We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at the end of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Getting to Sal Salis isn't very easy, but it's definitely worth it. The place is so beautiful you wouldn't believe your eyes. The tents are comfortable (but not luxurious, if that's what your after). The food is great and diverse and the staff is comprised of very nice people from around the world. But the real attraction here is of course the stunning nature. It's probably the most beautiful part of Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ismizrachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildBush, Owner at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have just opened for our new season, having completed all the last minute preparations and renovations that go into getting the camp ready for the first guests of the season (of which you were one) and with a number of new team members learning the ropes it is great to hear that the experience was obviously a good one. It is all about the wilderness experience at Sal Salis but hopefully we provide a few natural luxury touches, with some great food and wine, to enjoy our spectacular and privileged location on the Ningaloo Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

Glamping on the beach

And not on just a beach. Actually, on one of the most pristine beaches of Australia.
In a country where more than 85% of the people live within 50K of the coast, beaches are well discovered. Luckily, there are still some places that are not populated by tourists and locals. Some of those can be found in the Cape Range National Park, on the west coast of Australia. And when you travel to Sal Salis, an exclusive camp within the Cape Range National Park, you will have a little bit of heaven just for yourself.

Now firstly why would one go to the Cape Range National Park? Besides the overwhelming gorges, flora and fauna you will also find the Ningaloo Reef here. The Ningaloo Reef is the largest fringing reef in the world and covers an area of 260 km in length. A fringing reef is a reef that is directly accessible from the beach. Not like a barrier reef, that can mostly only be reached by boat or helicopter.
The Ningaloo Reef is maybe even more beautiful than the Great Barrier Reef on the West Coast, however it’s less crowded. And that’s an understatement!
Snorkel with whale sharks, manta rays, reef sharks, turtles…..and the most colourful coral you have ever seen. No pollution here yet, and no flippers in your face of other snorkelers around you. Just you and your travel company enjoying a little area of that 260KM long reef.

If the above has convinced you, or if you have already decided to travel to the Cape Range National Park but don’t know where to stay yet….take my advice.
If you are traveling on a tiny budget, skip the below and just go camping. However, if you are willing to spend a little bit, stay at Sal Salis. This exclusive tented camp – with just nine tents – is sheltered by the dunes and situated directly on the beach.

How to get there?
From Perth, it’s just a 1:40 minute flight to Exmouth and from here about 90 minutes by car to Sal Salis. The luggage belt on the airport is the tiniest one you have ever seen, and the fact that the airport is an old navy basis makes arriving here even more intriguing.

Sal Salis is a Wild Bush Luxury property. This means it is the creation of the impassioned adventurer Charles Carlow. Charlie is extremely committed in preserving Australia’s flora and fauna and sharing his love and passion with others. All his camps are low impact on nature, Sal Salis being one of the most distinguished camps. By staying here, you leave little footprint. Water in your tent is limited, there is 20 litre per guest available daily. Your loo is a so called “long drop” and there is no electricity in your tent (there is electricity in the main tent) nor reception within the camp at all.
This might make you feel a bit disconnected, but only for the first five minutes. Because there is no time to worry about thing here. Only time to marvel the stunning surroundings. That won’t stop. Whether you are sitting on the deck of the main tent overlooking the sea where the whales are jumping cheerfully out of the water, hiking to the Mandu Gorge greeting wallabies on your way or snorkelling in the middle of nowhere being watched by curious rays and turtles…..

The camp is the busiest in the Whale Shark season, which is running from April to July. If you want to snorkel with these amazing creatures you will have to stay in these months and book yourself a trip on one of the boats. However, there is so much to do at Sal Salis that a stay between July and March is definitely worth it too! Flyfishing, spotting the humpback whales, snorkelling, scenic flights, energetic hikes with a private guide/ naturalist…there is something for everybody here.

However, if you travel in winter please bear in mind that temperatures can drop quite a bit! The sun will be shining but the heavy winds is causing a chilliness that asks for warm jackets and long trousers for the evenings.

A day at Sal Salis..
When we arrived at 09:00 in the morning we were welcomed with a good hearty breakfast. After that, our snorkel instructor was waiting for us to take us into the water and onto the reef. Literally two strokes away. You don’t always have to snorkel with an instructor, but they just want to make sure that you are a comfortable swimmer. Which makes sense…. After an hour in the water, where we saw reef sharks, turtles, clownfish and manta rays we decided to dry up. Every tent has a hammock, the perfect place to linger in the sun and relax a bit in between activities and meals. After lunch (delicious beef salad) our guide took us to the Mandu Gorge, a quite steady hike with beautiful views along the way. After three hours of hiking we were back at our starting point at the foot of the gorge. Surprise! A table was set up where gin and tonic was waiting for us, accompanied by delicious bites….Watching the sun set in the ocean, while the wallabies created magic silhouettes on the horizon was a moment I will never forget.

Dinner was served at 18:30, and consists of a starter, main and desert accompanied by wines mainly from Western Australia. Of course the sky is completely star struck, so after dinner you have the chance to retreat to the whale watching platform with one of the guides and watch the stars. An amazing way to finish the day.

Back in our tent, I felt completely tired. The lanterns where lighted up and in our heavenly bed we had a warm water bottle. It’s all in the details, right? I have never in my life slept so well. The beds are amazing, with mattresses so thick you cannot imagine. It feels like it’s hugging you as soon as you jump in.

What else..
- Stay here for three nights at least so you can enjoy all activities and also enjoy the comfort of your hammock, explore the various beaches and munch on a picnic…
- Whale Shark excursions only take place on Tuesdays and Fridays so if this is the reason for your stay make sure you arrive on a Monday or Thursday.
- Bring warm clothes, even in summer season. Nights can be quite cold and it’s not fun being chilly during dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evie-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We had a kangaroo laying on our tent porch several times!!! The tent was great. Clean, comfortable and close to the beach. Excellent snorkeling right off the beach. The staff and guides were terrific. Anyone going to Australia should not miss this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Ok, so I have to declare an interest here. I do some third party promotional work for Sal Salis. However, when finally visiting for a much needed personal getaway with family in September, I discovered it really was everything, and more, than I had expected.

The camp was near full the whole time we were there. We had a very eclectic mix of guests – but the team managed/juggled making it work (and making it special) for everyone. The friendly, understated, professional service and tone was just right.

The walk in from the carpark gives a wonderful sense of discovery as you arrive in camp. The welcome is warm, and you are immediately immersed in the view and the sense that you are right where the outback meets the reef... and on the very edge of the huge Australian continent.

The tents are also just right for the location. I think it is the most comfortable bed I've slept in!
Housekeeping throughout the lodge really good - in and out before we knew it in the mornings. The ensuite bathrooms work really well. Our water was super hot – so had it turned down a fraction. Others mentioned cold water – and had theirs adjusted to suit. The eco-loos may be off-putting to some, but there seriously isn't any need for that. One couple mentioned smelly loo to us – but hadn't said anything to staff (and seem not to have heard their welcome induction the bit about telling staff if there was any odour so they could add mulch/straw etc) - ours was completely odourless. Daily water limit was not an issue for us but a couple of the guests seemed very aware of it. (I don't think they actually ran out....). To be fair, this isn't the place for anyone who needs to travel with a hairdryer. This is barefoot luxury. It is all about the privilege of being in this place and the natural experiences to be had.

Food was great – just right for location – especially the canapes and fish dishes. The team do an amazing job in a remote 'camp' environment.

The highlight was the experiences and the guiding! A great walk through Mandu Mandu Gorge, rock wallabies and other wildlife and birdlife, drift snorkelling amazing, Turquoise Bay beautiful. Snorkelling gear and fit-up etc all handled really well and in good state. Excursions were seamlessly organised and relaxed. Matt's roasted trail-snack nuts addictive. The rest of the time, beach walks, and hanging out in the hammocks watching humpback whales breaching was just what we needed.

All the staff were really adept at handling the various needs of a very diverse range of guests, and were especially amazing with showing our daughter the magic of the place and inspiring her (and us) to learn and experience as much as she could while she was there.

To be honest, the trip was summed up by our 7 year old daughter's comment as we were packing to go - "Emma (our guide) and Sal Salis has changed my life". Life-enriching experiences and learning! Out of the mouths of babes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarossaPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just travelled up the whole of the West Coast of Australia. We've seen some great things, stayed in some good places but Sal Salis was the cherry on top. Anyone considering a trip to this part of the world has to stay here. It's low impact, high luxury, utter relaxation and more importantly good for the soul.

Staff are inspirational, laid back and yet utterly focussed on giving exemplary service. Food is 5* restaurant quality. 'Rooms' are tastefully and luxuriously appointed and serviced twice daily. The environment is pristine - you can go for guided walks or, my highlight, guided snorkelling just 3 metres off the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 245lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

What an experience! Sal Salis is sooo beautiful and relaxing. Justin and his staff are absolutely wonderful, nothing was ever a bother, they made us feel so very welcome. Emma our guide was AMAZING, I had the most incredible snorkeling and sea kayaking experience with her guidance, her passion for the reef was so inspiring! Tents are incredibly comfortable, meals were deliciously 5 star and the whole ambience of the place was just magical. Sit back with a glass of wine, or help yourself to a fully stocked bar and watch the whales go by, SO MANY whales! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Should have reviewed this last year at this time - amazing place to stay with great food, great staff and an amazing position. Best snorkelling ever and so peaceful especially if you just like to walk along the beach (being watched by the the local wildlife!!). Worth every penny and I hope that we can return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieannerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
16.5 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
18.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
799 reviews
16.4 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
154 reviews
16.7 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
242 reviews
16.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef

Address: Yardie Creek Rd | Cape Range National Park, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £825 - £1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef is an eco resort consisting of 16 en-suite Wilderness Tents. The Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef is a few short steps away where a totally different and amazing world waits to be explored and enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef Hotel Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing