we would stay again no issues

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review and compliment! Our building is Heritage Listed so there are limits of what we can do. We are trying to keep as many fittings and fixtures original. Also it is leased from the Defence Department, if it would be mine, I would implement things a bit different... There is only so much a tenant can do. ;-)))
Thank you for staying with us.
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

While I was initially put off by the 5 km distance from exmouth town centre it proved to be an advantage. Location is closer to the reef and you do get to see the Roos and Emus roaming around in the early evenings. The 'resort' offers a shuttle to exmouth for those wantingto goout o dinner and not drive. The advantage is that you can drink if you wish, the disadvantage is you are commited to a time frame. The rooms were well stocked and comfortable and facilities good. Use of the laundry was restricted to afternoons only and we didn't use the pool. While the staff were friendly and helpful I did find one male staff member to be a bit abrupt. The biggest problem was the mosquitoes. Not the fault of the 'resort' but using the BBQ in the evenings required lashings of repellent on every inch of skin. Even then they were as thick as flys on a hot sumers day in the dessert.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br82behere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review and pointing out our location advantage. It happens to almost all of our guests that they find the location initially strange and then find out the advantage after staying a night. It is so quiet and the wildlife is very entertaining at times. ( the small and cute Emu Chicks we have at the moment or the Indian Miner Birds attacking and chasing the Adult Emus around the resort )
Yes you are right, due to the good and much needed rainfall we have at the moment quite a lot of Mozzies around, but we offer personal insect repellent for our guests and that seems to help a lot.
The FREE Restaurant Shuttle is leaving at 6:15pm and picks up at 8:15pm from the Restaurants.
If guests want to go out and have a drink and explore the night life of Exmouth, we suggest a Taxi service.
We use our Landry in the mornings to do the Hotel Laundry and our guests are normally out exploring Ningaloo Reef or Whale Sharking or Microlight flying.... not doing laundry.
I am sorry that this has inconvenience you, but I am glad you enjoyed our studios and your stay! We are hoping to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We bought the 5 day whale shark package and it made everything easy for us with the transfers, car and all the gear and of course the whale shark day trip to the reef. We found it very interesting to be on the Naval base and enjoyed our evening walks around the deserted buildings thinking of what had been there in the past. Our room was very comfortable and we used the outdoor setting by the BBQ for our evening meals. This was mainly of the local prawns which we bought in the town and were delicious and very cheap. Breakfast was good, but the room can get very crowded maybe better in warmer weather when outside could be used. A happy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review and reassuring the value, service and comfort of our most popular Whale Shark Package! You will be pleased to know that we re-arranged the reception area and set up 6 additional Breakfast tables! Loads of space now for the unfortunate rain in School Holidays Situation!
You made the most of what Exmouth has to offer, followed our advise and "bingo" you had an awesome time even the weather wasn't perfect! Thank you again and I am sure we will see you again soon. Cya Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been camping around Australia and needed a few nights to relax and spoil ourselves.
We found Axel a great host and shared his knowledge of the area very helpful. He booked our whale shark tour which was the best thing we have done so far. The resort is a very quiet, clean and comfortable place to unwind in Exmouth and I would recommend anyone who wishes to stay in Exmouth to stay here. It is close to the beaches and town, yet safe and secure.

Room Tip: Use as much electricity as you want, charge up all appliances here, heaps of power to use
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acetog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
It was a pleasure having you and the Whale Shark trip with a Humpback crossing while you were snorkeling with Giant Mantas was something special!!!! I am sooooo jealous! Yes the power situation here is very fascinating....so is the history of the place, the beauty of the region and the wildlife around the resort. Thanks for staying with us and unwind from the camping stress with kids for a few days. Please keep spreading the word! ;-)))
All the best for the rest of your trip and hope to see you back here some time soon.
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We took our 13yr old granddaughter to swim with the whale sharks and it was amazing. We took advantage of the 3 day package that included transfers, car hire [a definite requirement], snorkel gear, esky, rashie and a day trip on the reef with Kings. Everything was perfect. Nadja, Robbie, Lisa & Axel could not be more helpful, from information regarding the area to the best hot chocolate, they made our stay memorable. To top off the trip, we not only swam with 5 whalesharks, but saw a great white - a rare sighting. Dont be put off by the buildings external appearance - it is an historic naval barrack, just enjoy the generous hospitality shown by the staff.
Continental breakfast was very plentiful of a high quality and being able to cook meals in our room at night was great after a day of snorkelling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley261613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
What can I say???? Is it getting any better than this? Taking the Grand Daughter out to a trip of a lifetime and having an amazing day out Whale Sharking. Sharing this experience will be with you forever and the time you had will never be forgotten by the young Birthday Lady, I am sure. What a wonderful family bonding and way to send some quality time together. Thank you for trusting me with this important holiday. I am so glad that it all worked out the way it did!
Please take all the other Family Members next year and visit again! ;-)))
All the very best and well done!
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We (couple) booked a 10-night stay and got a good discount, which was great, considering it was in the middle of the whale shark season. Overall the room is comfortable, good size, tastefully well-furnished, and self-contained complete kitchen with modern appliances, ideal for small meals which was great. Our only negative point was the bed. First, the size, it was a queen, which for tall people can be an issue. Second, the mattress on the room we were has seen better days, so it had a lump in the middle which my husband found very uncomfortable. Although it seems some renovations have been carried out recently, the bathroom needs a little bit more attention and housekeeping need a little bit more effort in cleaning the bathroom properly (I thought the sink could have been better cleaned). Hotel staff was friendly and helpful with information and receptive to the above points we made upon leaving. Would definitely stay there again provided there is an improvement with the beds!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with others. Sadly we could have made your stay much more comfortable as we had 2 brand new mattresses delivered to us just before you arrived. If you would have raised this issue with us during your stay, we would have swapped the mattress immediately and I am sure you would have had a much better experience. Also it may help to let people know that your husband is 7 foot something tall, as it obviously causes him some inconvenience.
Anyhow, you still had a great time and that is all it matters and I am sure next time you will enjoy it even more as we have exchanged the mattress with a new very comfy one!
With us a good stay all starts with a good night sleep.
See you back soon!
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
3.0 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Resort

Property: Sea Breeze Resort
Address: 116 North C Street, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Breeze Resort)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Breeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Breeze Resort Exmouth, a unique owner-operated resort located next to the Historic Naval Base just 5km north of Exmouth, Ningaloo Reef in Western Australia. We are the closest resort to the Ningaloo Marine Park in Exmouth. Our resort was a former Chief Petty Officer Quarters of the US Navy and the Passeck Family "recycled" this building and turned it into one of the best resorts in Exmouth. With only 30 fully self-contained studios we are proud to offer personalized service to all of our visitors. Our facilities and services are unique which makes our resort the perfect place to stay in Exmouth for a couple, the family escape or for corporate guests. Our 30 studios are quiet and serviced daily. Each studio features a kitchenette with cook top, range hood, large 260 liter refrigerator, microwave with convection oven & grill. Guests can enjoy free WIFI, 8Ch Foxtel, Restaurant and airport transfers on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exmouth
Exmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing