We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large park,squashed in, lovely amenities and camp kitchen” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalbarri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large park,squashed in, lovely amenities and camp kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

On arrival which we had pre booked I was shown on a whiteboard in the office where our site was, told to turn left at the camp kitchen and our site was on the right. Every other park we have stayed at least gives you a map of the park ( we would of then known where the camp lichen was) with a highlighted direction of where to drive to our site and usually the rules of the park on the back. instead I was given a small receipt the size of a credit card and told the code for the amenities where on the bottom of the receipt After setting up we did find the camp kitchen and the amenities they where very nice but the lady in the office was not helpful at all, I felt it was just grab your money and get going. ForThursday night they advertised on an a board out the front of the camp kitchen there was homemade soup for $3.00 and a sausage/ hamburger with onion and egg for $3.00. So we fronted up to support the night and when I ask the guy taking the money was the night for a local charity or was it a local charity the run the night I was hounded down saying that there was not any profit made. So I still do not know who runs the night as there where about 5 men and 2 women doing the cooking, serving etc. So if someone could inform me who runs the night I would appreciate letting me know.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GreyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    48
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
31
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pinthepond
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This trip is an absolute horror.
Pre booked by phone a few days ago for a caravan site at the Anchorage Caravan Park. Kalbarri.
Arrived to find major earth works being carried out in front of the park, A rock breaker which banged continuiously, trucks and a roller, really noisy. When we asked how long this would last we were told, Oh! They just turned up today, they haven't been here for ages!!! They will probably finish tonight.... Yes they did finish at 5 o'clock....but were back smashing rocks a little after 7.15 the next morning.
When we spoke to other locals they said everyone was aware of the ongoing work and it was not about to finish soon.
The park managers were totally negligent and clearly untruthful when we asked them about the work, their response was, It was nothing to with them, they were totally in the dark about it all and WE! Should Ask the shire...............Of course we had paid for a weeks accomodation and they did not care they had ther money.

One of the main reasons for visiting Kalbarri is to see the Gorges. These have been told now been told have been closed to the public for three months..........due to road works.
We know these things must be done but operators of tourist accomodation have an obligation to inform people of current conditions and circumstances

We also spoke to the Caravan managers about the road closures. They responded by saying "you cannot expect us to tell everyone" well I must say that yes, I do expect them to tell everyone. We travelled 600 klms to find unbearably noisy accomodation and the thing we went to see (the main draw card of Kalbarri) closed.
Western Australia Must Lift Their Game If They Want To Compete With The Rest Of Australia.

We have always loved Kalbarri but Operators like this ruin it for everyone..............I

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
7 Thank pinthepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a couple of times now and will definitely be back. The location is excellent - right across the road from the riverfront, next to a cafe, bottle shop, post office and service station plus only a short walk to the IGA. Fishing supplies are also sold in the post office! The facilities at the caravan park are great - very modern toilet/shower block, swimming pool, fish cleaning area and BBQ area. Great sites - river views for the front ones and good size all round.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GemWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hi guys. What can I say? The staff here are very friendly and professional. We have a motor home and car trailer, and they obliged by giving us a double site at no extra cost. They have a new ablutions (toilet and shower) block. Thursday night they have a BBQ @ $3.00 per cup of soup,(which is yummy) and hamburgers and sausage dangers for the same. Met a great bunch of people.
What a gorgeous part of australia to visit. Absolutely gorgeous. Stunning coast line and national park.
We will be back. Thanks for a great place to visit guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozza1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were allocated a site for our camper trailer when we arrived, but asked if we could change to a different site which wasnt a problem for the staff.

We had great views from the top of the terraced rows of sites, which is a good idea, it means everyone can get a great view of the river.

Murchison River less than 100 metres away, town centre few minutes drive or not too far to walk.

There is a new large ablution block, as well as 2 smaller older ablutioon blocks in different locations.
Plenty of washing machines in the laundry.
Large camp kitchen with 2 fridge/freezers which was handy.

Swimming pool was nice and clean, shade umbrellas and chairs around the pool.

We got a good weekly price compared to the other parks in Kalbarri and compared to some other parks in different areas of WA, especially considering the views.

This is a large park, and had a lot of customers but still didnt seem overly busy or crowded. Would stay here again next time we go to Kalbarri.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairenandy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We arrived at Kalbarri on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Having never been to Kalbarri before we drove around the town first and checked out all of the different types of accimdation and we decided to try to get a pitch at the Anchorage.Check in took a few minutes and within half and hour we were say on our chairs in ore of the amazing view we had of the Merchison river, which was a stones throw away from where we were, we sat and watched the sunset over the hills and instantly fell in love with Kalbarri!
This caravan park is great, good facilities, including a spotless toilet and shower block, camp barbies and camp kitchen, laundry and swimming pool.
One if the best thing about the anchorage is the wonderfuly friendly ladies that work at reception. So nice and helpful, and made us feel really welcome. We loved it so much we stayed another night, then another night, and another and another!!
Will definitely be coming back to the anchorage and certain can whole heartedly recommend - thanks for a great stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Charliec78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Good amenities but bathrooms could do with being cleaned more frequently. Camp kitchen was a bit grubby and basic- no oven either. Office staff could be a bit better informed about local attractions and a friendlier welcome when we arrived would have been nice! Camp sites are a very good size- not all a grassed but matting mitigated this to some extent. Sites also have pretty good shade for most of the day. Good BBQ area, close to jetty and shops within walking distance. A bit further out of town centre than other parks but only a matter of about 500 metres so not really a big deal. Pool very good. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront row as these are mostly grassed and have better shade coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalbarri hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kalbarri Edge Resort
0.5 mi away
Kalbarri Reef Villas
Kalbarri Reef Villas
#5 of 5 in Kalbarri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalbarri Palm Resort
Kalbarri Palm Resort
#4 of 5 in Kalbarri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kalbarri Seafront Villas
0.1 mi away
Kalbarri Beach Resort
Kalbarri Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Kalbarri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican's Nest
Pelican's Nest
#7 of 13 in Kalbarri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park

Property: Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park
Address: Anchorage Lane, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalbarri National Park > Kalbarri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kalbarri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing