We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a relaxing and amazing weekend my friend and I had.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empire Spa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a relaxing and amazing weekend my friend and I had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

A fabuluous getaway with my best friend was what we needed and were both very fortunate to share it at Empire. The 'Opulence Package' at the Spa was breath taking and we can't wait to come back xxx

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    68
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
244
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Such an idyllic spot. Well maintained, clean and very friendly staff. The breakfast is well worth getting out of bed for and the location is a perfect base to explore the wine region and beaches.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendEscapee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

We spent three extremely relaxing days at Empire Retreat. The hotel only has about ten rooms and is extremely quiet - if you want to relax, this is the place! As soon as you enter to a very nice, low key welcome, we immediately felt relaxed.

We treated ourselves to a luxury villa. Not really a villa, but an extremely lovely, large room. Massive bed, jacuzzi, outdoor (private) shower, lounge area, small kitchen and dining table - it's all open plan except for the toilet. All extremely high quality and tasteful. There is a large terrace with beautiful views over the vineyard with a day bed - it's very well designed and totally private.

Breakfast is good, service very nice. There is no service after about 5pm, so if you don't want to drive, then bring food, or order the platter (pricey at $80 though). Actually the whole area is very quiet, so don't expect late nights!

The public areas are also lovely - very tasteful and peaceful. There is a small sauna and a jacuzzi. Large grounds to wander around, so it was a shame there was no pool with all that space. That would be my main criticism.

Activities: wine tours (Bushtucker is good), Yallingup beach is beautiful, Bunker Bay beach is also beautiful and has a great beach restaurant. There is also a spa on site, but it is relatively expensive ($120 for a one hour massage) although we didn't have a look, so it might be great. And if you just want to chill out in your room, then there is a large selection of DVD's, ipod player etc.

Beautiful place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

FIFTH time here and the place we chose to get married...

After visiting in 2007 for the first time we knew this was a special place. We again re-visited in 2008 for wedding pre-prep and then again with all our family and friends in 2009 for a four day wedding celebration with a follow up visit for our one year anniversary in 2010!

Not only us but all our family and friends fell in love with Empire and all too hope to return one day.

Empire is a hotel like no other you will have stayed in before, it feels more like a country home with such a laid back and relaxed feel that you can't help but fall in love with it, as we did.

I'm sure if you chose to visit or even decided to get married there the Empire team would no doubt make your experience / you feel as special as we do every time we visit.

We wish it could be our home.

Adam&Hannah

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pert
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Beautiful Grounds, Top Notch Staff and Accomodation.

My only hesitation on giving Empire 5/5 for all :

For the price of the room, I think that service should be available late in the evening. Whilst understanably it is a small independent establishment, the inability to order more wine & food past the reception closing (1700) or even to get a replacement iron (mine was broken), caused a little frustration. There was an 'emergency' contact number but I wasnt convinced that wearing creased shorts to dinner was in that bracket :)
Whilst the rooms, and resort/grounds are stunning, I felt that a pool/lounging area would encourage people to explore the area around the resort more. That small space before/after lunch/dinner to relax, rather than having to plan where to head 'out' too.

I did know all of this before going, hence it not being a criticism and thoroughly enjoyed by stay, however on reflection this would be my only suggestion for improvement.

The Day Spa was excellent, treatment list was impressive.

For anyone staying here, I would suggest not heading to Margaret River (Town) to find dinner, as there are about 4/5 places, three of which are bars/pubs. Bussleton and Dunsborough yielded far more results.

Beaches of Geographe Bay are simply stunning. Seeing a Pod of Dolphines, pup's included, pretty much made my day :)

Get off the main drags, dont be scared to explore tracks, and new access points to beaches. The surrounding area is truly beautiful. The weekend was way too short, but I felt totally refreshed and will and already have, recommended Empire to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LegalAlien_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We spent a fabulous 5 days leading up to New Year. The staff could not have been friendlier and the breakfast was simply wonderful. It was high class without the stiff formality. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacktonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Had a wonderful weekend, everything at the retrerat was as advertised if not better. The spa treaments were amazing and put you in a state of complete relaxation.
We will definitley be back, the palce to go and totally relax in a beautiful part of the South West.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.6 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.6 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Spa Retreat

Property: Empire Spa Retreat
Address: 1958 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Empire Spa Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a world of luxury and seclusion like no other…Empire Spa Retreat is nestled within 265 acres of tranquil undulating pastures, undisturbed bushland and the Empire Estate vineyard. With 10 spacious, stylishly appointed suites, this luxury hosted accommodation ensures complete sanctuary from the frenetic pace of urban life. During your stay immerse yourself in the indulgence of Empire Spa. This state-of-the-art, purpose built spa is designed to pamper your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, MrandMrsSmith and Ebookers so you can book your Empire Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Spa Retreat Hotel Yallingup
Empire Retreat Hotel
Empire Spa Retreat Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing