We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Empire Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empire Spa Retreat
Ranked #2 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fantastic in all areas. The staff were lovely and very obliging, breakfast was to die for! The inside common areas were beautiful, wood fire was the best.
Our accommodation was modern, clean and well maintained.We had a yummy gourmet hamper which was made up with excellent produce. Fantastic comfortable King size bed. The room was made up and spotless each time we returned from breakfast. May be a little bit expensive would be the only negative comment. Would definately recommend to anyone that can afford the price tag & contemplating a relaxing stress free getaway amongst the birds and mother nature. Great wine and I experienced top quality Spa (2) treatments although unfortunately my friend was not happy with her massage and felt the particular staff member struggled to deliver. Would definately return if can afford it.

Room Tip: My girlfriend and I had a deluxe suite with balcony which was ideal for sitting out on while drinkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks for you amazing review!
Glad that all your needs were accommodated for.
I'm surprised about your friends spa experience as normally we only have rave reviews on the treatments there! I did make the spa manager aware of this though and hopefully more communication is all that is required.

Again thanks and glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    71
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
257
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in one of their luxury villas. It was luxury, close to duns borough and close to Yallingup! Perfect to look around, relax and hide away. The villa's are next foo to each other but when you look out you can't see any other building!
Beautiful setting!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and could unwind and relax :)

Hope to see you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The breakfast is absolutely outstanding. The decor is beautiful! But the location is far away from main area of wineries and caves. Our room was disappointing as it was in the main building above kitchen. Got very noisy when they were preparing breakfast. All room facilities adequate, but bathroom aged. Expensive! They have a beautiful outdoor spa area but the water was grosse with scum. Yucky! We also stayed in Merribrook retreat which in my opinion is a far superior retreat.

Room Tip: They also have bungalows, which would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review :)

I have given all my staff a stern update with the kitchen noise and state of the Jacuzzi which is now all of a wonderful high standard!
We are about to start upgrading the farmhouse rooms so they will be of a higher standard and more modern- I agree with you the old house is a bit dated and in need of a facelift!

We hope you still enjoyed your stay and the beautiful surrounds of the southwest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in a luxury villa for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility. Our room was lovely and spacious and our deck overlooked the bush - a great spot for morning coffee or afternoon wine.
The log fire ready to start was a bonus on a chilly night and added to the romantic charm. The pre ordered gourmet hamper was a great start to our trip, and there was plenty of food to last a couple of days. The quality of the produce was excellent. The room just lacked adequate cutlery to make the most of it.
The service was good, and we always found our room spotless after we went for breakfast. The reception staff were very helpful in recommending local places to eat and organising transfers.
The breakfast was good but a bit repetitive.
The highlight was by far the spa, we enjoyed a treatment and honestly it was probably the best that we have had ( compared to multiple other 5 star resort spas in Aus and abroad).
We felt that for the price tag several things needed to be improved- a poor excuse for an ironing board, an old crusty iron that pours out salt when filled with water, minimal cutlery or sharp knives in the kitchenette. We would definitely come back and we hope these improvements can be made.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RN911_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thankyou for your review :)

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The girls at the spa are AMAZING!!
I will definitely take into account the lack of cutlery supplied with your platter and in the kitchenette and I have already updated the ironing boards and checked the irons.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The service was polite but hardly exceptional, I can't say they went out of their way.

The rooms by Australian standards were large but then so was the price tag, and I can't say I was breath taken.
The grounds themselves were nice, the view from the deck was lovely, and the breakfast was enjoyable but not extensive.

Overall for the price I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieeuro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I'm so sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. I will especially make sure the staff will be more accommodating in the future.
I trust you still enjoyed your stay and the surrounds of the south west and thank you for taking the time to write us a review

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The villa was fabulous! Who would have thought an outdoor shower could be so enjoyable? Lovely aspect from the room. Great breakfast in the dining room each morning. Really nice staff. Overall, it was a very peaceful escape from reality just a stones throw from the wineries, beaches, galleries and other top spots like Boranyup Forest. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The villas were great. We stayed in number 10 and it felt quite secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NP3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review :)
We're happy you had such a great stay with us and hopefully we will see you again some time in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and we were delighted. We woke up to the sound of birds singing every day. We were close to dunsborough where the rest of our family were staying, but set back from town and the roads enough to not hear a sound. We made use of the breakfast most days, which was quite nice. There were a number of homely features such as a well stocked movie selection, and fresh muffins and biscuits daily. Our room was lovely with our own private deck, outdoor shower, king sized bed and generous bathroom. the room also had a box of essentials which included a hairdryer bug spray and much more! I was treated to a spa session (wrap, facial, massage)! It was heaven! I would highly recommend the Empire Spa Retreat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te-Neele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireRetreat, General Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Te-Neele thank you so much for your fabulous review! I'm so happy you both had such a great stay with us and look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future :)

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
320 reviews
22.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
148 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
438 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Spa Retreat

Property: Empire Spa Retreat
Address: 1958 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Empire Spa Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a world of luxury and seclusion like no other…Empire Spa Retreat is nestled within 265 acres of tranquil undulating pastures, undisturbed bushland and the Empire Estate vineyard. With 10 spacious, stylishly appointed suites, this luxury hosted accommodation ensures complete sanctuary from the frenetic pace of urban life. During your stay immerse yourself in the indulgence of Empire Spa. This state-of-the-art, purpose built spa is designed to pamper your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Empire Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Spa Retreat Hotel Yallingup
Empire Retreat Hotel
Empire Spa Retreat Yallingup, Margaret River Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing