We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandeliers on Abbey
Ranked #7 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I first stayed at Chandeliers for our wedding back in January 2008 and absolutely loved it, which is why we returned this time to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed this time & will not be returning to Chandeliers.

- Our biggest gripe was the number of spiders in the rooms and clearly established spiderwebs (including one in the timber handrail of the lounge; which makes you question how well they really clean the place between guests...); the majority of the spiders were Daddy Long Legs however I did have the misfortune of coming across a massive Huntsmen spider on the wardrobe wall behind our bed on our final morning - not the kind of fright I need at 8 months pregnant!! Furthermore, we've stayed at many different places around the Margaret River region and we've never experienced spiders like that anywhere else, so the fact that it is in a rural setting is no excuse

- The drain in the shower was blocked, which meant that several dead spiders and a dead cockroach floated around our feet for every shower for the three days we were there (the water would eventually drain away, but so slowly that the floating bits would settle on the floor, rather than emptying down the drain)

- The driveway definitely needs work as our car (a 2012 Mazda 6) regularly struggled to maintain traction on the first part of the driveway

- I rated the service as poor, as we were contacted by the owners on our way down to tell us that the toaster had been broken but that they would bring a new one by in the morning, unfortunately we never saw the toaster & heard nothing more from the owners. If they weren't able to replace it as promised, a simple phone call or note on our door would have sufficed. It wasn't a big deal to us, but it mean't that we didn't use any of the loaf of bread provided.

- And a suggestion for further improvements would be to add curtains or sliding doors to section off the bedroom from the bathroom & living areas as it was very bright from early in the morning, which made it impossible for me to really enjoy a sleep in

In summary, while the building and decor itself was lovely (fabulous rainwater shower heads, rocking chairs on the front balcony, large comfy bed etc) for us the experience was really tainted by the negatives, and given the price you pay per night, I really don't think it was acceptable. And there are a LOT of other accommodation options if you're willing to pay that much!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WicketK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunsborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Had another wonderful couple of days at Chandeliers.

Although it is only a 10 minute drive from our house, it seems worlds away.

One of the best bathrooms I have seen and the beds are very comfortable.

We always plan to get out and about but find it hard to leave the wonderful cottages

Thanks again Jodie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a getaway to the southwest for our anniversary this July and I chose the Plunge Retreat, the most expensive, specifically for the plunge pool on the decking. Now if this is not intended for use during the winter months, then what are we paying the extra for and why are you not told that? When we arrived, keen for a frolic in the outdoor pool, the water was brown and dirty, surrounded by cobwebs and only lukewarm. I was most disappointed. So we had a spa which was great but so-called underfloor heating consisted of one narrow strip, 99% of the floor being icey cold and no overhead heating. There was a downlight not working over the sink and hotplate, making for a dark corner, sticky patches on the lounge and table and a mouse running around in the lounge. Overall not worth $400 a night!! I suggest you try "Hidden Valley Forest Retreat" down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank NanajanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter break to celebrate our anniversary. The chalets are out of sight from each other but they do overlook the road a little. Inside they are modern and spacious with a great sound system, big TV and an awesome U shaped couch.
The fridge was stocked with fresh milk and OJ, plus some eggs and butter. The pantry was stocked with tea and coffee and some muesli. The coffee was only instant however, and given the location some ground local coffee would be a nicer touch.
I love how the wardrobe area is located in a separate area behind the bedroom making our exploding suitcase mess hidden out of sight. A slight oversight of no dishwasher liquid meant our dishes accumulated a bit but there were enough to last the three days!
The bed is extremely comfortable! We had a really good few nights sleep!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chompchompblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a wonderful spot to get away from it all [especially after a stressful lead up to a wedding!] - very private, very luxurious and totally self contained. You don't have to leave if you don't want to! The bed is very comfortable as is the couch! We loved the plunge style spa too and the double showers. The bits and pieces like coffee and cereal and bread etc provided are a lovely touch too - we enjoyed our muesli on the deck looking out at the calming scenery. Absolutely loved it here, have very fond memories of our honeymoon here and we would love to go back some day soon... there's just the price tag to be mindful of - but for a special weekend or week its definitely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We recently enjoyed a few days at Chandeliers on Abbey post Christmas. We are in the retail industry and were in much need of some serious rural relaxation and seclusion, but with all the trimmings.

Chandeliers fitted the bill perfectly. Our Forest Retreat was beautifully appointed with great attention to detail in every room - especially love the surround sound!

The service from the owners was fantastic. We left the city later than expected and on the way telephoned to check out dinner options, we were arriving quite late and did not want to travel into town so they organised a fantastic gourmet dinner hamper to be ready in our Retreat on arrival - complete with table set-up and candles - bliss!

We have stayed at many luxury self contained homes, retreats over the years and have never encountered such personal touches on arrival. A personal note from the owners, local paper, maps, fresh flowers from the gardens, complimentary milk, bread, butter, eggs etc...they even set the music channel on wafting through the retreat and set mood lighting and air conditioning, all to suit our arrival time. Sure beats arriving at a place struggling to find a light switch and with a few uhu milks in the fridge!

We read the comment from a previous guest about the road and are bemused.
We had no problem with the gravel roads at Chandeliers. We have a city car/luxury sedan and a 4WD. Having visited the South many times we always take our 4WD as most of the places that we like to stay or visit, some little out of the way gems and others well known, 5 star wineries all have either part or full gravel roads...bitumen is not the norm and hey we're in the bush, isnt that what we are escaping to???

We really enjoyed our time out and would recommend to those couples wanting quality luxury accommodation and privacy in a great location near wineries, beaches andd restaurants. If you are looking for a busy hotel, concierge, full time reception and neighbours a metre away, this is not for you........

As for service, I left a shirt and phone charger behind, it was delivered to us at home 2 days later by express post, no charge, with a thank you note for staying..... Say no more!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debg1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Great secluded setting, beautiful fauna and convenient for beaches and wineries. But for the price it fell short on service. As requested in the room notes, we phoned to arrange the room servicing and it took 2 calls, 2 SMS and 3 hours to get a response, and then was it an SMS. We never got the additional milk and coffee we requested even though the room notes said they were available on request. For the price it was a surprise to be given instant coffee, especially when the area has its own excellent local coffee roaster that could be showcased. And for a site that bills itself as a romantic getaway, the atmosphere is somewhat tarnished by being woken at 6am every morning because of lack of curtains to shut out strong morning light.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
11.7 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
5.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.7 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.4 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandeliers on Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandeliers on Abbey

Property: Chandeliers on Abbey
Address: Abbeys Farm Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Margaret River wine region, you'll find Western Australia's most exclusive luxury adult retreat, Chandeliers on Abbey. Chandeliers on Abbey offers unparalleled privacy amidst the surrounding beauty of the National Forest. With breathtaking views of the rolling hills and pastures of Yallingup Siding, this 55-acre property is the home of three unique retreats each impeccably designed and appointed. Surrounded by two internationally renowned wineries, Aravina and Abbey Vale, Chandeliers is only a few minutes drive from the powdery soft sands of local beaches, award-winning tourist attractions and the eclectic townships of Yallingup and Dunsborough. Reenergise your soul, bask in the beauty and awaken your passion as you experience a haven like no other, Chandeliers on Abbey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Chandeliers on Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandeliers On Abbey Hotel Yallingup
Chandeliers On Abbey Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing