We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at walpole lodge”
Review of Walpole Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walpole Lodge
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A great affordable option for travelling. Small unit to sleep & have coffee / tea & full kitchen facilities in the main area to cook up a storm. Was quiet when we went, clean & relaxing.
Recommend to travellers of all ages.,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Walpole Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I only paid $80 for a single night in an ensuite room here.

For that sort of money I'm not expecting anything fancy, just somethine clean where I get a good night's sleep. Met my expectations perfectly.

It's dated but great value for money. There's a large kitchen and relaxation area (which I didn't use).

Would recommend but bear in mind that the focus here is on value not luxury. My scoring reflects my expectations based on the price I paid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AusBritTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here one night while in Walpole and really enjoyed ourselves! The lodge is a great place to meet folks from all around the world and half the fun was chatting with our neighbors. We were in a family style room with an en-suite bathroom. Very comfortable and plenty of room. Antonio was awesome! Very friendly, helpful and an all around great person! He was very accommodating and helpful. A discount is offered if you stay more than one night which we would have done if we didn't have other plans. Very clean and comfortable, would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family just spent a full two weeks at Walpole Lodge. From our booking with Julie a couple months ago to our final goodbyes last week - we had a wonderful experience. We were looking for a facility that was affordable and yet was well-run, clean and comfortable. We were also hoping to find a place that could accommodate our extended family for part of the time - up to 17 family members for number of days. Walpole Lodge fit the bill and was great choice!

Julie & Steele were extremely friendly and helpful when we made the booking. They're a lovely young couple. Antonio and a few others do a great job with the day to day managing and care of the property.

The atmosphere was comfortable and very family-friendly. If you have any questions or needs, Antonio was always on hand to help with a smile. His suggestions for places to visit in the area were excellent.

My wife and I had a room with an en-suite bathroom, flat screen TV, desk, comfy chairs, etc. Our room could actually sleep six - there was a firm queen-size bed and two bunk beds. But we had the room to ourselves and slept our three children in a separate bunk room that contained two bunk beds. Our room was at the end of the building, which turned out to be great choice - more private and separated from the common area.

The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots and pans, etc. It was clean and well-equipped with a microwave and a number stoves and ovens. We also made use of the bbq a number of times and even roasted marshmallows over the fire outside.

Some nights we chose to eat out and had some great fish-and-chips at a local establishment which was only a block away. We had the best fish 'n chips we've had in a long time. And a $12 box (one order) is more than enough for two people. They make a great pizza too.

There are a couple other good restaurants a ten-minute walk around the corner.

In the common area there's a massive TV with boxes full of DVDs. There's also a pool table. Our family played cards and board games with many of the other people staying at the lodge most evenings. There's also free wifi. The connection is a little on the slow side, but it's fine for checking email etc.

One of the best points about Walpole Lodge was meeting and getting to know the other folks who were staying there. Because we stayed for two full weeks we were able meet people from Switzerland, the UK, Germany, France, Finland, Japan, Taiwan, Hungary, New Zealand and of course Australia! Lovely people - most travelling around Australia or spending time in the southwest. Many were walking along the Bibbulmun Track or mounting biking on the Munda Biddi track, both of which go through Walpole.

Antonio and Glenn were very helpful recommending places to see and things to do in the area. There are plenty of pamphlets, brochures and maps available too. The Treetop Walk is a fifteen minute drive away. There are good beaches like Peaceful Bay that we enjoyed. You can walk (30 mins?) to Coalmine Beach. We also hiked up Mount Frankland. Beautiful views. Denmark, a larger town with more shopping and things to see is about an hour away. William Bay (Greens Pool, Elephant Rocks) is about 45 minutes away. All in all, Walpole is in an excellent location.

We made use of the two bicycles that are freely available at the Lodge. The two jetties in Walpole are just down the hill.

So we had a great stay. I can't wait to return.

Oh the cost? Very easy on the budget.

Thanks Antonio, Julie and Steele!

Room Tip: Our room with en-suite bathroom that sleeps six was excellent. Quiet and separated from the main com...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxnhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely little place, family run with their young child. Large space outside with a large communal area with sofas and a TV, a kitted out kitchen and a pool table. The lady was super friendly and helpful with information which was really nice. Only drawback is the thin walls between rooms, and noise ceases pretty early on so after 7 it's quiet time, not at all imposed but just the atmosphere.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnnyGarethPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had a fabulous time staying at the Walpole Lodge. This is in large part because of the friendly atmosphere that Antonio helps create and fosters. You immediately feel like family. The kitchen is lovely and large. The dining table is accommodating. The wifi is great. And the fire pit is a friendly and relaxing way to end the day...sharing stories with fellow travelers.
Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParnellDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I love staying here, the hosts are very friendly and welcoming.
Large spacious kitchen, good grounds and near the water and shops.
They have foxtel (didn't use) and very comfortable couches along with a free pool table which added to the recreation ti

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walpole hotels
0.1 mi away
Tree Top Walk Motel
Tree Top Walk Motel
#2 of 3 in Walpole
142 reviews
7.2 mi away
Walpole Wilderness Resort
0.9 mi away
Coalmine Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rest Point Holiday Village
4.4 mi away
Tinglewood Cabins
Tinglewood Cabins
#2 of 9 in Walpole
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tingle All Over Budget Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Lodge

Address: Corner Pier Street & Park Avenue, Walpole, Western Australia 6398, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Walpole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Walpole
Price Range: £31 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walpole Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Walpole, Western Australia on half an acre, our accommodation, including fully equipped kitchen, large dining area and spacious open floor plan, is ideal for families, friends, groups and independent travellers alike. We offer a variety of budget accommodation (including dorms) and room configurations, with ensuite option.Walpole is perfectly located for exploring countless beautiful, natural attractions including the Valley of the Giants Tree Top Walk and the Giant Tingle Trees. Sports and activities include bushwalking and biking on the Munda Biddi Trail, and hiking the famous Bibbulmun Track, as well as kayaking, fishing, 4WD tours and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Walpole Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing