We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent location. Great views from balcony. We had breakfast here every morning. Very good service. Bed and pillows were not the best, but overall, it was excellent value for money. Fully equipped with oven, washing machine, dryer, gas heater.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgnesGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Location is excellent. All apartments have ocean views and it only takes 2 minutes to walk to the beach.
Rooms: stayed in a ground floor studio apartment. As soon as we walked in we thought it smelled of cheap disinfectant mixed with urine. We opened the doors and had a sea breeze clear out the "aroma" and we burned incense which definitely helped. Bathroom is large but smelled damp and the shower/spa looks like it needs a good bleach. Kitchen was great with large fridge, 4 burner gas stove and good working area to prepare food. As expected, guests are required to clean there own dishes but no cleaning materials are available. For the money it costs to stay here they should definitely have cleaning supplies.
Lounge/bedroom combo is good especially for the gas fireplace. Made the place nice and cozy, perfect for a glass of red and some cheeses. TV reception is crap and constantly drops out so maybe bring some board games or a good book. Bring an audio cable if you want to connect your iPod for music.
Looking out through the main window towards the ocean is quite lovely (most of the time). Communal BBQ is right out front on the ground floor so if you have a GF apartment then all your privacy is gone. Most annoying was the BBQ man who cleans the hot plate at 8am inc Sunday mornings. Lying naked with the woman/man of your dreams whilst gazing out the windows listening to the waves roll in THEN BBQ man rocks up smack bang in the middle of your view 15 metres away and kills the mood. Lovely guy though and does a great job with the gardens as well but at $540 for 2 nights we felt it was far too much.
Lady at front reception is lovely & very helpful.
I would recommend this place for older generations or families. Definitely not for couples who like to do exclusively coupley things. 6.5/10

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PablosAsItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We visited with a bub during the week. We thought it was expensive per night, especially for mid-week and dated bathroom.

However, the view of the national park and ocean are fantastic. Plenty of wildlife. ( kangaroos at back), bird life and dolphins in the ocean that come up very close to the surf beach.

The people are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We enjoyed four nights here in a comfortable, upper floor studio apartment with a great view of the sea. There is an excellent cafe/restaurant/deli (Lamonts) very close to the apartments and Dunsborough is a good place for further food shopping.
The location is perfect for exploring wineries, the nearby cave, the lovely Yallingup Gallery and, of course, the Canal Rocks!

Our only criticism of the accommodation was the rather limited access to wi-fi. It cost 5 (Australian) dollars for a password which gave one hour's access.

Room Tip: We'd recommend an upper floor apartment.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby_of_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went down for a wedding luckily we got this accommodation nice spot rooms were quite dated but still good the only thing we didn't like about it was the old unfumfy bed worst sleep both have bad backs. I don't think it would be very fun to bring kids to this location my kids would have been very board no play ground or pool beach was quite rough.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a top floor room for privacy & view of ocean
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Superficially, the rooms are dated, poorly finished and don't have a lot of style. Once you move beyond that, you have a wonderful time. The front presentation is quite ordinary and my first thought was "why don't we have an apartment at the front overlooking Smiths Beach".
Once we had settle in the side and back apartment, we realised we had view of both directions and it was absolutely wonderful.
Smiths Beach itself is an easy beach to swim in and for anyone who loves birdlife, the activity next to our apartment kept my wife focussed for hours - even the kangaroos near our balcony were a treat.
The supplies are limited and there is no service for short stays so it is sensible to bring supplies of your own soaps, shampoo etc.
The bed is not the best for sleeping - very low and a very ordinary mattress

Room Tip: Upstairs better and probably rooms 7 or 13
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for some much needed relaxing and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable and are self contained so you can bring your own food etc.
The location is right on Smiths Beach and there are beautiful walk-tracks along the coast where if you're lucky you can see dolphins or even whales.
The other thing is that the resort is positioned at the end of a no-through road which means it is very quiet and its so nice to only hear nature and the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach. It is also not fat from the Margaret River wine region so all the great wineries are very close as are many of the regions restaurants.

Room Tip: If you're a couple the second floor apartments are great otherwise choose the ground floor apar...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveandjaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
8.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.2 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chandlers Smiths Beach Villas
1.5 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments

Address: 97 Smiths Beach Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range: £117 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing