We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never eat here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caves House Hotel Yallingup
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and i went here on a whim because it was close to where we were staying and it was open.

Very slow service (40mins plus). Overpriced for what it was, and my $22 chicken burger came out in a tiny dingy cardboard box...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IntermittentTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for not getting back to you soon. Caves House is now under new Management and we have a fresh new outlook and energy. We wish to invite you back for a fresh experience.
Hello,

We’re very sorry for your experience here at Caves House. We do pride ourselves on our relaxed family atmosphere and great service. We make no room for any lapse in customer service and we will be following up this matter. We are reviewing our customer service training and talking with all staff members involved.
We have passed on your feedback to our Chef and we have in place new equipment and training to rectify any issues reoccurring.

We would very much like a chance to make amends, please contact us directly at reception@ychh.com.au if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Kindest Regards,

Kirstie Pallier
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The CHHY was a charming hotel with beautiful grounds. Our room had a balcony that was unfortunately shared with other guests. The room was actually two rooms with the result being the bath/spa room was spacious and the bedroom cramped. The heating was basic (portable) and needed to be turned on to its highest level to provide adequate heat. The blanket was electric and provided inconsistent heat.

The reception staff were friendly but a male manager/custodian needs lessons on the concept of hospitality given his, at best, curt manner.

During our dinner in the restaurant, there were times I considered I was being filmed for the MTV show "Punk'd". Continuing with a tv theme, the restaurant conjured images of Fawlty Towers. We arrived to be informed that if we wanted to be seated next to the fire, we would need to be finished in one hour. We agreed given the potential for fast and efficient service, which never eventuated (We were later moved.). When I asked our waiter to dry our table, he responded "It's only soap and water" before haphazardly drying it. During our dinner, two other tables each had one of their meals provided without charge due to 'issues'. I had to remind staff of our drink orders regardless of the fact the bar was literally next door. Perhaps my Heineken was being flown in from Holland? My food finally appeared after an extended period of time with a sauce that bore no resemblance to what had been promised on the menu. Perhaps the incorrect sauce was meant to have drawn my attention away from the consideration that part of my meal had been slightly burned. Etc. Etc. Etc.

Avoid...

Room Tip: Choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Hello Rick,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for not getting back to you sooner. Caves House is now under new Management and we have a fresh new outlook and energy. We wish to invite you back for a fresh experience.

We’re very sorry for your experience here at Caves House. We do pride ourselves on our relaxed family atmosphere and great service. We make no room for any lapse in customer service and we will be following up this matter. We are reviewing our customer service training and talking with all staff members involved.
We have passed on your feedback to our Chef and we have in place new equipment and training to rectify any issues reoccurring.

We would very much like a chance to make amends, please contact us directly at reception@ychh.com.au if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Kindest Regards,

Kirstie Pallier
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Seashells over the weekend with friends & decided to dine here on the Saturday night. We were advised to book a table earlier & on arrival found a lovely table for 4 in front the fire reserved for us. The older gentleman who waited our table had a great sense of humour & was a real "Hoot". We were looked after all night without delay & there certainly was a good flow of patrons through. Overall, the environment was clean & tidy, not too noisy, food was tasty but not a great selection to choose from but enough to settle our rumbling tummy's. Prices on average with most eating places in that region. Would recommend a meal here. Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hello Libby,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us.

Our tables by the fire are a definite favorite and we pride ourselves on offering warm and welcoming customer service to all of our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you to Caves House Hotel on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Kirstie Pallier
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked and paid over 1.5 weeks in advance for Injidup Suite for our anniversary, traveled 4 hours (Each way), found no service at the front desk, then a young girl noticed us, she was dressed very unprofessionally, she proceeded to check us in and asked us to sign paper work then we were given our key, once we reached the room we found a small room with a bed and bathroom, no balcony and no spa overlooking trees and next to a loud laundry down a hallway- to our confusion as this was obviously NOT the room we booked and paid for we went back to reception to let them know it was the wrong room and asked for our correct room. They said our room is now "unavailable" and they moved us to the other room. This is clearly NOT okay, if you have a room booked then that is your room and should not have to worry about been moved and to a much lesser room, WITHOUT NOTICE or any apologies. We asked for a refund (that we have still not yet received) and we drove another 4 hours back home. Including the waste of $150 worth of fuel!.. Completely unprofessional and the staff were inconsiderate and rude. I will NEVER book here again and NEVER recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Hello Natasha,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for not getting back to you sooner. Caves House is now under new Management and we have a fresh new outlook and energy. We wish to invite you back for a fresh experience.

We’re very sorry for your experience here at Caves House. We do pride ourselves on our relaxed family atmosphere and great service. We make no room for any lapse in customer service and we will be following up this matter. We are reviewing our customer service training and talking with all staff members involved.

We would very much like a chance to make amends, please contact us directly at reception@ychh.com.au if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Kindest Regards,
Kirstie Pallier

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for breakfast on a Sunday morning. 30 minutes later still didn't even have our drinks and gave up waiting. Wasn't even busy and the staff couldn't have cared less. You don't mind these things if staff at least pretend to care, but I think over 30 minutes in a dining room with less than 10 people in it is ridiculous. Never again.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Hello Chris,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for not getting back to you sooner. Caves House is now under new Management and we have a fresh new outlook and energy. We wish to invite you back for a fresh experience.

We’re very sorry for your experience here at Caves House. We do pride ourselves on our relaxed family atmosphere and great service. We make no room for any lapse in customer service and we will be following up this matter. We are reviewing our customer service training and talking with all staff members involved.
We have passed on your feedback to our Chef and we have in place new equipment and training to rectify any issues reoccurring.

We would very much like a chance to make amends, please contact us directly at reception@ychh.com.au if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Kindest Regards,

Kirstie Pallier
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a really beautiful old hotel. We had a lovely corner room with a spa and a small lounge area.
We arrived on a Wednesday evening and unfortunately the Twilight Market was in full swing and it was very difficult to find someone to assist us to check in. We did take the opportunity to go to the market, which was lovely. The live entertainment was good too.
We were able to walk to the Caves and also to Yallingup Beach where there were a couple of other options for meals.
I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are well worth the extra money. This hotel is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LSC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at Caves House Hotel.

It's great to see you have noticed the excellent value we strive to offer for all of our heritage listed hotel rooms.

Our Twilight Market will be kicking off again over the warmer months, however, we will be taking your constructive feedback on board and will strive to offer more service to assist our hotel guests upon check-in after 4pm.

We look forward to welcoming you at Caves House Hotel for your next stay.

Kindest Regards,

Kirstie Pallier
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just got home from a weekend away at yallingup and can not wait to go back. Stayed in Room 1 Luxury spa suite at Caves House. It was beautiful and would highly recommend it. The room was very spacious and warm, the king bed divine and the spa bath had amazing views out to yallingup beach. The room was clean, fresh and had well appointed decor. We had dinner in the restaurant on saturday night, we were given a great table next to the fire. The food was delicious and the service was great, all staff through out our stay were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend others to stay here and will be booking again. The hotel is close to everything but secluded enough to be able relax.

Room Tip: Room 1 Luxury Spa Suite is a must, Spacious and beautiful. Spa with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holysezballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YCHH, Guest Relations Manager at Caves House Hotel Yallingup, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Caves House Hotel, Yallingup.

I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the perks of the Luxury Spa Suite, a very "in-demand" room.

It's great to hear you will be returning to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you on your next stay!

Kindest Regards,

Kirstie Pallier
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.9 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.5 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
234 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yallingup Forest Resort
Yallingup Forest Resort
#6 of 13 in Yallingup
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves House Hotel Yallingup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves House Hotel Yallingup

Address: 18 Yallingup Beach Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia (Formerly Caves House Hotel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range: £78 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caves House Hotel Yallingup 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caves House Hotel is a heritage listed iconic pub known for its vibrant atmosphere. The hotel rooms are beautifully refurbished with some overlooking the extensive 4.5 Hectare gardens or ocean glimpses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Caves House Hotel Yallingup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caves House Hotel Yallingup Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing