We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the Little Things...”
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Its the little things that matter, and the little things that create a wonderful experience at Cape Lodge. It is everything you expect. The understated luxury and elegance of the standard rooms will make for a wonderful Margaret River stay. The delightfulness of the gardens, the many birds and the welcome relief of the pool on the hot summer evenings. The restaurant was a terrific experience with fabulous quality and delightful combinations that was produced with obvious love and care by the kitchen. Breakfast was equally good with the difference clear to other 5 star places you may stay. No buffet for hot food, but cooked to order and once again the thoughtful construction of the dishes make for breakfast taste bud heaven! But lets talk about the little things...Cold filtered water at the pool, handmade room chocolates, a posy of flowers, an offering of fresh muffins from breakfast for morning tea on your touring and lots of excellent advice from the helpful local staff of wineries and restaurants to visit. My only regret is that its too far from Sydney to escape for a wonderful weekend escape! but I'll be back though on my next WA holiday!

Room Tip: Standard Garden room was terrific.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Cape Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

The lodge is perfectly located to visit the Margaret River or to go to the beach just 5 Km away. It's located in a splendid and very relaxing park where you can have a walk around the pond. You can also decide to relax around the (small) pool which is very appreciated when the temperature is over 30 degrees as it was the case last January.
Our room was very nice, well decorated, with a small balcony giving onto the park and the pond.
The best part of this lodge is probably its restaurant which is open for dinner, which is relatively rare in the Margaret River, and which is very good. The food is delicious and the service perfect with in particular good advices for the choice of the wine. We spent 3 nights in cape Lodge and had our dinner everyday at their restaurant and it was everyday a flawless experience.

This is of course not cheap but really if you want a perfect place to fully relax and treat yourself, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliedecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

...Cape Lodge is probably our favourite place to stay in WA for a special occasion! It provides quality service and amenities in a magical bush/garden/lake setting. The birds are a bonus! The staff are very welcoming to returning guests. We stayed in an upstairs garden suite and it was perfect for a wedding anniversay getaway! Spacious, modern and comfortable. We received a celebratory wine & fruit! We have the impression that management is very receptive to feedback - as is should be but sadly doesnt happen sometimes.

The location is ideal within the wider Margaret River area. If there is a downside it might be the fact that evening dining away from the hotel means a dark windy drive elsewhere - so stay with the intention of dining in the very good restaurant.

The restaurant is of a high standard - service and food we couldnt fault. The wine list as expected for the area, is good. BUT - where are the craft beers guys?! You could do better there for those who dont drink wine. The ambience is great. We had a very loud "lord of the English manor" fellow guest at the next table one evening who provided not so positive entertainment for all. Staff handled this very professionally indeed. Breakfast was high quality and served by friendly staff.

Would we recommend? - oh yes certainly. Cape Lodge is expensive but it delivers in terms of value for money. We would go back more often if circumstances allowed.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites are more private and better outlook over grounds.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATOF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed at the Lodge on a Wotif Mystery Special. Utterly peaceful, the utmost in class, restaurant was in my 10 ten EVER!!! Magically, they even upgraded us upon arrival as it was not a peak time. We love Yallingup and the Cape Lodge is the best of several we have stayed at!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozwandererPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked here for a special meal whilst visiting Yallingup. The restaurant sits serenely overlooking the lake.
It was delightful. Beautifully prepared food was served faultlessly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGoodsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Cape Lodge is an experience not to be missed. From the check in process to, the house made treats in your room upon arrival, the genuine care and attention of every member of staff we encountered, truly world class food by Chef Tony, impeccable grounds, the hands on approach of the General Manager, Drew, this resort leaves you wanting for nothing.....past a few extra days to stay longer.

No picture can show you the comfort of feeling totally confident and at ease during a holiday and that is Cape Lodges greatest strength. The staff are go above and beyond to the point its hard to go back to reality!!!



My girlfriend and I can't wait to get back as soon as we possibly can!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had a wonderful time at the south western wine region of Australia. This resort has a vineyard attached and their wine is exceptional. We had a suite in the main lodge that has a bed room, living room and two full bathrooms; very large just for two people. The chef is exceptional, the tasting menu at dinner is a different creation each night. The wine region is a nice area to tour and do tastings. Fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
15.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
704 reviews
7.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
226 reviews
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
155 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#2 of 12 in Yallingup
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range: £195 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing