We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain option that has seen better days”
Review of Sienna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sienna Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Rome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bargain option that has seen better days”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On the beside table, there were a couple of glossy interior decorating magazines from 1990. That probably sums up a place that must have been great twenty years ago (when the adjoining restaurant was still open) and is now a good bargain option in a pricey area. The room was large, the kitchenette we had booked in view of the closed restaurant was basic. On the other hand, I should stress that the owners clearly make the most of what there is: the welcome was very friendly and the room absolutely spotlessly clean. The only thing that truly bothered me was the very poor sleep quality: the mattress was so soft and lumpy that my back hurt for the duration of the stay. And on the second night, we unfortunately found out how purely sound-proofed the rooms are, as we had to listen to the neighbours' bedroom antics. Overall, it just wasn't for me, though we may just have been unlucky. It certainly is decent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomeRomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed at Sienna Lodge a couple of weekends ago. A very quirky place. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Loved listening to the birds and the frogs. The owners were very welcoming and helpful with booking restaurants. Good location close to Yallingup and Dunsborough yet felt we were in the bush.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Value and Location - The main reason that we choose this oft-over-looked little place along Caves Road was its incredible value in a great location. However, when we arrived, I was a bit surprised that it was literally at the junction of the main Caves Road and Canal Rocks Road! As such, it was initially a bit noisy during the day time and early evening but we got used to it. By the time we went to bed, it was really nice and quiet.

As an aside, the exterior looked a bit rustic so i was wonderfully charmed by the utter cleanliness of the rooms within! Everything was spotless and functional - except the wifi but its okay!

Service - My husband does not like too much fussing so he liked the discreet service which meant they pretty much left you alone. That suited us fine. He loved the little notes around the apartment including the several how-to instructions peppered with witty jokes. Oh yes, the complimentary bottle of wine was a very nice touch too!

Parking - My dear husband loved that we had covered parking especially given the thunderstorms on Day 2 although it helped that there were only 2 cars throughout our stay.

Room and Bathroom - We had a lovely room above the covered car park with a nice sofa, a comfy bed, an air con which kept us warm and toasty, and a spacious bathroom with plentiful amenities although my dear hubby knocked his head on the sloping roof of the bathtub. Men, beware!

Kitchen - Best part of the apartment was the fully functioning kitchen! We had picked up great cuts of lamb and sausages at Coles @ MR and we cooked ourselves hearty breakfasts and full course dinner meals in the little apartment! Only caution is that it can get smoky so ensure full flow ventilation while cooking - or you risk setting off the smoke alarm which we did!

Otherwise, lovely little place to visit Canal Rocks and Mammoth Cave which we loved in addition to the usual wineries!

Room Tip: We loved our room above the covered car park - 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwjd_elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Nice, simple rooms that are very clean and tidy. Management are extremely friendly and helpful.

We accidentally booked the wrong dates and despite the Lodge being nearly fully booked and arriving after 9pm, the management helped us all the way to find a room and look after us.

Very happy visitor and will come again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Classicblue444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Tasteful large room (#7), beautiful decor with large bed and seating arrangement. Great location 2 minutes from Yallingup. The perfect gateway to Margaret River's region - on the doorstep of stunning beaches, great wineyards, delis, eateries... and kangaroos!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and what an absolute delight!
The location was amazing and right on the doorstep of Smiths beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in WA and a 2 minute drive to the amazing Lamonts restaurant.
Our room was clean and spacious and was serviced after our first night. The couple that run the lodge are so friendly and helpful and we were both so impressed with the service.
Sienna Lodge is in a perfect location for exploring the Margaret River Wine Region, the value for money was great and we are definitely going to make this our regular accommodation when we venture down south,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous old home. Lovely gardens to sit and enjoy the free bottle of wine included. Great location in the middle of everything. Short drive to Smiths beach and Lamont's restaurant, both if which are highly recommended. Also near Canal rocks; well worth a visit! Can duck into Dunsborough for gourmet fish and chips. Very quiet, private and relaxing. Loved the claw foot bath! Old style sitting room and library was such a nice touch. Would definitely stay again. It was a shame the winery and restaurant were both closed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyliem3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
3.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
8.6 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.9 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.4 mi away
"Seclusions" of Yallingup
"Seclusions" of Yallingup
#3 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sienna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sienna Lodge

Property: Sienna Lodge
Address: Canal Rocks Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sienna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sienna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sienna Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing