We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Kalbarri Beach Resort v Bali”””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalbarri Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kalbarri
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““Kalbarri Beach Resort v Bali”””
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I recently took my family on our 1st overseas holiday together and also my first visit to Bali. I have a young toddler aged 3 and a teenager aged 14. We chose Bali due to being the most cost effective place for family of 4 accommodation wise - plus the tropical warm climate with lots of swimming and sun was just our idea of paradise. Plus everyone recommended Bali and was either going to Bali or coming from Bali.

However - while I was there, we found the food awful, it proved to be very hard to get around with a toddler, prams were not street friendly with holes and ditches, our hotel was not within walking distance of any shopping so it was always a big outing to get taxis or a big walk with little ones in prams and I didnt enjoy getting hassled on the streets and spend 10min haggling for a $5 t-shirt when I have got a toddler in the pram waiting & when its so hot its just not enjoyable for them. It was too expensive to eat in our hotel so we had to go out for every meal - which is always hard with toddlers. We just found everything quite difficult over there.

Now - i have been going to kalbarri every year on a family holiday for as long as i can remember, I went there a young child with my parents, til I was old enuff to drive up there myself then I used to go up there with my friends and boyfriends and now as i am married with my children i go up there with my own family. And I always find it truly relaxing and it is such a beautiful spot. I love that nothing ever changes in Kalbarri - there's no traffic, pollution, the sun is always shining every day (yes you there is the strong sea breeze you have to work around) you can walk everywhere in town - we rarely even get in our car up there. As we have done all the sightseeing so many years before we spend our week by the pool and by the beach, pub lunches or dinners, lots of bbqs by the pool. I now sit back and watch my own children and nieces play as happily as I did all those years ago.

we always stay at the kalbarri beach resort and i can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere else in kalbarri. The self contained apartments mean we can bring our food up from home when prices are high so just roll up empty handed and walk down to the shops. we can walk out our front door walk 50metres and flop in the pool to cool off. we dont have to pack towels and sheets and kitchen cutlery as its already there. We dont have to worry about sitting onto he furniture in our wet bathers. The kids ride their scooters and bikes around the resort and into town. We can walk across the road and go fishing off the end of the jetty - everything is just there at your finger tips and easy.

I have a special sentimental attachment you could say to Kalbarri. When i think of getting away or needing a nice relaxing and fun holiday I always think of Kalbarri.

After coming home so stressed and unsatisfied from our big 1st overseas family holiday Bali, I will be returning back to kalbarri to just relax and unwind soon as i get a chance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accomadation260855, Manager at Kalbarri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thanks for all the great feed back on the Resort.I always love to hear what eveyone has to say good or bad ,as it helps us to improve your stay .Your comments were very useful,with comparing the two holidays .I hope you will continue to have such a great time at the Resort and thankyou once again for your review.
Chrissie Locke Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    94
    50
    9
    6
See reviews for
130
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I booked 3 days at the Resort by phone having received recommendation from a colleague. It was very quick and easy.
The rooms were spotless, windows sparkling clean, kitchen well appointed and a very large fridge.
The grounds are almost a paradise, a pool, spa and more....especially for the young and very fit.
The area is quiet and life at the Resort is very unhurried.
Being off season it was not possible to review the restaurant but that is made up for by a plethora of eating places all along the foreshore.
The only criticism, if I am permitted, is that the furniture is very low to the ground and most difficult to get out of. However, whilest seated, it is very comfortable.
Will I return...certainly will

Room Tip: Book early and decide if you would like a room away from the roads which pass by or internal. The th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller6002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accomadation260855, Manager at Kalbarri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thankyou for your comments ,about the Resort being unhurried life style,spacious, and well equipped kitchen.Our ground being a paradise,and you had a lovely stay ,very relaxing .
Kind Regards Chrissie Locke
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have stayed here twice, once in 2006 & again last week & loved it just as much both times. The kids love the pool, the bbqs are great, and our apartments were clean both times. New kitchens this time was lovely. Probably the only complaint is that it's at the end of the main street so it's a bit far for littlies to walk to the main shops but for bigger kids & adults that's no issue. We love it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1famof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accomadation260855, Manager at Kalbarri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
It was nice to hear you had returned, and you liked the new kitchen . I will pass onto the cleaners your comment about the cleaness of units ,Thankyou for all your comments as I do appreciate your time and effort .
Chrissie Locke
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Booked on line via tourist information. Easy. Staff very helpful. Room for six. Three bedrooms. All with air con. Pool good size. Ideal base to tour area. Not luxury but comfortable. Short stay ok.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accomadation260855, Manager at Kalbarri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thanks for putting your review about us on trip advisor.It's great to hear what you think .I feel all comments are so helpfull .
Chrissie Locke Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We hade a great time here with our daughter during our round-trip. The appartment is very nice, cozy and spacious .
The pool especially was great. We had a very nice time here.
Also very friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaVMPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accomadation260855, Manager at Kalbarri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thankyou for your your review on your stay with us, it was great to hear you had a good time ,especially around the pool .Your comments help us to provide what eveyone is looking for while on there holiday .It is always good to recieve feed back .
chrissie locke manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We loved the spacious and well-equipped kitchen. The reception staff were very helpful as we didn't pre-book.

The rooms were clean. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelnBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accomadation260855, Manager at Kalbarri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
On Behalf of all staff, and managment.we would like to thank all of our customers who write a review on Trip Advisor.Your comments always help us to make Kalbarri Beach Resort,a place you all enjoy to come and stay ,have fun, relax .We appriciate all your feed back .Thankyou once again .
Chrissie Locke Peter Grindley
Resort Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Although the resort is getting on in age it has been updated since I was last here 15 years ago. 2 room self contained units are o.k. without being brilliant. Pool area is good and pool is not freezing as it is slightly heated although a bit crowded in peak times during school holidays. 3 spas are good. Never had any problem booking spa time. 1 full size and 2 half size tennis courts were good. Complex is 5-10 minute from the centre of town and you can walk along the beach or a path. Site is enclosed inside a fence with secure gates so the kids will be safe just about anywhere in the complex. Reception were nice although could have been a bit more friendly (and smiled:). We did one activity per day and then went in spa, read or played tennis and we were kept busy for our 7 day stay. Activities included watching the pelicans being fed, walking the gorges, taking a hire boat up the river, canoeing, entering the kids fishing competition, the fun park, lots of walks along the beach. If you are more active there is sand boarding, canoe trips, river cruises, quad bike tours and much more. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davoswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalbarri hotels
0.7 mi away
Kalbarri Edge Resort
Kalbarri Edge Resort
#1 of 5 in Kalbarri
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalbarri Reef Villas
Kalbarri Reef Villas
#5 of 5 in Kalbarri
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalbarri Seafront Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kalbarri Palm Resort
Kalbarri Palm Resort
#4 of 5 in Kalbarri
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalbarri Gecko Lodge
Kalbarri Gecko Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kalbarri
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kalbarri Tudor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalbarri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalbarri Beach Resort

Property: Kalbarri Beach Resort
Address: Grey Street | Corner Clotworthy Street, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalbarri National Park > Kalbarri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kalbarri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalbarri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalbarri Beach Resort is a great place to relax and have fun.Plenty of space for the kids to play ,great for couples to relax have a spa and that romantic drink on your balcony.Seniors can relax around the pool, with a great book or go for a walk with lots to see and do . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kalbarri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalbarri Beach Hotel Kalbarri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing