We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great peaceful getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RedGum Hill Country Retreat
Ranked #7 of 9 Nannup B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great peaceful getaway!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed at Redgum Hill with my girlfriend for a peaceful getaway from my busy lifestyle in Perth. Thoroughly enjoyed my stays... surrounds of the property are beautiful and very tranquil, just what I needed. Accommodation was very comfortable and great value for money, hosts were very friendly and made a point of making our stay as comfortable as possible. Will definitely be back for another stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your patronage. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have stayed at Red Gum Hill Country retreat over the past years and love the solitude and surroundings.

I have stayed in the beautiful en-suite rooms with the absolutelty wonderful country feel; the rooms are spotless with lovely cottage decor. The beds are comfortable and the linen is crisp and clean .

I have also stayed in the smaller cottage (Gum Nut) on one occasion and the decor was just like in a fairy tale. I expected goldilocks to walk through the door at any time to join us round the pot belly stove. It was a delight to sit in the outdoor spa and take in the serenity of the beautiful garden watching the little wrens and other birdlife. I also spotted some quail.

We are advised not to leave any doors or windows open because of flying bats and insects and to make sure our door was always shut to deter unwelcome visitors such as snakes.
Although the only TV available was Cable we were offered free DVD's to watch. However, we chose not to waste our time being couch potatoes.

The manager is always friendly and approachable andwe have had no hesitation speaking with him should we ever have had any concerns.

We are booked for the long weekend and are so excited looking forward, yet again, to a fun time in beautiful surroundings. Lots of lovely walks in on the porperty and drives around the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 819bettyboo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your stay in September in Duffy's Cottage. Please be advised, that should you or your party of 7 have any concerns at any time then please advise us immedately. As with all guests, we would like to hear about problems during your stay giving us the opportunity to ensure your stay is a happy and comfortable one.
Thank you, Redgum is truly magnificent at this time of the year albeit a few problems with wild pigs generally in the area.

Thank you and we look forward to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

we had very high hopes for this establishment but left feeling very disappointed. First up, we travel extensively and have never occupied holiday accommodation that hasn't even supplied tea, coffee, sugar and milk for the guests but not even a pitcher of cold water was left in the fridge. There was no television as the TV which had been, for some odd reason, left in the lounge was analogue and therefore useless. We weren't told that there would be no television for our stay and when I approached the owners to request a borrowed set, discovered there wasn't anyone in residence.

One of our party occupying a less than salubrious single bed upstairs rolled over during the night and one of the wooden struts which formed a railing which formed part of the upstairs wall fell out and landed downstairs. In the morning we realised that another strut was also about to fall and it seems as though they had been barely sitting there and not properly attached. Had we have had a young child they could have very well fallen through and downstairs. The strut complete with nails could also have fallen on my elderly Uncle's head as he sat below in the lounge-room. The bedding supplied was also insufficient and the 3 of us occupying to top floor were cold all night. There is also no lock on the bathroom/toilet door which can be problematic.

I was really looking forward to taking our Eastern States visitors to this establishment but all of the above plus the fact that the home is covered in less than diplomatic notices of what guests should not do, made it an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chantereine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your review and we respond as follows:
We did advise you of the TV not being connected upon booking. It has been an embarrasment to us, but has now been rectified with satellite connections. We also have free DVDs.
We have magnificent pure fresh rainwater on tap in stead of jugged water in fridge.
There were tea sachets in the cottage, but obviously not enough and when you advised we happily provide a bundle for your stay.
We made up 3 QS beds as requested, but for some reason 2 people choose to sleep in the waterproof unmade children's SB instead. Had we been advised of your change of plans we would have made these up for your family instead of the QS beds.
Following your stay, we noticed the bed has been pushed through the stair balusters. Yes, it was extremely dangerous. Had you advised us of this we would have recitifed the problem immediately. Thank goodness your uncle was not hurt.
We do have conpendiums in each cottage, but find that we need to put signage around to ensure guests comfort and safety.
We thank you for choosing Redgum Hill and it is unfortunate that you did not advise us of your concerns during your stay as we would have overcome them immediately.
We offer you and your family a free nights stay towards another future booking.
Dirk and Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I have stayed here several times, and was introduced to it by a friend who has stayed here over ten times.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you want peace and quiet, they have it.
If you want nature, then you can leave crumbs on the verandah and watch the many local wild birds stop by and enjoy a snack. Or perhaps watch the kangaroos at dawn.
If you want luxury, sip local wines in your outdoor spa.
If you want comfort living, then cook dinner on the wood stove and relax with a game of scrabble by the fireplace.
If you want location, then walk 20 metres from your chalet or room to the banks of the Blackwood River.
If you want tranquil, wander the beautiful gardens surrounding the property.
This is the best place for grown-ups looking for country luxury, and although there is excellent 3G coverage, you will want to turn your phone off and sleep in, and enjoy this spot of WA south west paradise...

Room Tip: Try for a chalet if you want a kitchenette. Duffy's cottage- the largest chalet- is perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helloadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello Adam
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. Your friend is one of our most loyal customers and has been coming here before we even bought Redgum Hill. Hope to see you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed at the Redgum Hil B & B last weekend and wanted to share my experience with anyone going to this area who is looking for qualiy and peaceful accomodation.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy wih amazing views into the lush gardens. It was extremely peaceful to wake up to the early morning sun and to see a variety of birds feeding on the lawn. The whole experience was absolutely tranquil and so peaceful. We shared breakfast with the owners in their main house kitchen the next morning which again was a lovely experience. Both the owners were extremely friendly and proud of their home. The gardens are delightful and I strongly recommend this place to anyone going to that area looking for top class accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again sometime at Redgum Hill Country Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

we stayed at this lovely property last winter. we had a great weekend in a beautiful location. the room was warm and comfortable and included a heater and electric blankets. there are tea & coffee making facilities in the room and complimentary chocolates and toiletries were also included. the couple who run the b&b were very friendly and helpful. the little town of nannup is cute but small so activities like bushwalking in the surrounding forest are recommended. redgum hill is quiet and peaceful and ideal for relaxing with a good book. whilst we were there, the little wrens came to drink and wash at the birdbath and we also saw some robins. we really enjoyed our weekend away and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitterSweetSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nannup
13.2 mi away
Balingup Jalbrook Cottages
6.0 mi away
The Black Cockatoo
The Black Cockatoo
#2 of 10 in Nannup
44 reviews
9.0 mi away
Nannup Valley Chalets
Nannup Valley Chalets
#1 of 1 in Nannup
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Mossbrook Country Estate Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Holberry House
Holberry House
#2 of 9 in Nannup
67 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ford House
Ford House
#2 of 10 in Bridgetown
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedGum Hill Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Property: RedGum Hill Country Retreat
Address: Lot -1 Balingup-Nannup Rd, Nannup, Western Australia 6275, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Nannup
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nannup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — RedGum Hill Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redgum Hill Country Retreat is nestled on 11 acres on the Blackwood River in the Blackwood River Valley on Tourist Drive 251 in the heart of the south west of Western Australia, an extremely convenient place to stay if travelling around to surrounding wineries, forests, beaches and general south west tourist attractions.Our accommodation comprises the owner's residence, AAA 4 star rated DUFFY'S COTTAGE being 1 x 3 bedroom, 1 x bathroom two storey self-contained loft cottage (sleeps 4 - 8), AAA 3 1/2 star rated GUMNUT COTTAGE being 1 loft bedroom two storey self-contained cottage (sleeps 2), AAA 4 star 2 bedroom 2 bathroom guest wing(sleeps 4 - 6) overlooking garden. All accommodation has covered verandahs or balconies overlooking the garden or the river from which guests can enjoy the birds or read in the serenity of the country environment. Duffy's Cottage is wheelchair friendly. The cottages have wood fires for winter and air conditioning for summer. Our cottages are quaint, comfortable, clean and elegantly casual. The guest wing has reverse-cycled airconditioning, ceiling fans and cross ventilation doors and windows. Redgum Hill Country Retreat boasts over 68 varities of birds including the splendid blue wren, golden whistler, brown honeyeater, firetailed finch, emu, red tailed cockatoo, carnaby cockatoo, button quaile, rainbow bee eater (occassionaly) and much more, a joy to sit and watch.Enjoy strolling through the 4 acre gardens and ponds or walk around the property to the arboretum. This walk is substantial but easy. With 48 hours notice we can provide gourmet weekend food hampers, fully cooked breakfasts, BBQ packs, dinner provided to your accommodation or a three course meal in the licensed dining room (minimum 8 people)by the fire. Redgum Hill Country Retreat is small, private country property in the picturesque Blackwood River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RedGum Hill Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing