We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Cape Lodge ticks all the boxes - utterly luxurious, big quality fitted rooms, fantastic staff, beautiful setting, great location, and a restaurant worthy of all its accolades. If I could live there, I would. Seriously superb on every level.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    81
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
344
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked a spa suite at Cape Lodge and stayed for two nights. Our package included dinner served in our room and the degustation dinner in the restaurant the following night. After both dinners we felt like a goose about to be made into fois gras! talk about force feeding ourselves and gluttony! The food was so magnificent that we could not leave one morsel. This place deserves all the accolades it has received. You will not believe the number of staff to serve you and their enthusiasm to serve you was outstanding.

The room is starting to look dated with old fittings, such as a tape and CD player rather than an ipod dock. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the lodge was an excellent base to visit the treasures in the Margaret River region. When walking around this magnificent property, it looks as if the cheaper rooms are just as nice as our more expensive room. so be sure to visit no matter what your budget. A visit to Cape Lodge should be on everyone’s bucket list.

Room Tip: All rooms seem wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndie2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms (all that was available when we booked, situated in the main lodge building) for 2 nights on a gourmet package which included a 3 course meal in the fabulous restaurant and breakfast both days.

The room was just behind reception which I was a little worried about, but needn't have been - we didn't see or hear another guest at all during our stay (except in the restaurant, of course). It really felt like we had the main lodge all to ourselves - there's a formal lounge with books, dvd's etc. to relax in - as most of the other guests were in their own rooms/suites scattered around the property they obviously didn't feel the need to visit the main lodge. The room was huge, with a huge bathroom and felt very grand.

Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic, although as others have commented the atmosphere wasn't up to much. It's a very plain space but the lake view is beautiful. The food was superb, and the service attentive but not quite a match for the work done in the kitchen - nothing offensive, just not quite sharp/sophisticated enough.

Breakfast was, for me, the best I've ever been served - plenty of cold self-service options (in particular a great selection of perfectly prepared fruits) and the a la carte options were inventive, fun and delicious.

Would I be back? yes, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Main lodge - don't be put off by the lower prices, the room we had was fabulous and very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_EC_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewBernhardt, General Manager at Cape Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
We thank you for your review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Lodge King Room with its large Bathroom during your stay. We are pleased that you were able to experience your best Breakfast at Cape Lodge as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards,

Drew Bernhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Cape Lodge is our Birthday / Anniversary / Day ending in Y, place to go for the kind of break that completely recharges the batteries, we are living in Perth so have the luxury of jumping in the car and less than 3 hours later be taking a walk around the fantastic grounds through the vines along the lake past the kitchen gardens and back to the room for a soak in the Spa before enjoying the very best food WA has to offer cooked by one of Australia's best chef's
Tony Howell. Don't miss the chance to do a cooking class if your a bit of a foodie, we are sorry to be missing the fab event this weekend with ‎MasterChef's Jay Huxley and Clairault chef Jake Drachenburg another favorite of ours.
Cape Lodge is fresh and spacious, with friendly staff, quiet surrounds, not pretentious 5 star chain so called luxury but uniquely Australian refined perfection. If you are looking for a winter break with open fires and cosy (fantastic) rooms or a bright summer spot close to the best beaches in Australia get booked in to Cape Lodge.

Room Tip: See if the spectacular Lodge Suite is available, but not if we are heading down ;) it is our fav wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed here with my partner for her birthday in early August. When we arrived we were offered an optional upgrade to one of the top tier rooms which was well worth it. At 70sqm and a private lake view it didn't disappoint.

Staff were very helpful and it reminded me of the days where service is above and beyond expectations. I couldn't get hold of a winery I wanted to visit so they called the GM direct on my behalf! Dessert with dinner came with a birthday candle for my partner without even asking. Touches that turn good service into great service.

Food at both the restaurant and the room service was top class. The decadence of a five star five course meal in your bathrobe can't be beaten.

If i have one complaint it is that how can I now stay anywhere else when I head to the South West after such a great experience?

A truly wonderful trip. Well done Cape Lodge and everyone involved i the operation.

Hughsie

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughsie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewBernhardt, General Manager at Cape Lodge, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for your review .

We are delighted that you found your stay to be enjoyable with us. We pride our selves on creating a luxurious environment for our guests with details that make a difference.

We are pleased that you took advantage of our Room Service Menu.

We hope to welcome you back to Cape Lodge perhaps for your next upcoming Birthday.

Kind regards,

Drew Bernhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Outstanding. From arrival to departure the service and standard was superb. The setting is impressive, rooms bigger than expected and staff are great.

The pearl is the restaurant...everyone knows it and everyone expects the sublime. It delivers. It's a lot more easy on the palate than the wallet...but you're not there to drop in for a cheap and cheerful bangers and mash! The meals warrant the accolades and the service and staff ably match. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewBernhardt, General Manager at Cape Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Dear Steven,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our setting to be impressive. We are also pleased you found our Restaurant to be wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards,

Drew Bernhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the Garden View rooms and it was so lovely! beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and the property is secluded. We ate breakfast each morning which was so good! also had dinner one evening and although the food was wonderful, was really expensive but worth doing for the experience. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
7.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Property: Cape Lodge
Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing