We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpackers or low budget”
Review of Potshot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Potshot Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Backpackers or low budget”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Ideal rooms for low budget or back packers. the facitlites also have up market large rooms with king size beds etc in line with a motel resort. We stayed in the back packers side of this resort and found the facilites excellent and staff very helpful. The resort has a bar and restuarnt which serves good meals that are well priced. A disc every Friday night if you are in for a bit of loaud music and dancing. This finishs at midnight. A swimming pool and well ladi out kitchen are also available. The shuttly bus for the airport calls in at the front of the resort twice a day if you need to get to learmonth. ($25 per adult as the airport is 40km outside Exmouth) Potshot is only a 5 min walk to exmouth town centre. Also a caravan is opposite (town side ) 6 days a week were you can by wonderful hamburgers and chips. !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    64
    72
    41
    19
See reviews for
30
83
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It's not the Hilton but what do you expect in the middle of nowhere? It's clean, comfortable, the staff were on the ball and the breakfast was better than I've had in hotels a lot better. I will happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a backpackers double en suite room for $80. En suite is old and a bit tired but the room is okay. Overall the room is good value. The addition of shutters on the window is a great idea, blocks out the noise from the backpackers communal area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france 92
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The resort is dirty. Bins and tools are amongst the different buildings. The grass is not maintained. The cleaning of the room is very bad and everyday we found sand in our bed. The wifi is broken. please stay away from this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Booked for meals. Wanted a steak, but for $38 it comes on a hot rock and you have to cook it yourself. No thanks. Same for the fish. Opted for the salt and pepper squid, but it was tough and just battered squid with no flavour. Four others at the table had the same. All rubbish. Staff were arrogant and run off their feet, but the cook needs to have a good look at the menu and his staffs' ability. Menu was poor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycampers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Potshot accommodation

The expensive room, (we only experienced 1 of this type so ill just comment on that.)

Good points.
• Large room, 1 single and 1 double bed
• Table and 2 chairs
• 2 extra towels for the pool
• Bar fridge
• AC
• Clock radio
• Some storage space
• Kettle, tea coffee, milk, sugar, spoon, cups and saucers.
Bad points.
• Shower head was terrible, tiny sharp jets pointing everywhere, (im all for water saving, but don’t try and wash your hair as it will take 5mins to rinse off)
• Some mornings there was no hot water, 2 times I tried to have a shower around 6 in the morning and there was no hot.
• Bar fridge was tiny
• AC was super noisy even on the lowest fan setting.
• They did not replace the soaps / toiletries
• No where to hang anything
• 2 loose powerpoints
• door had to be shouldered for the pin to catch in the strike and close.
• 1 rail for hanging towels, ( Im quite happy to use a towel for many days provided I can hang it somewhere to dry out.)

The cheaper / homestead room,
Good points
• plenty of space.
• Decent size bar fridge
• Cupboard with coat hangers and rail as well as a basket drawer.
• Kettle, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, teaspoon, cups and saucers
• Split system air con (not too noisy)
• Parking on your room doorstep.

Bad points
• Only space to hang 1 towel.

Things to know if you are going to stay here,
• The washing machines cost $3 per load that’s 3x $1 coins even though the sign on the wall says $1.
• The dryers (I was lucky to have rain the day I did the washing) cost $3 to start and you can add to the time $1 at a time. Just drop in a coin and push the button on your machine.
• The diner does good meals but they are maybe the most expensive in town, $40 for a steak.

Things I wish I had brought…
• Those little plastic hooks you can put over a door to hang stuff on
• Some cord to string up a line in your room for hanging damp stuff on to dry.
• Camping KFS, bowl, cup and spoon.

Room Tip: go the homestead rooms there is nothing to be gained by the serviced rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

They "upgraded" us without asking meaning, they gave the room away that we booked online and preferred two twins instead of a queen. Bed wasn't made when we entered..only the flat sheet was on it. Floor had not been swept with food and sand all over. Was nice to have A/c and small fridge in the room. Shower was nice and not with good pressure. Wifi was down...extremely annoying. Communal kitchen was okay, but not too clean bc other guests don't clean up after themselves. Nice to have grills to use. A decent place if you want to pay the money, but a caravan park would have been suitable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Worldttravel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potshot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potshot Resort

Property: Potshot Resort
Address: 1 Murat Rd, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Potshot Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Exmouth's premier holiday accommodation, come and relax at the Potshot Hotel Resort where we can cater for all your holiday needs. Choose from our 1, 2 or 3 bedroom deluxe Osprey Holiday Apartments, 2 bedroom standard self contained apartments, standard or budget hotel rooms or choose our Backpacker style accommodation featuring single, double, twin, family or dorm style. The Potshot Hotel Resort caters for all. Enjoy a relaxing Beer in our front bar named after Cyclone Vance which completely destroyed it in March 1999. Open from 11.00am to late 7 nights per week. Full TAB facilities, Pool Table and Jukebox available. For a more relaxing feel, our Pool bar is the place to be. Sit back in the glorious sunshine, or in the shade beside our pool or take a dip. Dine on the deck area and enjoy full table service from our friendly staff. Enjoy a Stone Grill which is an exciting new dining experience. Our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 365 days per year. Our on site bottle shop is open 7 days per week for all your take away needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Potshot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potshot Hotel Exmouth
Potshot Resort Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing