We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment with water views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esplanade Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment on the first floor for two nights and had a great time. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. We spent most of our time in the large living / kitchen area or out on the large deck overlooking the marina.

The main bedroom was large with a very small balcony and also had a huge ensuite. The third bedroom was quite small with a single bed but had amazing views across the water. The second bathroom was quite small but did the job.

We didn't use the facitilites but they all looked very nice. There is a sauna, gym, outdoor pool and spa on the ground floor.

The apartments are in a great location. It is a short walk to the local shopping strip with restaurants and take away shops. I would recommend staying here.

Make sure you visit the hot water beach - and yes it is actually really hot!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little bit more to get water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Well we arrived unbooked and found this wonderful hotel besides the ocean. We were greeted with a wonderful lady who gave us splendid value for ocean facing 2 bedroom with very large deck and big living and dining space. Our stay there was great and we enjoyed sunset dinner from our deck and next morning breakfast.
Very close to all restaurant and specially the ones high rated in trip adviser.

Overall best value for money with great views and excellent location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Four adults shared one of the two bedroom apatments at the Esplanade for 4 nights in November 2012. Great location, comfortable beds and awesome deck overlooking the marina. Each bedroom is ensuite and there is an easy to use washing machine in the apartment. Great open plan living area giving us plenty of space. Love the Clipsal system used for lighting! Only small mention is the the kitchen could do with a few more utensils (we missed a cork screw and a colander), but all in all a great little place. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.
Blonde restaurant downstairs was convenient and served great food. Salt and Squid both stumbling distance too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor, Room 116. Visiting with my husband, daughter and son-in-law and new baby aged 3 weeks. The apartment was very spacious and well equipped. The furniture and fittings were modern and in good condition. Equipment included a washer/dryer and clothes airer which came in very handy with the little chap on board! The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen crisp and clean, as was the cot and linen provided. The management had kindly turned on the heating in the apartment before our arrival knowing we had a baby with us which was greatly appreciated. Underfloor heating in the kitchen area and bathrooms made getting up in the mornings a pleasant experience as did the showers in the en suites which had plenty of power behind them.There were several floor to ceiling windows in the apartment which took advantage of the fantastic views over the town and harbour and we had a superb balcony/deck with a full sized table and chairs. On our first day the heavens opened but luckily there was an undercover car park which enabled us to get grandson into the vehicle in his car seat without getting wet through. The management were very helpful giving us advice on local attractions and providing us with further information when we requested. On the whole, a lovely clean well maintained apartment - just two small complaints - better Wi-Fi connection and perhaps a wider screen TV for those who rely on this for their evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Try get Room 116 (2 bedroom) for excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment. It was lovely and clean and had great amenities. The shower was great, had lots of power. The only thing the place needs is more mirrors - 1 in the bathroom is just not enough! We ended up using the oven front as a full length mirror!!!! Otherwise, highly recommend. It is in a GREAT location, right across the road from the harbour and play ground for children, restaurants, and just a walk to Buffalo Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosso1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

These very comfortable apartments are right in the centre of Whitianga. From the two bedroom apartment we rented for two nights we had the most glorious view over the harbour and the bay. Surprisingly quiet for their central position, the apartments have everything you could possibly want for a two night stay. Parking off street, a swimming pool, gym and spa were available as well as full cooking facilities. We chose to walk fifty metres up the road to have our breakfast at the cafe and in the evening we had a most superb meal at the restaurant attached to the apartments on the ground floor. Just across the road at the jetty is the pickup point for the various different boat tours and the ferry terminal. Management were very courteous and helpful and the cost very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jennykain255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Incredibly comfortable is the only way to describe our very spacious and immaculate one bedroom apartment on the first floor. It had everything we could possibly need - full kitchen, good size dining table and chairs, comfortable sofa, two TVs with loads of channels, washing machine, rack to dry clothes on, electric blanket etc etc, and was well heated. It also had two balconies. The apartments are very conveniently located. The only thing we lacked was a view being on the first floor at the back of the building over the car park. But everything else more than made up for this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildflower68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Park Apartments
Marina Park Apartments
#7 of 25 in Whitianga
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sovereign Pier on the Waterways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Apartments

Address: 8 Esplanade, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £106 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplanade Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Apartments are only a stone's throw away from the Whitianga town centre, beach and harbour. Guests have the choice of modern one, two or three bedroom apartments, with en suites, open plan living and access to resort style facilities including spa, swimming pool . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esplanade Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing