We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cabin interesting Region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Trafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Cabin interesting Region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The family-sized deluxe accommodation is far the best for facilities, space and location! Although of course, it is the most expensive. We upgraded almost by accident as Virgin Australia changed our flight days at the last minute and the cabin we had originally chosen and paid for wasn't available for the new dates. But we were really happy that we did. A shot of our view from the verandah is posted here.
If you are bringing children, being able to keep an eye on them while they are in the pool from the comfort of your own shady verandah (can in number 7), must be a bonus. Corella, magpie-larks and honeyeaters flit from tree to tree for our entertainment - and to feed their chicks. However we never found out if all the top-priced accommodation was like this, or if we were just lucky with our last-minute switch.
Our cabin was close to the main road, but for 90% of our stay there only seemed to be about one car every 10minutes. Indeed sometimes the traffic was so sparse we thought we ought to wave to the drivers as they passed. The cabin has a hob, fridge and microwave, the camp kitchen has other facilities such as an oven and BBQ. Three A/c units kept us cool even when 38 degrees outside and they were very quiet too. The temperature regularly rises to 45 in January, so I suppose the units have to be good.
You are about half a mile from the town centre - food, liquor and beachwear stores and all, but you need to think corner shops (the permanent population here is around 2k) not Trafford Centre. There is a Surprise however. With only a handful of stores there are two identical IGA supermarkets,the Ningaloo IGA and the Exmouth IGA, selling exactly the same stuff at the same prices, open the same hours, with staff in the same uniforms and sited opposite each other. Weird.
Two hundred metres from the campsite is the Exmouth Visitor Centre with leaflets on trips, walks, drives and dives in the region. Unlike some reviewers we found the staff there helpful. The main attractions are quite some way away. Yardie Creek for example in the Cape Range National Park is 90km one way and Coral Bay 152km the other. Choosing a hire car with an allowance of 100km per day as I did, was perhaps not the wisest option.
If you are unused to seeing semi-desert, giant termite mounds and occasional Emus and Kangaroos walk/hop across the road just in front of you, the long distances are ok. If however such things don't interest you, I can imagine you would find hours on featureless desert and scrubland roads rather tedious, especially if you've already driven the 1250km up from Perth. The long journeys are made worthwhile for at the destinations you can see turtles, rare Wallabies and hoards of brightly coloured birds, and go snorkelling (or view coral and exotic fish by means of a glass-bottomed boat) in endless sunshine. That's why in the region we mostly met Dutch, German, Swiss and fellow English people escaping November in Northern Europe.
There are attractions more locally. The golf course next door is good for birding and we saw a number of kangaroos. The town beach, a couple of km from the campsite is large, sandy and strewn with hundreds of pieces of coral. We also saw dolphins by the marina wall.
So to sum up: positives - our cabin Accommodation was good; the campsite lacked nothing we would want; the swimming pool and other facilities are fine and not over-crowded; staff friendly and helpful; region's available activities and wildlife very interesting, certainly for foreigners; and, weather in November stunning, with blue sky every day from horizon to horizon.
Negatives :the unremitting attention of swarms of flies at every turn which necessitates (amongst other things) eating lunch inside the car, takes some getting used to. Thankfully they don't bite and there were very few by comparison at the campsite itself.

Room Tip: If you are after a cabin - go for the top one - numbers 7 and 8 are by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller-in-hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    136
    52
    12
    11
See reviews for
78
131
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very good facilities and yes a little pricey but overall good value.
I too thought reception was not that great. The lady that dealt with me was fine but when someone came in wanting details about seeing a doctor I was left waiting while it took two ladies and one bloke to deal with the doctor request! Although, with a tent, you can camp anywhere with the caravans the tent only area, that I was aware of, can only take five tents.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wad6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, we appreciate the feedback we receive from all our guests.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the customer service and we do apologies. We do strive to ensure all our guests are well taken care of and have an enjoyable stay. We have passed on your comments to management who will use them for the ongoing training of all the Park staff to ensure we deliver the best customer service possible.

We are glad to hear overall you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you back again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

... a put off was the rude older lady at the receiption...her 1st day back from holidays she said... maybe that was why, but they must own the place or something - being in business I would not allow people to continue to ruin my reputation to such an extent... small pool albeit 'nice'..... does have a great camp kitchen (one of the best in my travels round australia) however wished we had stayed across the road now. Cannot recommend to families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have mixed reviews about this park. The rude old lady out the back of reception dampened things. On arrival I was greeted by 2 lovely reception staff. We had a powered caravan site. Great site and very roomy. I went back up to reception to enquire whether you can use a adapter on power box. Was our first caravan trip mind you. The nice lady went and got the rude old lady from out the back to answer my question. No I wasn't allowed to use a adaptor. No worries I was fine with that. The rude old lady carried on and on about it!! She went out the back again and I was still talking to the nice lady, not about the power issue and the rude old lady came back out and ranted again!! Obviously having a bad day.
Pool was great. Camp kitchen awesome! Free outdoor kids movies absolutely fantastic!!
It was a long weekend whilst there. The ablution blocks were clean at the start but end up smelling like urine and faeces because they were not cleaned for nearly 3 days. There was a cleaning chart hanging up in the ablution block which had the days cleaned. The ablution block was not cleaned Sunday, Monday and later Tuesday. The sneaky cleaner wrote down that the ablution block was cleaned on the Monday. I guess she\he got paid a bonus for cleaning they never did!! Clever really!!
Would be a 5 star park if the cleaning of ablution block was of high standard and the rude old lady stays out the back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemtree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, we appreciate all comments we receive from our guests.
We take our customer service very seriously and train our staff to deliver excellent service to ensure our guest have the best possible experience. We apologies you did not receive this experience, it is out of character for the staff member in question. We have passed on your comments and the staff member involved has taken this on board as part of their ongoing training.
We believe that the house keepers take a lot of pride in the work that they do, however we have looked into the matter of the cleanliness of the ablution block and the Managers have provided re-training for the staff to ensure this does not happen again. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the other facilities at the park especially those for the children.
We are pleased that your overall experience at Exmouth was an enjoyable one and we hope to see you at our other Aspen Parks as we believe that all of our staff work to help make your experience a great one.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great location, very clean kitchen and bathroom facilities, helpful and friendly staff, movies for the kids, great family atmosphere. Graces pub across the road and town beach in walking distance. Nice pool area to relax in and everyone was very quiet and considerate. Probably the best caravan park I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie2013gero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

At $59 a night for two adults and a child on a small powered site, this has come in at our most expensive nights stay in 3 months of travels. The park is however fantastic for families and kids. Best camp kitchen we have seen so far. Park and kids activities. Reasonable bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank monandben08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Augusta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We found park clean , staff very helpful and friendly but the power was slightly inadequate . Firstly I noticed the T.V. Reception cutting in and out when I used the kettle . It wasn't till next day when I used microwave to heat porridge and the T.V.cut out. I told my husband and he informed me that it was because there was 4 sites utilising the same power box . We didn't worry cause we were leaving but we would be worried if we were there in extreme heat trying to use air conditioner in van

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review of Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear you had issue with your power, sometimes it can be a case that the wrong power point can be used and overload the particular post. Thank you for bringing this to our attention we will investigate the issue with the post further.

We hope to see you again at Exmouth Cape Holiday Park.
Regional Managers – North West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.7 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park

Property: RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Address: 3 Truscott Cres, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing