We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nannup
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats
Busselton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spiritual Experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed at this beautiful retreat a couple of times now and have experience the wonders of mother nature and mother earth both physically and spiritually. Her presence in this area is amazing and together with the connection of this sacred land and that of the owners Leisa and Neil you will not forget your stay. A wonderful place to stay and experience at any time of the year.

Room Tip: Couples rooms at the house are the most modern - the villas would be great for a family and more sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleLotus1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nannup is the name of this lovely sleepy village approx. 3 hours south east from Perth. The landscape reminded us on the Rhoen in Germany or the Shire from Lord of the Rings, with is beautiful juicy green hills and happy cows and sheep everywhere. Who says, we do not have mountains here is mistaken: The Nannup Hideaway Cottages are actually placed quite high on a small mountain, overlooking the valley. The friendly owner Leisa welcomed us, when we arrived on a Friday afternoon, to pick up the key to the Tree Top Cottage. Both cottages are close to each other, one more overlooking the valley and the other one, where we stayed in, is build up high so you are with the treetops on one level. One can definitely find peace and quiet up there and it is the perfect get away for couples.
My husband lit the fire in the Cottage and the lounge room is very cozy and homely.
We enjoyed our cuppa the next morning on the balcony overlooking the valley and trees and some kookaburras joined in with their laughter.
We went to a cheese farm and had a great breakfast with lovely cheese and continued on to the local winery for some wine tasting until we found a delicious chilled chardonnay, which we took with us back to the cottage. We enjoyed the rest of the day in the spa on the balcony. One can really say, this place is perfect for relaxation, for taking some time off and unwinding from our busy lifestyles. Sometimes it did not quite feel like we are actually in Australia, until a kangaroo jumped around, which is so unique and so precious and only here in our beloved country.
We can highly recommend you to stay here!
Jasmin and Nathan

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JasminNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After driving for a couple of hours to get to the Nannup Hideaway Cottages, we were greeted by a rather stressed-out owner/manager, who abruptly told us to come back an hour and a half later. Admittedly we were a bit early but check-in was supposed to be 2pm and she said the cottage wouldn't be ready before 3pm. When we arrived back later, she was still not very welcoming and just took our paperwork without any further comment. We were disappointed when we got into the cottage to find there was no food and wine hamper as promised so we had to walk back to the main house to ask about it. This was then delivered two hours later. We also had to ask about check-out time, as there was no mention of this. Expecting that it might have been 11am or 12pm considering that we hadn't been allowed in until after 3pm, we were sharply told that it was 10am "on the dot". Although the cottage itself was comfortable, there were no little nice touches like toiletries provided, or bath salts for the spa, like you would normally get in a hotel. It was really quite basic and the owner did not seem to have restocked the mini-bar or tea/coffee supplies. Overall, the peaceful location in the forest was pleasant but it was overshadowed by what we felt was fairly poor customer service.

Room Tip: Don't forget your earplugs. There are possums and other creatures that live in the roof of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisa H, Owner at Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Appreciate your review, as 1 of 3 recipients of a Competition I donated the Overnight stay and extras to as part of a week long free holiday for those Winners.

There were legitimate reasons for some of your criticisms which I did explain on arrival, and would like to reiterate and expand on. My apologies were given upon your slightly early arrival, when you were unable to move into the Cottage - we had issues out of my control with Electricity from wet weather - a serious matter that needed urgent attention, and for you to move into the Cottage at all. With only 2 town electricians, I am at the mercy of their availability to rectify the situation, trust you understand one of the disadvantages of rural living.

I was stressed admittedly, expecting Guests, Cottage servicing delayed, and the extras to be ready on arrival delayed also due to priorities. The possum trap had only just been removed - there is no roof space hence our dilemma in catching him, Mr elusive!! Not everyone complains about them, just one of natures blessings on a rural property. Guess he has much right to be here as we do. My sincerest apologies.

I sensed your annoyance in the delay - when you mentioned the back pain through sitting in the car for so long, I wasn't aware how much pain and stress you were experiencing until I delivered the Wine & Cheese Platter around 5pm. I totally understand that, the week of your arrival I had been confined to bed, hospital for emergency treatment. Very unsettling, and another reason for my stress - has inhibited my fitness for servicing here when turnaround tight and unexpected issues arise. No excuse, I did my best given what I had to work with, you were not to know.

It is very disappointing you were unable to communicate any inconvenience or problems you had with the Complimentary overnight stay when I delivered the Platter and Hamper to the Cottage. . I would have been happy to correct/restock anything I had overlooked with the distractions the day brought forth.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Driving up to the property starts to prepare you for the relaxation, serenity & beautiful views that await you. Country air, winding gravel roads.. you're no longer staring up at the forrest, you're peering through the leaves and over the hills that the property overlooks. No matter what time of year it is, Nannup Hideaway views are absolutely breathtaking; I'm still flooded with goosebumps talking about it!

Leisa & Neale are both very caring and go out of their way to accommodate you in any way they know how. A few hours from Perth in a quiet, country town.. it's as though you're the only one that exists, floating in the clouds.

I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Bed & Breakfast rooms are joined to the main house with comfortable sized rooms. Hands down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisa H, Owner at Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
It is a beautiful and unique entry ..... Guests normally greet us with 'wow what a drive up' or 'what a view'!! It is the 3rd highest peak in Nannup and we are the only accommodation in this region with such an elevated view. The canopy is growing over making it even more mysterious. And once here the peace and seclusion is 2nd to none.
Very much looking forward to you revisiting ...... Heaven on Earth awaits
Namaste
Leisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I booked a weekend in the Treetop Spa Cottage as a gift for my partner on his birthday. It was beautiful - the scenery, cottage and location were all top class. It was quiet, we virtually heard nothing going on around us, and the service from the owner was lovely. She was always very prompt in correspondence, and ensured we had a wonderful stay.
Would definitely recommend (and already have!) to anyone looking for a weekend getaway in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amabelsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisa H, Owner at Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hey pleasure, guys.
It is wonderful to meet such gracious and appreciating souls!
Glad you had a great time and thank you for referring us on. Pleased to hear our little furry friend the elusive Possum was on vacation during your visit. Hopefully we can relocate him in - but we do live in his world too :)
Look forward to seeing you again for some well deserved peace and quiet.
Blessings Leisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing is one word to describe Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages. So glad we found your place of paradise. The 2.5k long winding driveway took us to a place that we didn't have to share with anyone else, so private the perfect spot to spend time with those you love.
The views are magnificent, the cottage was so cosy and warm, so homely, it has everything you could possibly need.
I will have to say the best bit was enjoying a relaxing spa on the balcony while taking in taking in the magnificent views.
From start to finish it was a pleasure to deal with you both.
Thank you Leisa and Neil, great meeting you and look forward to coming back to Nannup Hideway Spa Cottages very soon.

Room Tip: Jarrawood cottage magnificent views very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisa H, Owner at Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks for your review! Was great to meet you both, so easy going and fun loving. Had a giggle when we heard the footy being kicked and laughter coming from Jarrahwood.
Come back soon!!
Kind Regards Leisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you are after a totally relaxing retreat then Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages is for you. Relax in the spa on the verandah or have a BBQ or a few drinks or coffee whilst overlooking breath taking views. Nothing is spared in providing all the amenities that would ever be needed. In the cooler months there is an inviting log fire making the cottages cosy and on cool mornings watch the fog lifting over the valley. In the warmer months listen to the trees blowing in the summer breeze. Great for bush walks and to just get away from the hussle and bussle. Set high on the hill and off the main road so there is absolutely no traffic noise.. just wildlife and serenity. Take day trips to the wine region of Margaret River or just visit the close country towns of Nannup or Donnybrook. Definitely a retreat to return to time and time again. Love this place !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisa H, Owner at Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Welcome back anytime, thank you for your visits over the years ..... glad you feel at home and welcome with everything needed on hand.
We love catching up with loyal visitors who revisit - quite a few coming up to 10 visits!!
This property offers what I call a 'drop out zone' - can be assured of privacy seclusion and peace!!
These days more people are making that a priority - love you keep coming back.
Best wishes and look forward to hearing all about your worldly travels soon.
Kind Regards Leisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nannup
16.1 mi away
Balingup Jalbrook Cottages
7.7 mi away
Nannup Valley Chalets
Nannup Valley Chalets
#1 of 1 in Nannup
37 reviews
14.6 mi away
Balingup Heights Hilltop Forest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Black Cockatoo
The Black Cockatoo
#1 of 10 in Nannup
44 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beyonderup Falls Adult Escape
3.7 mi away
Holberry House
Holberry House
#2 of 9 in Nannup
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats

Property: Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats
Address: Lot 1 Boundary Rd, Nannup, Western Australia 6275, Australia (Formerly Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Guest Wing Villas)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Nannup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Nannup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seclusion, Silence, Stillness, Privacy, Serenity!!For Romantic Getaways, Health and Wellbeing Retreats10 kms from Nannup on Route 251, up 3rd highest peak, elevation unique to this area with Panoramic views.2 Modern Cosy fully self contained Cottages - Treetops Spa Cottage (1 bed)set 8m off the ground and in the Tree canopy OR Jarrahwood Spa Cottage(2 bed), Fresh Rain water Spas on Balcony, Indoor log firesPLUS 2 Guest Wing Villas with Private En-suites (Disability modified), Kitchenette/Lounge/Dining, Deck BBQ/Lounge/Dining, Reverse cycle Air conditioners, All fully self contained, TV/DVD/CD Breakfast Hampers or on Deck, Holistic Retreats/Workshops/Special Events Venue. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing