We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place , relaxed atmosphere, down to earth excellent relief managers.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalbarri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place , relaxed atmosphere, down to earth excellent relief managers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just left Kallbarri anchorage caravan park after 4 nights there , everything was spot on to make it a memerable experience. Warm, helpful and informative relief managers Colleen and Don made the stay great ! Thanks guys! Very clean amenities and staff busy working the park to keep it looking good! Definitely will stay there again! Thanks again for your hospitality !! John and Vim :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VimandJb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    48
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
31
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Very happy with this caravan park. Amenities are fantastic. Across the road from the river and a short walk to shops, park and beach. I do recommend a bit if shade cloth over the pool for the young ones and a map upon arrival if where the sites are. Otherwise a very enjoyable stay for 1st time campers

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juanita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our kids had a choice, river access at Anchorage or the jumping pillow at Tudor. Being keen fishers they opted for the Anchorage and we're glad they did.

Location: Anchorage is located at the end of town, so you are a little bit out of the way (for us that's a good thing) but it is still adjacent to a café, liquor store and fish & chip shop (what more do you need while on holiday?) It is a reasonable walk if you want to swim at Chinaman's.
Amenities: Were clean and modern. This was during school holidays so there was considerable pressure. There are some older amenities blocks at the back, but because of the tiered landscape, you still have river views if you would prefer to located away from the general population.
BBQs: Clean
Camp kitchen: Pretty old and tired, and needs a spruce up.

We had friends at Tudor, where they really cram them in for the school holidays, so we felt like we had comparatively a lot of room.

Tip: Why bother making salad when the fish & chip 50m away does a great coleslaw for $5.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ_from_WA_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HALLS CREEK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is great, opposite the Murchison River where there is a good boat launching facility. The amenities blook appears to be quite new,large and is spotless. As we discovered there are two entrances to the park, one which brings you to reception first and the other where ou have to wind your way through the entire park before coming across reception. This is a bit annoying because getting to your site after using what appears to be the front entrance requires the van to beturned around and the path retraced. The site we had was a little squeezy, especially in relation to our overall length, but we could see part of the river. Bins were a little scarce.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPHallsCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a camper and a tent and set up on the edge close to the shops with a beautiful view! At night the sunset was spectacular. There is a swimming pool outside for when the weather is nice. Also there is a BBQ a short walk away which does lovely food! Something for everyone and perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucec92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We are not caravan park people .. We usually camp and the remoter the better. Decided to do something different.. Hired a camper for a few days and met up with family at their chosen caravan park. The park was quite full , really can't say the reception was over friendly or informative and that continued with our 2 further trips to reception
Found our allocated position near the toilets/ amenities/ kitchen and thought ... Noise and pedestrian traffic noise.
We settled into at the park aided by other campers who were very friendly, and helped us with the etiquette of camping grounds. By then our family had turned up.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days.. amenities .. A new section which is accessible wirth a code only. Clean toilets/ showers. Ample hot water. We found the camp kitchen plenty of room, fridge for storing food in if needed. BBQ area great.
Pool looked lovely but too cold for swimming this time of the year.
After 9 pm complete quietness in the grounds..
Mornings again really not much noise until about 8am.
Lovely location looking out at the river. Council works going on but we were out during the day and really didn't hear anything from them.
Grounds seemed well maintained.
Amazing little cafe next door....The Gorges along with a few little shops. IGA shop within walking distance.
We really enjoyed our stay here .. could not complain about the ammenities or location or noise but thanks due to our fellow travellers who provided such a great atmosphere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

After giving our credit card for a deposit over the phone but not receiving a receipt or any confirmation we were quite concerned about whether the booking had actually gone through given that it was over Easter. Trying to get an email acknowledgement or a receipt was like pulling teeth. Eventually were got an email with a receipt number.

When we arrived we were given a great site at the front of the park. It was large, had a little washing line and some shady trees and a great view. Whilst the site was great the problem was all the surrounding smokers sitting on the logs on the perimeter of our site chain smoking so we had our tent constantly filled up with cigarette smoke and it was too hot to close the windows.

After about a week of this torture with various smokers coming and going in the nearby sites we went to the office to ask whether they could give us a break from the smokers. The owner (a smoker himself and would drive around the park in his truck with a cigarette hanging out of his mouth) scoffed and said how was he supposed to know if people were smokers (like it's so hard to ask). In any case the park was mostly empty after the Easter rush so they didn't need to be putting other people right next to us all the time. So we asked if he could give us a break from putting people directly next to us for a while. He rolled his eyes and basically laughed us out of the office. We got about 2 days of relief and then the next lot of smokers rolled in.

The ablutions were okay apart from the cleaner locking all but 3 of the toilets and needing to go only to find they were all in use. One of the mothers sent one of the kids under the door to try and unlock some before the cleaner showed up and let us in. It also was a long uphill hike to the toilets which was really tiring especially at night.

The camp kitchen was pretty disgusting and there was only one sink. This meant having to line up waiting for people to finish their dishes before being able to fill a bucket with hot water to was our dishes back at the tent.

The night lighting was ridiculous. I think whoever installed the lights was afraid of the dark. It was very hot so we couldn't shut the windows but it was hard to sleep under a spotlight.

To top it off they started working on the carpark over the road so from 7am til evening there was dust blowing over the tent constantly. Not the fault of the park but between that and the smokers it was all too much.

If you can tolerate bad service and a tent that is constantly full of cigarette smoke by all means come here but if you prefer to deal with people who can behave in a civil manner and like to breathe fresh air then I suggest you go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a spot at the back of the park so you can avoid having your tent filled with cigarette smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kayakers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalbarri hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kalbarri Edge Resort
0.5 mi away
Kalbarri Reef Villas
Kalbarri Reef Villas
#5 of 5 in Kalbarri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalbarri Palm Resort
Kalbarri Palm Resort
#4 of 5 in Kalbarri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kalbarri Seafront Villas
0.1 mi away
Kalbarri Beach Resort
Kalbarri Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Kalbarri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican's Nest
Pelican's Nest
#7 of 13 in Kalbarri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park

Property: Kalbarri Anchorage Caravan Park
Address: Anchorage Lane, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalbarri National Park > Kalbarri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kalbarri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing