We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong Choice for Hungry People”
Review of The Late Lunch - CLOSED

The Late Lunch
Price range: US$9 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Windmills Break Bar Open Daily from 1pm. Bar snacks available from 3pm.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wrong Choice for Hungry People”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Firstly, in terms of flavouring, seasoning, how well food is cooked or prepared and presented, there is nothing wrong.
Secondly the service is not an issue either, although not anything special.

Issue is, that if you are hungry, this is simply not the place to eat because the portions are so small that you will have ordered a main with a side dish and will feel afterwards like.. well what do we do now, go some where else and eat their?

There also is no distinction on the menu on what is an entree and what is a main, which may catch a few people out. For example, their smoked kangaroo fillet with quinoa was lovely, except you are served it on a massive bowl and the kangaroo fillet would be around 60 grams with sprinklings of quinoa around it.

The rib eye steak is also another trap for unsuspecting people, on the menu it does not specify what weight it will be but it costs $36, we asked our waitress how big it is, too which she replied 60 grams. :-O , was what our faces looked like, we asked are you sure and she said yes, we then showed her how big a 60 gram steak is and she said, oh! well its around four slices that big, which ultimately makes a decent steak, except it turned out it was really only 140grams or so. Not worth the money.

Unfortunately my partner and I went to book this restaurant in person at windmills break for seven of us on Thursday to dine on Saturday and told they do not serve tables of more then six people and would not accept any booking made by us there after. Then my Dad booked later that evening in person for a table of seven in person at windmills break and their was no issue, so I felt like they were prejudice in taking bookings from 21 year olds.

Do not eat here if you are young or hungry. It is not worth your money because you are paying more for tiny meals that are tasty and average service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy_Lu1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great menu in a great atmosphere
The barramundi was great and well presented
The oysters well presented

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hector25_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect (adult) weekend escape...”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

You know you're in good service land when the manager writes you 2 weeks prior to your stay apologizing for a sudden closure of the restaurant and offering alternative dates, a partial refund, a bottle of (yummy) 2005 Cabernet Merlot on arrival and a list of alternative dining options.

So began our introduction to Windmills Break. You have better insights to the quality of a venue's service standard not when everything's running smoothly but when there's a hiccup and their response.

On arrival and every moment since our stay has been ideal. From the beautifully bush tree lined grounds to the welcoming greeting and quiet introduction to the many (complimentary) facilities to our cosy sophisticated yet comfortable room where we promptly uncapped aforementioned bottle of red and nestled in the comfy leather chairs appreciating our excellent choice of venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosieV36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting menu perfectly executed”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The chef at Windmills Break has put together an interesting menu in which every ingredient has been chosen to complement the dish.
We ate here three nights in a row and were impressed each night by how good the meals were - which is why we kept coming back.
It's a little out of the way for Margaret River. but if you are near by it is definitly worth checking out!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back for more class”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have stayed at Windmills Break twice....this time we were passing through on our trip from Victoria and decided to visit to see what had changed. Nikki decided we should stay on for dinner and what a great suggestion that was!

We had 2 and a half courses - shared the cheese platter at the tale end. Windmills has a great (and we were told new menu) I statred with a Lamb samosa and Nik with oickled occy (she's of Greek heritage) both loved the starter. I followed with the double cooked pork belly with all the right taste combos (got apple too)my wife had the barra with the crispy skin. We share sides that were good value and v.nicely presented.

Usual comfortable atmosphere at the restaurant - no kids - extremely civillised dining experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdseyeGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Late Lunch also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing