We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yeah, pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Potshot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Potshot Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yeah, pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed as a family in 2 bedroom accommodation over Easter and found the Pot Shot a nice place to stay. Nothing outstanding .... just nice.
The bar area around the pool was great and it was easy to walk to the shopping precinct.

Room Tip: Try tea on the deck .... oh yeah ... & whaleshark diving !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    63
    71
    40
    17
See reviews for
30
79
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the osprey units which are part of the potshot resort. My previous visits have been good, however I was extremely disappointed by my latest visit. Unit 116 is a disgrace. The BBQ hasn't been cleaned in months by the looks of things and there is a serious leak in the gas bottle. We could not park our car under our car park area because there is a storeroom which cannot be obstructed and we had cleaners and their trolleys in and out of this storeroom all morning. In the bathroom the door of the shower is broken and cannot close. The air con in one of the bedrooms needs to be turned on and off outside by the main switch and the temperature cannot be adjusted. I mean....Seriously! We had the smoke alarm go off suddenly for no reason. The light and extractor fan for the stove also didn't work. The furniture was uncomfortable and there weren't enough seats for the amount of people the unit caters for. The beds were creaky and uncomfortable too. All our complaints were brushed off.

But the cherry on top is the greeting one receives when arriving. If you are expecting a smile and a cheery " welcome to the potshot resort, we hope you enjoy your stay." You are in for a rude surprise. Rather you are told to pay upfront and if you choose to leave before you're set checkout date you will not receive a refund. Now who would want to leave this paradise....not!

Room Tip: Avoid unit 116 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalevdlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having booked accomadation nearby online to discover it was not what we expected we went late evening to try for something better. Kate at reception could not have been more helpfull. All units were taken but within half hour she contacted me to tell me she had a vacancy for the next night. Nice unit at the right price. Stone grilled steak in the restuarant is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Potshot Resort in Exmouth. The first time in a two bedroom self contained unit. The location is great, close to town so shops and restaurants are in walking distance. The unit had a patio with a barbecue and a pool, one of two at the resort, just opposite our room. The staff are very friendly and although the rooms are unserviced we were visited each day to see if we needed anything like clean towels etc. The kitchen could be better equipped. There was a good selection of quality pans but utensils and glassware was a bit lacking, especially with four people staying there. We had a meal at the bistro which was served on the deck above the main pool, lit by bamboo lights and candles, a real tropical feel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CilMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well, "Best" of the three backpackers there are in Exmouth. Very bare-bones, but the location in the center of the small town is really good. There is an adjacent bar AND bottleshop, and the only two supermarkets only 100 m away.Internet can be accessed at the post office, though you may get a visit from the local internet police - and I am not kidding, one evening a police came to complain that we were using "somebody's" internet. Anyway, the remote location considered I rate the place quite high.

Room Tip: The dorms were only half full when I was there, maximum, so everybody was able to get a bottom bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxfishlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for two nights, the large BBQ area was sweet, the kitchen was clean and the rooms had air con! Really nice pool. Plus there is a bottle shop attached, who could want more?? I can't actually think of anything bad..

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Asked and payed for coral trout? Was not coral trout. Was nice fish, but was nothing like coral trout in fact was more like over cooked Mackey. Complained to to different bar staff and nothing? Was told by one that I must know my fish!!! Yeah mate not hard! Surely others have noticed??? But hey welcome to tourist towns of rip-off's. Where else on a Sunday will you go?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie4danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potshot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potshot Resort

Property: Potshot Resort
Address: 1 Murat Rd, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Potshot Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Exmouth's premier holiday accommodation, come and relax at the Potshot Hotel Resort where we can cater for all your holiday needs. Choose from our 1, 2 or 3 bedroom deluxe Osprey Holiday Apartments, 2 bedroom standard self contained apartments, standard or budget hotel rooms or choose our Backpacker style accommodation featuring single, double, twin, family or dorm style. The Potshot Hotel Resort caters for all. Enjoy a relaxing Beer in our front bar named after Cyclone Vance which completely destroyed it in March 1999. Open from 11.00am to late 7 nights per week. Full TAB facilities, Pool Table and Jukebox available. For a more relaxing feel, our Pool bar is the place to be. Sit back in the glorious sunshine, or in the shade beside our pool or take a dip. Dine on the deck area and enjoy full table service from our friendly staff. Enjoy a Stone Grill which is an exciting new dining experience. Our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 365 days per year. Our on site bottle shop is open 7 days per week for all your take away needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Potshot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potshot Hotel Exmouth
Potshot Resort Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing