We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma's on the Boardwalk - CLOSED

Emma's on the Boardwalk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a disappointment. We went to Emmas today for a family member's birthday. We chose a table on the better side of the restaurant but it didn't make a difference. We had to ask twice for some things and it just felt that the staff weren't interested. The food was no where near as good as previous visits. Maybe the chef has changed or they had a learner on. Many of the wines on the menu weren't available as they claimed they were about to change the wine list shortly. They even told us one of the wine choice wasn't available...but it was then bought out by another wait person.
The only thing in their favour was the view of the ocean and the wonderful weather. We are disapponited that one our favourite places to eat is no more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gold guilded dandelion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We visited Emma's really because our fav restaurant was fully booked and we had not made a reservation, so we thought we would give it a go. The formal part of the restaurant is lovely, decor tasteful, linens on tables, beautiful view, shame the service and the food give a way lower than professional impression. It was an ok experience over all, they are trying hard to appeal to a wider clientelle now offering a bar menu but the food choices are not abundant and the wine list was poor. For the money spent we have had far better experiences.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bebe318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner by the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Emma's is the nicest restaurant in the Rockingham area, it is a great place for a special occasion with white linen table covers and amazing views over the Indian Ocean.
On the down side it is a bit on the expensive side for where it is but the food is always excellent quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ISB3happycustomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice location ,busy noisy inside .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

First thing I will say is the staff are very friendly and professional . We went here on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday . I had gone down during the day to give some decorations for our table, on arrival they were not all put out as I think the owner did not want them on the table . This frustrated me straight away .
Entree i had ordered duck in a curry style sauce which was cooked perfectly but was rather bland .i just did not feel the concept of duck done this way . Also had garnish on top that just didn't make sense to me ,
My mums prawns were nice but after seeing the rice on my plate we canceled the risotto for mains to pork . The mains came out presented well . The pork done 3 ways was nice and filling though could of done with a jug of the apple cider sauce as there simply was not enough on the plate . The game tasting plate was not enjoyed at all by the person who ordered it but I thought the emu stuffed sour dough was tasty as was the lemon mertyle balls . The main dish of salmon over rice and scallops was nice .
Overall if I went back it would be for lunch not an evening meal . . The place is simply to small to cope with people talking over each other . This made it the wrong place to celebrate with someone special . Unbelievably loud on a Saturday night .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerardinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, good service and meals but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a good restaurant from all reports and there is no doubt that the staff are very friendly, meals nice but in others ways leaves a lot to be improved on.
When we tried to order from the beverage list, a lot of the drinks were not available or had been deleted from their stock. The menu also had many items unavailable. How long would it take to prepare and up to date beverage list and menu.
We ordered entrees and they appeared after the main meal. Very apologetic about the situation.
Would go back again but for a quality restaurant they need to get their act together.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankee22Perth, Owner at Emma's on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by our limited stock on your recent visit to Emma's. We are in the process of having our new food menu and drinks menu completed and printed and for obvious reasons we are running down our current stock. I am sure on your next visit you will be more than happy with our food and complimenting drinks menu and look forward to serving you and making your Emma's experience memorable. Sue Irwin (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emma's on the Boardwalk also viewed

Rockingham, Greater Perth
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing