We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable, but somewhat disappointed!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empire Spa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but somewhat disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The breakfast is absolutely outstanding. The decor is beautiful! But the location is far away from main area of wineries and caves. Our room was disappointing as it was in the main building above kitchen. Got very noisy when they were preparing breakfast. All room facilities adequate, but bathroom aged. Expensive! They have a beautiful outdoor spa area but the water was grosse with scum. Yucky! We also stayed in Merribrook retreat which in my opinion is a far superior retreat.

Room Tip: They also have bungalows, which would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review :)

I have given all my staff a stern update with the kitchen noise and state of the Jacuzzi which is now all of a wonderful high standard!
We are about to start upgrading the farmhouse rooms so they will be of a higher standard and more modern- I agree with you the old house is a bit dated and in need of a facelift!

We hope you still enjoyed your stay and the beautiful surrounds of the southwest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    68
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
243
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in a luxury villa for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility. Our room was lovely and spacious and our deck overlooked the bush - a great spot for morning coffee or afternoon wine.
The log fire ready to start was a bonus on a chilly night and added to the romantic charm. The pre ordered gourmet hamper was a great start to our trip, and there was plenty of food to last a couple of days. The quality of the produce was excellent. The room just lacked adequate cutlery to make the most of it.
The service was good, and we always found our room spotless after we went for breakfast. The reception staff were very helpful in recommending local places to eat and organising transfers.
The breakfast was good but a bit repetitive.
The highlight was by far the spa, we enjoyed a treatment and honestly it was probably the best that we have had ( compared to multiple other 5 star resort spas in Aus and abroad).
We felt that for the price tag several things needed to be improved- a poor excuse for an ironing board, an old crusty iron that pours out salt when filled with water, minimal cutlery or sharp knives in the kitchenette. We would definitely come back and we hope these improvements can be made.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RN911_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thankyou for your review :)

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The girls at the spa are AMAZING!!
I will definitely take into account the lack of cutlery supplied with your platter and in the kitchenette and I have already updated the ironing boards and checked the irons.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The service was polite but hardly exceptional, I can't say they went out of their way.

The rooms by Australian standards were large but then so was the price tag, and I can't say I was breath taken.
The grounds themselves were nice, the view from the deck was lovely, and the breakfast was enjoyable but not extensive.

Overall for the price I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieeuro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I'm so sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. I will especially make sure the staff will be more accommodating in the future.
I trust you still enjoyed your stay and the surrounds of the south west and thank you for taking the time to write us a review

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The villa was fabulous! Who would have thought an outdoor shower could be so enjoyable? Lovely aspect from the room. Great breakfast in the dining room each morning. Really nice staff. Overall, it was a very peaceful escape from reality just a stones throw from the wineries, beaches, galleries and other top spots like Boranyup Forest. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The villas were great. We stayed in number 10 and it felt quite secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NP3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review :)
We're happy you had such a great stay with us and hopefully we will see you again some time in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and we were delighted. We woke up to the sound of birds singing every day. We were close to dunsborough where the rest of our family were staying, but set back from town and the roads enough to not hear a sound. We made use of the breakfast most days, which was quite nice. There were a number of homely features such as a well stocked movie selection, and fresh muffins and biscuits daily. Our room was lovely with our own private deck, outdoor shower, king sized bed and generous bathroom. the room also had a box of essentials which included a hairdryer bug spray and much more! I was treated to a spa session (wrap, facial, massage)! It was heaven! I would highly recommend the Empire Spa Retreat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Te-Neele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Te-Neele thank you so much for your fabulous review! I'm so happy you both had such a great stay with us and look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future :)

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We checked in few a few nights relaxation after our honeymoon having booked one of the packages. It included $450 worth of spa treatments, which we used to get a 2.5hr couples pamper.

The staff at the day spa were friendly and very skilled at their job. Its not often I ever leave a massage satisfied ... but Jo had magic elbows. Happy to say I am knot free! Worth every cent!

Lucky the massage was so good, because the bed was very firm (like a futon) and the pillows kept sliding into the crevase at the bed head.

Change that, and it would be a 5 star review!

The breakfast provided was basic but quote nice. Served by a lovely woman who comes over and has a chat each morning with a smile.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FredericoHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review Frederico :)
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your spa treatments- the girls are amazing!
I will be sure to look into the bed situation and hopefully when you stay with us again you will enjoy a good nights rest too.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and fell in love with the place. The furnishings in the main house are very cool and we loved our room - even though it was the least 'luxurious' (cheapest) it was still large and stylishly decorated. We felt the decor in the bathroom was a bit of a mismatch as it seemed a bit dated, but this really wasn't an issue overall. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and we thought the home-made muffins left out in the kitchen were a nice touch. We are definitely planning to return but hopefully with a group of friends and for a longer period of time to take advantage of all the facilities on offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank besbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your great review!
We are really glad you had such a relaxing time staying with us- its so easy to in these tranquil surrounds.
The warming original farmhouse will be going through some updates shortly which will make the rooms even more enjoyable!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.6 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.6 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Spa Retreat

Property: Empire Spa Retreat
Address: 1958 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Empire Spa Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a world of luxury and seclusion like no other…Empire Spa Retreat is nestled within 265 acres of tranquil undulating pastures, undisturbed bushland and the Empire Estate vineyard. With 10 spacious, stylishly appointed suites, this luxury hosted accommodation ensures complete sanctuary from the frenetic pace of urban life. During your stay immerse yourself in the indulgence of Empire Spa. This state-of-the-art, purpose built spa is designed to pamper your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Empire Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Spa Retreat Hotel Yallingup
Empire Retreat Hotel
Empire Spa Retreat Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing