We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gerringong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is pretty new and represents a standard above other hotels in the area. We travel quite a bit and chose to stay in the 2 bedroom bungalow. The bungalow had plenty of room, was very clean and comfortable although we noticed baby cockroaches coming out in the evening (we think from the airconditioning duct) - reported to the front desk staff on departure and they undertook to have it rectified. Partner nearly stepped on what looked like a tiger snake just outside the bungalow but this is remote Australia and snakes are part of the scene (although partner may not agree!).

Food in the restaurant was a good standard and the staff was attentive.

Overall, a good experience with no gripes.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the two-room bungalow. Lots of room and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogslpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    333
    71
    29
    11
See reviews for
205
459
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were very surprised on our arrival to find this modern and upmarket hotel in Exmouth. We were there to swim with the whale sharks which was a wonderful experience. The surprise package was the hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom beach bungalow which was beautifully fitted out with good quality furniture and bedding. The polished concrete floors were lovely to walk on and very stylish. The bathroom was luxurious with a modern spa bath. We couldn't complain about the accommodation except for the location of our room which was at the very end of the complex (1301) and therefore next to the road leading to the main marina. It was a little noisy and the view from our room was limited. I recommend you ask for a room with a better beach view and avoid the end rooms if possible. The prices are high. For example our two take way flat whites were $5.25 each. The service in the hotel was a little patchy and could be improved but overall we very much enjoyed our three night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kivmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Novotel Ningaloo Resort is a very clean, beautiful place to stay in Exmouth. It is easy to find right next to the new development of the canals as you come into the town of Exmouth.

We stayed in a Standard King room which was on an upper floor and had views over the boat harbour from our first floor room which had a small kitchen which had some basic items such as chopping board, cutlery, kettle and toaster, bowels etc. that enabled us to eat out of our hotel room as much as possible.

Our last night we upgraded to a Superior King which was facing the pool on a ground floor, this was equipped with a beautiful spa bath, but other than that as an extra it had less than substantial kitchen supply, literally what you see in their photo's of the room is accurate, just a kettle on top of a fridge next to the tv.

There is free WIFI in the lobby which was not advertised anywhere but we were grateful for this as there is no cell phone reception for the likes of Vodafone.

We did not eat at the restaurant due to me being a vegetarian and seeing the only option I could eat was a fettuccini that cost $39, the same price as a meat dish and more than I would ever consider paying for Pasta and I live in Perth, not the cheapest city to live in. My patner didn't fancy paying $10 for a carona either.

The pool was kept nice and clean, there is even a bar tender who comes around occasionally to take your drink order.

There is plenty of free car parking outside most of the rooms.

We were happy with our stay in the Hotel but if we were to return to Exmouth (which we do intend to in the future as what was on offer in this town is amazing) we will probably be staying at one of the other accommodations. There are smaller resorts not quite 5 star but probably a bit more equipped for what you pay. You have to drive to the reef from any of the hotels anyway so location of either wouldn't really matter, unless you want the ocean view every day from your room as this is the only accommodation that we saw was right on the ocean front.

Room Tip: The Standard King room was better than the superior room. There is also a free laundry in block 7 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingKiwi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hotel. Overall, it was ok but not much to rave about, though options in Exmouth are somewhat limited. The rooms are spacious, but noise and views can differ significantly depending on if you're facing the parking lot, the pool or the beach. Our biggest issues are that the rooms are not kept very clean...

We changed rooms 3 times over the 4 nights because we kept finding different bugs on our beds. To be fair, the hotel manager & staff took the matter very seriously, and immediately attended to us when the issue is raised and switched our rooms. We even met with the external exterminator to show him photos of the bugs and to describe them. I understand that we're at sea side and it's a rural area, but seriously, these bugs were usually in plain sight and on top of our pillows. I'm not sure why housekeeping didn't bother or why the hotel doesn't have a better way of addressing them. We've stayed at many other places with sea side or "wilderness" settings, and this is by far the worst we've seen (and in so many rooms).

In particular, for the one bedroom apartment, there is a set of curtains above the head of the bed. We highly suspect that the bugs hang out in the curtain and drop down from it. But if we remove the curtain, then there is nothing to block the early morning sun from coming in.

Counter and table tops were not always wiped. We found a few sticky tops, probably from last guests' use and just not attended by housekeeping.

Quite a few bath towels had questionable yellow stains. I presume the guests take them to the beach and etc - it'd be great if the pool towels can be more accessible and guests can use those instead. I discovered that I had to exchange pool towels at the front desk and can't just swap them at the pool via self-service.

An additional suggestion to move the safety boxes from the top shelf to a lower one. I'm not tall (5' 2"), and couldn't really reach the safe, much less to check if I've cleared the contents inside. I'm not sure why they're placed so high and in perfect view of the window for someone walking by to see the codes that you're pushing in.

On the plus side, the hotel views are quite spectacular. Nice surrounding. Attentive staff once issues are raised.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed over the June long weekend and paid dearly for the privilege. The room was everything you could ask for, spotlessly clean, visually appealing and with a deck area looking out to sea. Unfortunately when you walked out onto the deck you saw not only the sea but the main road, it's comings and goings and all other activities on the wharf and cafe. The tranquil setting was harshly shattered by the late night and early morning arrival of the fisherfolk heading out and back on boats and others driving around.
Check your room location carefully before booking. We were in the end room, never again. Despite it being a short walk to the pool, restaurant etc we felt so removed from the heart of the motel we chose to drive into town for all meals except one. We thought it reasonable to try Mantarays whilst there, restaurant prices but quality and service did not match.
Staff were exceptionally friendly and easy to talk to but only one female duty manager gave us any tips relating to beaches, what to see etc. what a waste of staffs knowledge. Interestingly there is a shuttle bus into town, we discovered this information from the hairdresser in town after we had left the Novotel. One would expect this kind of information disseminated via a number of sources, but no. I wonder what else was on offer but we were not informed of ?
The wifi was non existent in our room so we went to the restaurant area to send emails home it was so problematic only 1 email was successful. The rest bounced back as "undeliverable due to server". Incredibly frustrating and staff state nothing unusual.
To conclude this motel is visually pleasing and could be the star of Exmouth but it lacks attention to detail and the finesse you expect from a motel of this calibre and price.

Room Tip: Check on the motel map to see where the room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for four days last week and I agree with most reviewers that the location and the hotel are the best in Exmouth however for the price, the amenities and service were lacking. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable and we found the in-room amenities to be of good overall quality. The lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms was difficult and disappointing. The service however compared to other comparably priced hotels around the world in our experience was lacking and in a few isolated cases, deplorable. The front staff was helpful though mostly uninformed about local options for adventure and tours. There was a wide variety of pamphlets available but no concierge so we had to rely on the young girls at the front desk who seemed fairly unknowledgeable about the various options however they were willing to contact the various services to help answer our questions. The major complaint and disappointment for us was the restaurant. I would avoid this at all costs. The breakfast was average, though overpriced. The dinner menus were average but the main complaint was the service. We had dinner there twice. Both times the kitchen seemed to be in disarray. The wait staff was inattentive (with one notable exception named Anne) and lacked the knowledge of the dishes that we had questions about. We, along with most of the other patrons waited at least 45 minutes for meals to be served and both times there were errors of various types in both of our meals. Since we were seated close to the kitchen, we got to hear the ongoing discussions where the wait staff was having to give free desserts to multiple unsatisfied customers to help assuage their dissatisfaction. We watched while one or two of the wait staff worked diligently while others just watched from the front desk and smiled while folding cloth napkins which appeared to be markedly more important than attending to the guests. There appeared to be no "senior" management directing the staff other than "Anne" who was directly the rest of the wait staff in attempting to do their job. She actually came over to us although she was not our server to try and let us know that we would receive our food as quickly as possible and apologized. Our waiter was really nowhere to be found. Lastly, the bartender, that waited on us was inattentive, rude and actually made the worst MaiTai I have ever attempted to drink. (And I've had lots of MaiTais! :)) After the first two nights, we ate in town and had a very nice meal. I would stay at the Novotel again, I would definitely not eat at the restaurant again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been here twice now in 9 months travelling as a family of 2 + 2. Nice hotel with good facilities but:
1) The two bedroom accommodation lacks privacy from view and sound. We started out in the bungalows but they have no doors at all to the second bedroom. Yes t is on its own level but sound carries up and if you want to stay up after the kids are in bed you have to tip toe around. The second visit we tried the two bedroom apartments. These offer the improvement of a door to the second bedroom but you still have the stupid shutter walls to the main bedroom. As with the bungalow once someone is up in the morning no one in the main bedroom is getting any peace as these shutters offer no cushioning even from a kettle boiling. These shutter walls really should be replaced with something solid in all the two bedroom accommodation.
2) Dining at the hotel is lacking. The raw food quality is excellent but most of our meals were either swimming in something or over cooked. The buffet breakfast is also very expensive for a somewhat cool breakfast that has dried up. How hard can it be to offer soft boiled eggs or omelettes freshly done. They could do with addition something like omelettes to all the menus as a healthy, tasty snack at any time.

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments are slightly better for families as the second bedroom has a door. If you get an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auzzieVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
353 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort

Property: Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
Address: Madaffari Drive, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort is located on Sunrise Beach, part of Exmouth's new marina development. The resort features a choice of one, two and three bedroom apartments and bungalows, a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, gymnasium and conference facilities. Ningaloo Reef is Australia's largest fringing coral reef and is a protected marine park. It is also one of the few reefs that can be accessed straight from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ningaloo Hotel Exmouth
Novotel Exmouth
Exmouth Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing