We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner by the ocean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma's on the Boardwalk - CLOSED

Emma's on the Boardwalk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Aussie in UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner by the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Emma's is the nicest restaurant in the Rockingham area, it is a great place for a special occasion with white linen table covers and amazing views over the Indian Ocean.
On the down side it is a bit on the expensive side for where it is but the food is always excellent quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ISB3happycustomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice location ,busy noisy inside .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

First thing I will say is the staff are very friendly and professional . We went here on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday . I had gone down during the day to give some decorations for our table, on arrival they were not all put out as I think the owner did not want them on the table . This frustrated me straight away .
Entree i had ordered duck in a curry style sauce which was cooked perfectly but was rather bland .i just did not feel the concept of duck done this way . Also had garnish on top that just didn't make sense to me ,
My mums prawns were nice but after seeing the rice on my plate we canceled the risotto for mains to pork . The mains came out presented well . The pork done 3 ways was nice and filling though could of done with a jug of the apple cider sauce as there simply was not enough on the plate . The game tasting plate was not enjoyed at all by the person who ordered it but I thought the emu stuffed sour dough was tasty as was the lemon mertyle balls . The main dish of salmon over rice and scallops was nice .
Overall if I went back it would be for lunch not an evening meal . . The place is simply to small to cope with people talking over each other . This made it the wrong place to celebrate with someone special . Unbelievably loud on a Saturday night .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerardinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, good service and meals but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a good restaurant from all reports and there is no doubt that the staff are very friendly, meals nice but in others ways leaves a lot to be improved on.
When we tried to order from the beverage list, a lot of the drinks were not available or had been deleted from their stock. The menu also had many items unavailable. How long would it take to prepare and up to date beverage list and menu.
We ordered entrees and they appeared after the main meal. Very apologetic about the situation.
Would go back again but for a quality restaurant they need to get their act together.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankee22Perth, Owner at Emma's on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by our limited stock on your recent visit to Emma's. We are in the process of having our new food menu and drinks menu completed and printed and for obvious reasons we are running down our current stock. I am sure on your next visit you will be more than happy with our food and complimenting drinks menu and look forward to serving you and making your Emma's experience memorable. Sue Irwin (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Had an absolutely delicious dinner here last night. Walked in off the street. Excellent food that we could not fault, wonderful service and delicious cocktails. Can highly recommended the chicken as a main and the toblarone cocktail. Will absolutely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Nuicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Always love going to Emma's., the food is good as is the ambiance, especially love sitting outside with the heaters on in winter. Would definitely recommend, never been disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emma's on the Boardwalk also viewed

Rockingham, Greater Perth
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing