We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplanade Apartments
Orewa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Location, Location, Location.
This was our third visit to the Esplanade apartments and look you coudn't find a better place to stay anywhere in NZ. Great location, great apartments, very friendly hosts.
Park the car and walk to everything the town has to offer.
The Blonde restaurant in the same building is just great, great food and excellent service.
The gym and sauna was adequate and the outside pool was very refreshing.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jontyorewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed her with my friend from Kerikeri on holiday visiting her, had a harbour view room which was excellent. Clean tidy and beautiful views could not fault our stay here. Pool fair size also found this to be clean also the spa. Did not have a problem with hosts found them to be really helpful,also ate at Blondes didn't have problem there either as stated by a previous reviewer. Close to beach, ferry and restaurants. I would stay here again, the only draw back was I have travelled the world and have never had to pay for my stay at registration only when leaving.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 7 month old child for two nights. Apartments are in a great location, close to buffalo beach, ferry, restaurants and main street shops. We had the smallest configuration two bedroom apartment but still a very decent size with lounge room separating both rooms. Bathroom was big, kitchen had all facilities including oven and cooktop. Sky tv in room was great. Had read other reviews citing noise as a problem. We had an apartment that faced onto the pool (a bit higher than the pool level). There was some minor noise but nothing that stopped me having a granny nap during the day. Pool shuts at 8pm anyway. Our room was very well sound insulated and we never heard any other guests. I note the most recent reviewer had a issue with the hosts - in my experience we found our host Kelvin to be great and a real character. Three main downsides: no air con means that the rooms on the north side (pool side) do get warm during the day but ocean breeze at night does cool things down quickly; wifi is not free when it should be given the high season cost; and our bed was also too soft and saggy for our liking. These things are why this gets 4 stars and not 5. However, on balance the room, location and service mean that I would stay here again. But get air con please!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were staying in the penthouse apartment over early January 2013.
Our initial thoughts of the place were quite good. Nice large apartment, clean and tidy beautiful views.
However as our stay progressed we were harrassed by the hosts when returning to our room late at night, they must have had some nightmare guests, but forgot that we were not them.

So our paying guests that arrived late were interogated and told that they were the ones causing trouble the night before... but they were not even in the country that day.

They were so put off by this treatment and decided not to stay costing us extra $$

The hosts make no effort to know who is who in their complex and if you are under 60 beware you will be treated like children, they make it very clear you are lucky to stay here.

We had them peering up at us from the room below. Checking on us as we had 4 guests visiting from another hotel. They were then banging on our door telling us our music was too loud (Keep in mind we had a music channel playing from the TV that is not loud at all) they said they were trying to call the phone in the room but it was turned off???

What a nightmare, this totally ruined our stay and made us so uncomfortable we found ourselves not even in the room most of the time. And we were a group of 3 couples in our mid to late 30's.

The bedrooms have no aircon so trying to sleep past sunrise is impossible as the sun just beams in through the blinds.

The shower leaks and pools water in the corner, and you dont get any new towels until after your 4th night?? a bit bizzaar I thought.

The Spa pool is dirty and the main pool is not maintained and not heated as advertised.

Do not stay here if you are planning to enjoy the room the hosts will not make it easy.

And do not eat at the Blonde restaurant below the service again treats you like you are lucky to be there and the food is below average but priced quite high. I would reccomend Taste on the main road, just excellent all round.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RytonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here in December for 3 nights after coming to Whitianga for a friends wedding. The apartments are modern, clean, well equipped and perfect for a short stay. The apartment was bright and spacious with great facilities- the bathroom was lovely- in particular the walk in shower. The only downside is that the bathroom compared to the rest of the apartment was slightly dark!

We had real problems with the Wifi from day one- ended up only getting a days use out of it despite paying for 3 days and once it was 'fixed' it was still intermittent.

The apartments are ideally located for the centre of town for all the shops and restaurants as well as The Lost Springs thermal pools (highly recommended if you are staying in Whitianga!). The price is fantastic for the facilities and space you get in a peak time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
333 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a modern, spacious, well-equipped 2 bedroom apartment.
The location is great - near the beach, restaurants and shops and just across the road from the ferry.
There is plenty of undercover parking.
The only real downside is that there is no airconditioning - our first night was a little hot (mid-December). I imagine, however, that most of the time this is not an issue as really hot weather is not common here.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment on the first floor for two nights and had a great time. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. We spent most of our time in the large living / kitchen area or out on the large deck overlooking the marina.

The main bedroom was large with a very small balcony and also had a huge ensuite. The third bedroom was quite small with a single bed but had amazing views across the water. The second bathroom was quite small but did the job.

We didn't use the facitilites but they all looked very nice. There is a sauna, gym, outdoor pool and spa on the ground floor.

The apartments are in a great location. It is a short walk to the local shopping strip with restaurants and take away shops. I would recommend staying here.

Make sure you visit the hot water beach - and yes it is actually really hot!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little bit more to get water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Apartments

Property: Esplanade Apartments
Address: 8 Esplanade, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplanade Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Apartments are only a stone's throw away from the Whitianga town centre, beach and harbour. Guests have the choice of modern one, two or three bedroom apartments, with en suites, open plan living and access to resort style facilities including spa, swimming pool . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Esplanade Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing