We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation and food were disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rottnest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rottnest
Brungle NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Accommodation and food were disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in a courtside room. The court is not much to speak of (nor was the room) but the location is fantastic. The room had all the basic facilities but for the price we expected a bit more. One major gripe was that there was nowhere to wash/hang swimwear which we thought would be obvious given it is an island! Perhaps there is somewhere off site. The accomodation staff were nice but the bar staff appeared busy or disorganised.
Food was below standard. The atmosphere and menu of the bar lured us in and then the food was really disappointing and well overpriced. Would be a great place for a party or concert but for comfortable accommodation it could be improved.

Room Tip: Value for money is terrible but options are very limited! Dont bother paying more for a view because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little_ducke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    79
    73
    32
    20
See reviews for
58
116
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

For the price we paid, it should usually be a better hotel. However, owing to the fact that we are on an island with pretty basic lodging all around, I suppose we should have expected it. The rooms are functional. And small, and the bathroom itself was like a motel standard. Can't really complain much because I suppose they CAN price it that way, and it's a take it or leave it concept, since there's not much competition/choices around for a family with a one year old bub.Likely will avoid staying over at Rottnest altogether in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked an Aussie barbecue buffet for a business getaway on the island. The food, obviously prepared earlier in the day, was served cold.
Not happy..
Their bar is good. My feeling is that is where their efforts are spent.
Accommodation and food seems overpriced, but then they have a bit of a captive market, so that's to be expected.
General service is "iffy"..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Sorry Rottnest Hotel to make this statement but seriously, you host an amazing Band such as Icehouse and you under catered to such a horrendous level. Logistically, you knew how many people bought tickets to the concert and yet your toilet provisions were woeful (ladies were using the men's) and only 3 bars. Average time to get a drink from the bar was 35 minutes at one stage and the only white wine available was $45. Then getting an actual view of the Band was another story. The stage was on the beach, which was lower than the hotel, so most people didn't get to enjoy them playing. Thank god their music was so awesome, that most people didn't care. I think you can really do better. Even the line up in, people were complaining that you still haven't improved from last time. Icehouse Rocked and sorry, but your management of the function sucked. My wife's and my joined Christmas present. Will be thinking before we go to a Rottnest concert again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed her for one night, room was a good size and comfortable. Staff were friendly and accommodating. It was a little on the expensive side but then again, as an Australian and overseas traveller, Australia and particularly Perth are pretty expensive compared to the much of the rest of the world anyway. Otherwise it was convenient and easy to walk to from the boat. Rottnest is a beautiful place, well worth renting bikes and riding around, make sure to go the whole way round and stop at Cape Vlamingh - It's a soul-stirring experience when there is nobody lease around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel one night, check in time is at two and if you arrive early they will store your luggage so you are able to go sightseeing. Room was comfortable and clean. For a glass of beer, a midi, it was 9.50 dollars which I thought was very dear. Also found staff not to be that friendly.

Room Tip: rooms 1 to 17 are based around a courtyard so sleep quality was good, there is a banquet hall beside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobbitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Why would a luxury hotel put synthetic grass in its courtyard? I know, not much rain but think for this type of accom something else would be more tasteful. Having said that, the room was spacious and away from any noise. Not sure why there are no bed lamps.

The hotel is located overlooking the beautiful Thompson bay. It's a great place to site and enjoy one of an extensive list of good wines. We chose to also eat at the hotel where the service was great and the food, well good pub food.

Given this is the only hotel on the island, I guess they can charge big prices.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Robby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Property: Hotel Rottnest
Address: 1 Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rottnest 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing