We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RedGum Hill Country Retreat
Ranked #7 of 9 Nannup B&B and Inns
Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
“A special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a gorgeous spot for a quiet getaway!Tried to book Gumnut Cottage for the weekend but it wasn't available so the owners offered us a special deal on Duffy's House and we certainly weren't disappointed.
The facilities were excellent and there was nothing we could think of that was needed to make the weekend any more enjoyable. The cottage is beautifully furnished (super comfy bed!) and tastefully decorated throughout and the grounds were delightful. Sitting on the verandah with a glass of wine and listening to the native birdsong as the sun slowly sets over the dam is an experience not to be missed,
We found Dirk and Judith to be attentive and engaging hosts and would have no hesitation in recommending the property to anyone looking for a peaceful country break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sooties399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello dear guests,
Hope you trip home was special in the new car. Unfortunately the weather gets the better of us at times, but I think you missed the worst of it.

We were so happy to see you both again and really enjoyed our chat. Take care and we will see you again soon. Thank you both for the comments....we really appreciate it. The cottage was in perfect condition upon your departure. Thank you for being so respectful of our sensitive property. Little birds still on the nest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Six girlfriends and I stayed in Duffy House over the long weekend and had a wonderful time. Dirk and Judith are excellent hosts who made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was spotless and the bed linen clean and fresh. Plenty of wood for the wood heater which kept us toasty warm and there's a wood stove as well but we didn't need it. TV and DVD but we didn't need them either, choosing instead to take walks around the beautiful natural surrounds and playing games and talking. We also enjoyed the lovely warm spa of an evening and nothing beats the sounds of nature from the verandah. Both Dirk and Judith welcomed any feedback as their main concern is the comfort of their guests. My girlfriends and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Lisa,
We had a wonderful time also. Such great happy guests. Lots of laughs coming from the cottage and it was lovely to meet you all. It's so nice to see people enjoying themselves and soaking up the country air and natural environment. We have people come down (rarely I must say) sit in the cottage all day and do nothing, not even walk around the property. Each to their own I suppose. All the girls were wonderful....thanks for your lively company.

Hope to see you again one day and thank you for the ratings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosnells, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I went with friends. We were 8 and stayed at the "DUFFY'S PLACE" for 3 nights. The moment I entered the place I was over whelmed. Lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable bedding and lots of clean towels.

The rooms were clean and everything you need in a comfortable home was there. The living room was comfortable and the fire was lit to keep us warm when we entered. There was a television with a set top box, dvd and cd player. It was relaxing watching our favourite programmes and later listening to music.

The Balcony was lovely with roses around and the surroundings beautiful. There was a Barbeque, and a spa clean and warm.

Judith-the owner took us for a morning walk around the property. The walk was refreshing. The owners were ready to help us if we needed anything.

To sum it up the stay was so relaxed and comfortable that we are all planning to make another trip and also I am planning a trip with my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Sharon
I cannot tell you how lovely it was to have such happy smiling people stay with us. Even thought we are small, we are really proud of our country property and supporting accommodation. The garden looks beautiful now, your stay was a week too early but at least you saw all the rose buds and the little bird nests. We enjoyed meeting you and all the girls.

Take care of yourself and we certainly hope to see you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Still owed $540. Website sounds great but not true. 'Luxury Villa' is 3 separate cheap motel rooms, spa not operational. Colour TVs don't work has no digital tower and DVD player not working. Cooker does not work. Had to find alternative accomodation and refund refused. Owner Rude and Arrogant backed up by a wife whose only appearance was to tell us to get off their property when we asked for a refund.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALfandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest
We are most concerned at your tirade of complaints, criticisms and demands for a full refund when you said absolutely nothing to us during your stay re no TV (we did advise you of this) and the Cottage you stayed in after the first night does have a working spa. You were referred to us as your preferred place of accommodation could not accommodate your for 3 nights.
You booked in for 3 nights and left 1 night early, the stove was working as was the DVD. We discounted your tariff by 10% as we could not put you into the Gumnut Cottage on the first night and had to put you into the Villa. Our Villa is rated 4 1/2 stars and the accommodation is certainly not cheap and nasty as evidence by our website photos and other TripAdvisor comments.
Had you told us about your complaints during your stay, i.e. the oven and DVD not working, the tea and coffee problem and had we inspected all with you at that time or before your departure, we would most certainly have considered a part refund should the complaints be jusified.
In light of your early departure we did offer you free accommodation at another time but you did not accept our offer. Regarding your complaints about the owner's attitude and arrogance we advise that at all times, our wellbeing and safety and that of our guests is tantamount and if exposed to foul language, abusive behaviour and unwarranted demands, we ask the offenders to leave immediately. Nevertheless, as concerned owners, when the owner asked for your reasons for an early departure, you commented that you could not divulge your reasons. Hence your comments, complaints and demands are most confusing. Redgum Hill is a small well appointed quiet country property and we and our other guests with us at that time cannot understand your unjustified comments and criticisms.
As a small accommodation owner, we accept that we may have small problems from time to time and would expect our guests to bring them to our attention immediately. However, on this weekend, we received no complaints whatsoever in spite of being present at all times. To be fair on people such as ourselves, can we suggest that in future, during your travels, should you have further complaints regarding other accommation, you notify the owners immediately giving the owners the opportunity to overcome them if and when apparent for your own comfort and enjoyment.
Given the opportunity during your stay, we, the owners, would have ensured your stay was most pleasant and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed at Redgum Hill with my girlfriend for a peaceful getaway from my busy lifestyle in Perth. Thoroughly enjoyed my stays... surrounds of the property are beautiful and very tranquil, just what I needed. Accommodation was very comfortable and great value for money, hosts were very friendly and made a point of making our stay as comfortable as possible. Will definitely be back for another stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your patronage. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have stayed at Red Gum Hill Country retreat over the past years and love the solitude and surroundings.

I have stayed in the beautiful en-suite rooms with the absolutelty wonderful country feel; the rooms are spotless with lovely cottage decor. The beds are comfortable and the linen is crisp and clean .

I have also stayed in the smaller cottage (Gum Nut) on one occasion and the decor was just like in a fairy tale. I expected goldilocks to walk through the door at any time to join us round the pot belly stove. It was a delight to sit in the outdoor spa and take in the serenity of the beautiful garden watching the little wrens and other birdlife. I also spotted some quail.

We are advised not to leave any doors or windows open because of flying bats and insects and to make sure our door was always shut to deter unwelcome visitors such as snakes.
Although the only TV available was Cable we were offered free DVD's to watch. However, we chose not to waste our time being couch potatoes.

The manager is always friendly and approachable andwe have had no hesitation speaking with him should we ever have had any concerns.

We are booked for the long weekend and are so excited looking forward, yet again, to a fun time in beautiful surroundings. Lots of lovely walks in on the porperty and drives around the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 819bettyboo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your stay in September in Duffy's Cottage. Please be advised, that should you or your party of 7 have any concerns at any time then please advise us immedately. As with all guests, we would like to hear about problems during your stay giving us the opportunity to ensure your stay is a happy and comfortable one.
Thank you, Redgum is truly magnificent at this time of the year albeit a few problems with wild pigs generally in the area.

Thank you and we look forward to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

we had very high hopes for this establishment but left feeling very disappointed. First up, we travel extensively and have never occupied holiday accommodation that hasn't even supplied tea, coffee, sugar and milk for the guests but not even a pitcher of cold water was left in the fridge. There was no television as the TV which had been, for some odd reason, left in the lounge was analogue and therefore useless. We weren't told that there would be no television for our stay and when I approached the owners to request a borrowed set, discovered there wasn't anyone in residence.

One of our party occupying a less than salubrious single bed upstairs rolled over during the night and one of the wooden struts which formed a railing which formed part of the upstairs wall fell out and landed downstairs. In the morning we realised that another strut was also about to fall and it seems as though they had been barely sitting there and not properly attached. Had we have had a young child they could have very well fallen through and downstairs. The strut complete with nails could also have fallen on my elderly Uncle's head as he sat below in the lounge-room. The bedding supplied was also insufficient and the 3 of us occupying to top floor were cold all night. There is also no lock on the bathroom/toilet door which can be problematic.

I was really looking forward to taking our Eastern States visitors to this establishment but all of the above plus the fact that the home is covered in less than diplomatic notices of what guests should not do, made it an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chantereine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your review and we respond as follows:
We did advise you of the TV not being connected upon booking. It has been an embarrasment to us, but has now been rectified with satellite connections. We also have free DVDs.
We have magnificent pure fresh rainwater on tap in stead of jugged water in fridge.
There were tea sachets in the cottage, but obviously not enough and when you advised we happily provide a bundle for your stay.
We made up 3 QS beds as requested, but for some reason 2 people choose to sleep in the waterproof unmade children's SB instead. Had we been advised of your change of plans we would have made these up for your family instead of the QS beds.
Following your stay, we noticed the bed has been pushed through the stair balusters. Yes, it was extremely dangerous. Had you advised us of this we would have recitifed the problem immediately. Thank goodness your uncle was not hurt.
We do have conpendiums in each cottage, but find that we need to put signage around to ensure guests comfort and safety.
We thank you for choosing Redgum Hill and it is unfortunate that you did not advise us of your concerns during your stay as we would have overcome them immediately.
We offer you and your family a free nights stay towards another future booking.
Dirk and Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nannup hotels
6.0 mi away
The Black Cockatoo
The Black Cockatoo
#2 of 9 in Nannup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.0 mi away
Nannup Valley Chalets
Nannup Valley Chalets
#1 of 1 in Nannup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holberry House
Holberry House
#3 of 9 in Nannup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Mossbrook Country Estate Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Crabapple Lane Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Beyonderup Falls Adult Escape
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedGum Hill Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Property: RedGum Hill Country Retreat
Address: Lot -1 Balingup-Nannup Rd, Nannup, Western Australia 6275, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Nannup
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nannup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — RedGum Hill Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redgum Hill Country Retreat is nestled on 11 acres on the Blackwood River in the Blackwood River Valley on Tourist Drive 251 in the heart of the south west of Western Australia, an extremely convenient place to stay if travelling around to surrounding wineries, forests, beaches and general south west tourist attractions.Our accommodation comprises the owner's residence, AAA 4 star rated DUFFY'S COTTAGE being 1 x 3 bedroom, 1 x bathroom two storey self-contained loft cottage (sleeps 4 - 8), AAA 3 1/2 star rated GUMNUT COTTAGE being 1 loft bedroom two storey self-contained cottage (sleeps 2), AAA 4 star 2 bedroom 2 bathroom guest wing(sleeps 4 - 6) overlooking garden. All accommodation has covered verandahs or balconies overlooking the garden or the river from which guests can enjoy the birds or read in the serenity of the country environment. Duffy's Cottage is wheelchair friendly. The cottages have wood fires for winter and air conditioning for summer. Our cottages are quaint, comfortable, clean and elegantly casual. The guest wing has reverse-cycled airconditioning, ceiling fans and cross ventilation doors and windows. Redgum Hill Country Retreat boasts over 68 varities of birds including the splendid blue wren, golden whistler, brown honeyeater, firetailed finch, emu, red tailed cockatoo, carnaby cockatoo, button quaile, rainbow bee eater (occassionaly) and much more, a joy to sit and watch.Enjoy strolling through the 4 acre gardens and ponds or walk around the property to the arboretum. This walk is substantial but easy. With 48 hours notice we can provide gourmet weekend food hampers, fully cooked breakfasts, BBQ packs, dinner provided to your accommodation or a three course meal in the licensed dining room (minimum 8 people)by the fire. Redgum Hill Country Retreat is small, private country property in the picturesque Blackwood River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RedGum Hill Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing