We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
15
18
3
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
18
3
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush camping morning tea self guided tour working station camp fire fish jumping self sufficiency camp area interesting things to see goat off road the river in town lounge area caravan park the kitchen great spot
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We chose this location as our base to explore and enjoy the surroundings of Kalbarri. Our group had two pop up caravans, one of which is off road. We did not want to be in a crowded park but enjoy the open style camping. The MHS suited us fine with a choice of camping near the homestead with showers and toilets. If you wish you can choose a location away from the homestead and find a truly remote site.

We picked a beautiful spot along the River , only 10 Mtrs away. The facilities are very basic but kept clean and are functional. There us plenty of fire wood to be found about the station.

The location is perfect for visiting the town and gorges.

The only negative thing that I would say about this place is that if you want to drive out on the station campers need to pay an additional $50 for the privilege, on top of your camping fees. I can understand this for day visitors, as there is always maintenance on the tracks and general repairs.

In all a great spot and would come again, avoiding the cramped parks in town.

Date of stay: April 2014
2  Thank Simba9313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Such a great camping spot right on the Murchison River. Peaceful, remote and such an amazing part of the world. We enjoyed the Murchison all to ourselves by kayaking down river and enjoying the most beautiful sunset.

There is no power and there is a reasonable walk to the ablution block. Expect to pay more than the average powered site rates.

Would drop by again.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmaayy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of days in Kalbarri ... Initially wanting to do some walks in the National Parks but due to the closure of a lot of the Areas due to road repairs/ closures we decided to visit Murchison House Station.
4WD self driving tours are available as well as self guided walking tours. $10 pp. ( for the walking tours) We thoroughly enjoyed it Set off with a well written pamphlet on what to look at and some little clues along the way. Loved the old shearing shed( brought back memories of when I worked in shearing sheds 20 years ago), lots of old cars and heavy machinery .
History of the area and the old cemetery was fascinating
Walk was approx 30 minutes( easy) but you could make it as long or short as you like
On return you are seated in the garden area and were served amazing apple muffins straight out of the oven along with fresh date slice. Tea and coffee. .. Endless cups
We didn't look through the accommodation but we did check the camping spots and thought that they were very much up our alley. Should we venture back that way we will definitely camp there and explore the place a bit more

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A great location for kids who could explore the farm but not if you are wanting a bit of peace and quiet.
When you book to stay on a working sheep shearing station, you expect basic accommodation, which it was (bed and a lamp bulb, communual shower/toilet block) but what you do expect is that the common facilities and rooms are clean. We found little evidence of this and cut short our stay and moved into some better value for money accommodation 8km the other side of Kabarri. I see this is the second review that highlights a cleanliness issue, suggest the owners act on this soon and use the 'WOOFERS' to their best advantage.
Other suggestions which might help improve the overall stay: a towel, an ablution block that is more protected from the outside(a closing door to the block, sealed roof, like those provided by basic government campsites) and a generator that is turned off at a certain time in the evening.

Room tip: Furthest away from the generator
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank planetvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Fantastic place to relax amongst nature at its best. The camping facilities were basic but clean with ample drinking water, flushing toilets and shower. The collection of army equipment and the large bulldozer was a hit with the kids. The camping and 4wding was excellent. We will be back

Room tip: Camping facilities are basic. Best for self sufficient campers.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews