We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place!! Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place!! Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed for a weeks holiday! Don't judge a book by its cover! Rooms are modern,clean and very comfortable! The biggest plus was the friendly staff and excellent recommendations about what to do and see. We booked the whale shark package and was great value for money! This was definitely a highlight of the trip. We also had a car, breakfast and all our beach gear (snorkel/fins/rashie/tent/chilly bin) all included in our package!!

Could not say a bad word about this place, if you are holidaying in exmouth then definitely stay at the Sea Breeze!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nztravelqueen_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for the nice review and pointing out that our Whale Shark Package is the way to go when visiting Ningaloo! Hope to see you again some time when the Humpback Whales and Mantas are around from June to November!
Cya Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    284
    42
    11
    16
See reviews for
169
345
40
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I am gobsmacked at how some muppets can know how to write a negative review via the internet but don't know how research via the same medium! Sea Breeze at Exmouth is exactly what it claims to be. Whether you are in the heart of town or out of town you are going to need a car. Getting to any of the snorkelling spots or beaches etc requires wheels. If you didn't know that before you got here you haven't done your basic homework.
Sea Breeze recognises the fact it is out of town and does everything possible to make its guests comfortable. The staff happily recommend and book restaurants in town for you. They then drop you off and pick you up again later. What more can you ask for? Airport transfers are covered and they can supply you with eskies, snorkelling gear, shelters etc.
The resort is attached to the naval base and they don't hide from that fact. We actually found the Cold War background of the site very interesting. Sure, it may not win any architectural awards but it is in a desert area prone to cyclones.
We found the rooms clean and serviced daily. The breakfast was pleasant and the hospitality genuine. Special mention to the delightful Sadie who is passionate about the area and full of useful tips.
I recommend the 5 day package that includes breakfast, care hire, whale shark tour and airport transfers. It was excellent value and the diving at Navy Pier is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! You have nailed it! Exmouth requires some homework and a hire car if you are flying in.... We have developed our Packages to give people the basic set up and service they require to have a great holiday... any deviance from it may cause dramas!
We are very happy and Sadie is over the moon, now she is officially a legend too. ;-))))
We had great pleasure having you and hope to welcome you again soon.
Cya Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We chose Sea Breeze as it is 5km out of town and we wanted somewhere quiet where we would get a good night's sleep as we would often be up early to catch dive boats. We chose the 'Fly-in' room package as this gave us everything we needed in a cost effective way. Picked up from the airport, dropped at a car hire place with everything already booked, same on return. Breakfast included which was plenty to last hours including delicious fresh fruit salad and decent coffee. The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean, neat and comfortable with a small pool and loungers for cooling off and relaxing at the end of the day. Nice outdoor BBQ area, regular visitors are a bunch of emus and kangaroos. Near to the lighthouse for stunning sunset view. Would definitely recommend this accommodation as other places in town could be quite noisy.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms facing the road are nicer as there is no walkway in front of your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for pointing out the value and convenience of the Fly In Package, Even more so the value of our Whale Shark Packages are outstanding and unmatched. Thank you for mentioning how quiet the resort is and your tip that the rooms to the road are indeed quieter and a bit brighter, too.
We hope that you will come back some time soon.
Kind regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having stayed at many locations in my business career I have found this to be one of the best. Set in an historic Naval Base and only 5km from the heart of Exmouth made this the perfect location for my trip. Well kept grounds with clean barbeque and swimming pool facility abundant with local wildlife, clean and tastefully decorated suite with NO maintenance issues, friendly competent knowledgeable staff with a can do attitude. Perfect for business or holiday wins my vote of thanks and I can't wait to return - hopefully a little longer next time. Regards Rod. M

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you Rod for such great words! I think we have to borrow a few of them if not the whole lot for our website! It was a pleasure having you and I am sure next time you will have more time and less work! See you back soon! Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Let me start off that this is a very friendly place to stay at, where the Emu's roam freely and you have that geniune "WA" outback feel. Our room was clean (and serviced daily which was great as this does not always happen in the outback), bed and furniture were very comfortable, TV worked well, the unit had a bit fridge was was great and wifi internet was fine. The outdoor kitchen/BBQ area looks pretty good although unfortunately we didn't have a chance to use it.

In reality, the rating for Sea Breeze is closer to 3.5 stars than 3 stars, however I'm not convinced that this is actually a "resort" per say (The "Andaman" in Langkawi is a resort for example). I do have to agree with some of the other reviews here and say that it is more of a motel with a pool. We found that our room had a humidity issue and the aircon appeared relatively old and somewhat loud (we booked the Executive Suite).

The fact that Sea Breeze is 5km from Exmouth is not really an issue at all and although I do agree with some of the comments on here that expectations might not be met for the amount you pay, See Breeze is one of the cheapest accommodation providers around.

The tyranny of distance (as well as being within WA which is one of the most expensive states) makes operating this (or any other business) very difficult to operate in this environment, so given these factors I actually think the cost structure represents fair value (the owners have put in a lot of effort in attempting to converting former military barracks and surrounding grounds).

Overall KimbaKake did enjoy the stay, but it's not a "romantic" location and feels a little utilitarian.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimbaKake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We welcome your feedback to further develop our product and service. May I correct you as our AAAT Star Rating is 4 Star Self Contained Accommodation.
What you are saying is that you had a great stay, but the term RESORT is not matching your experience with other International Resorts. May I explain. The definition in Australia of a Hotel is that is has to have Liquor License. A Motel has to have a Liquor License AND you must be able to park you car in front of your room. A Resort does not have to have a Liquor License but offer more and additional facilities and services. We do not have a Restaurant and Bar and therefore no Liquor License. Due to this definition in Australia you will see Caravan Parks and other accommodation providers without a Liquor License calling themselves RESORT if they provide additional facilities and services. Your analysis of the old appearance is correct as the building and it;s facilities are Heritage Listed! We are doing our up most in maintaining as much of the original US NAVY features to preserve it;s Military History. This is one of the main points of difference, the quiet stay in a Bomb and Cyclone Proof Building, rescued from demolition and recycled into a unique Resort with very unique wildlife and personal service. We agree that our resort is not a romantic getaway but we do not agree with your overall rating, as well as your comments about Oyster Stacks and Turquoise Bay. I think by reading all your tripadvisor comments that you feel much more at easy in a city life indulging in good food, wine and coffee, rather being in nature on an isolated empty beach or alone in the ocean. We are glad that you had a great stay and somewhat sad that you missed out going out to swim with the Whale Sharks and any other tour on offer while you where here. Again, thank you for taking the time sharing your experience with others and giving me an opportunity to clarify our Business Name: SEA BREEZE RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Although selecting a place to stay during our time exploring Exmouth was almost a formality, we could not have asked for better accommodation.

The location was unique, being set in a historic Naval base and in the heart of all that Exmouth has to offer rather than in the centre of the town. With our hired car (cannot recommend this enough) we could quickly find ourselves at one of a big choice of stunning beaches (Bundegi <5mins, Hunters <10mins). A little further round the west coast there were plenty of places with good opportunities to see nesting and hatching turtles and a wealth of additional beaches. All the way round to Yardie Creek can be reached in around 1.5hrs for a great hike and stunning views within Cape Range National Park.

The room itself was clean, cool, stylish and comfortable with everything that you could need for self-catering. Outside there was a refreshing pool and well-shaded pool area, and the only insects to be found were dozens of butterflies. The BBQ area was fantastic with picnic tables, two BBQs including utensils and cooking oils and sauces and all under canvas shades. At reception there could be found much-appreciated cold drinks and ice creams, friendly and knowleagable staff and the rental of snorkelling gear and beach shelters.

A final mention to the abundance of wildlife within the resort (see pictures) - aside from the butterflies there were plenty of birds local to the region, including emus (!), and kangaroos wandering round outside our window at night.

This was truly an oasis within the heart of Exmouth and the Ningaloo Reef and Cape Range National Parks - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review, highlighting our unique features and services. Our location sometimes is perceived as "out of town", but when you are here you quickly realize that the location is actually of great advantage. It is quiet. the Roos and Emus in the Garden and you are closer to all the things you came to visit in the first place.... Thank you for highlighting the need of a car, but it is not only when staying with us. ANYONE who is flying in really needs a car! We can not highlight this enough! Only thing I would not describe our location as in the heart of Exmouth. I think a better term maybe in the heart of what Exmouth has to offer... or where Exmouth begun....
Thank you again for this detailed review.
Cya Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Sea breeze coming from Perth. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and found a very quite, clean and well equipped studio. We had to rearranged our plan after a couple of days and they were very flexible with the dates and we came back after 3 days at Karijini. The breakfast is nice and the staff is very helpful to arrange visits and to discover the region. We will come back here if in the region again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank olkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review and your nice words. It was a pleasure having you and I am looking forward welcoming you again, hopefully soon. Switzerland is just around the corner.... ;-)))) Funny a lot of people in Perth and around Australia reckon it is too far to travel.... Good on you and all the very best! Cya back at Ningaloo soon.
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Resort

Property: Sea Breeze Resort
Address: 116 North C Street, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Breeze Resort)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Breeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Breeze Resort Exmouth, a unique owner-operated resort located next to the Historic Naval Base just 5km north of Exmouth, Ningaloo Reef in Western Australia. We are the closest resort to the Ningaloo Marine Park in Exmouth. Our resort was a former Chief Petty Officer Quarters of the US Navy and the Passeck Family "recycled" this building and turned it into one of the best resorts in Exmouth. With only 30 fully self-contained studios we are proud to offer personalized service to all of our visitors. Our facilities and services are unique which makes our resort the perfect place to stay in Exmouth for a couple, the family escape or for corporate guests. Our 30 studios are quiet and serviced daily. Each studio features a kitchenette with cook top, range hood, large 260 liter refrigerator, microwave with convection oven & grill. Guests can enjoy free WIFI, 8Ch Foxtel, Restaurant and airport transfers on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exmouth
Exmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing