We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pipi Dune B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pipi Dune B&B
Ranked #5 of 41 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Legit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Alright, so I am writing this review not even one night into it. A little back story, my friend and I have been staying in hostels, and found this property by accident when all other accommodations near hot water beach were sold out or too expensive.

First, we arrive and Vern (owner/point of contact) has all these maps and recommendations for activities all laid out for us. He was super nice and such a fun guy to talk to. When we got back later, he went over the facility, including breakfast choices (which looked and I'm sure will be fantastic.).

Now for the house itself. Couldn't be more clean, from sheets to carpets and towels and bathrooms and showers, excellent. Beds. I stayed in the double room, my friend in the queen with adjoining bathroom, both comfortable and zero complaints.

Food nearby ranged from sea food to pub cuisine. All seemed good, but we landed at this pub that had a pretty solid burger and cheap (ish) beer.

I really don't know what else to say. I don't normally leave reviews, but this place was so rad, Vern so friendly and cool! . I would definitely not hesitate to come back.

Hope it helps!

Room Tip: If you are friends staying together, the two twins is nice and it has a sliding door going out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
139
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aussie In Canberra
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at Pipi Dune B&B with another couple who were travelling with us. We chose the two rooms with ensuites and used the third bedroom for our extras. The hosts, Vern and Joan were very welcoming and provided everything one could possibly need, the lounge/kitchen is well stocked and very comfortable. Breakfast to order for the morning was served by Joan together with great coffee, all very good.
Close to the centre of town, easy to find, parking off the street.
We can highly recommend Pipi Dune to anyone looking for comfortable accommodation in Whitianga.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stamptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was our most enjoyable bed and breakfast stay on our trip in New Zealand. The room, while a little on the small side, had a private bath and entrance and was in new condition. Breakfast to order was ready for us each morning at the time of our choosing. It was delicious and there was cookies and tea available every day. Everything was very clean and the common area had a kitchen/bar with an attached comfortable living room with big screen TV and no-charge Wi-Fi. When we mentioned that we were going to "Hot Water Beach" (a nearby attraction) Vern appeared with a small shovel, large bucket, and beach towels, the essentials for making and cooling down your own Jacuzzi on the beach. Both Vern and Joan are exceptional hosts and will do their very best to ensure your stay is the very best!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csprings99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Thank you to Joan and Vern for a most hospitable and friendly welcome. Immaculate accommodation and a great breakfast. Location is just 20 minutes walk into the Witty City town centre with lots of cafés and restaurants, shops and the boat trips. About 3 minutes by car and plenty of parking too.
Easy to find accommodation, very peaceful setting and all mod cons.
Free wifi throughout and tea/coffee available in a spacious lounge.
You could certainly do a whole lot worse than the lovely Pipi Dune.

Room Tip: 3 rooms ( two doubles and a single) all of which have individual external access so no real decision...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatandAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were welcomed by cheery faces and great conversation by Vern and Joan. They made sure that us and our children were settled in properly and had everything we needed. It was a hot, sunny weekend and so it was lovely to stay in a place that was cool when we needed a break from the sun. It's only a short walk to the beach and such a family friendly area. I'm heavily pregnant so it was such a blessing to have comfortable beds and they offered me as many pillows as I needed! Lovely linen provided and breakfast met everyones liking. Thank you so much for such a great weekend away - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorelleRenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were welcomed with tea, french press coffee, biscuits, and smiles...all the comforts of home! Breakfasts were delicious, cooked by Joan in her kitchen upstairs and delivered by Vern to the guest area downstairs via a fun little lift/elevator. (There was also a kitchen downstairs for guest use.) I loved the sliding glass doors and veranda just outside our room, planted with tropical flowers. Vern and Joan were so helpful and gracious, we felt like we were with friends. They went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We appreciated the use of the washer and dryer while we were there; a cooler, beach towels, bucket, and spade for Hot Water Beach; lemon curd and New Zealand honey; directions to the passenger ferry and advice on weather. We highly recommend Pipi Dune!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbrook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The owners are very friendly, welcoming and talkative. The house is beautiful - downstairs for the guest, upstairs for the owners.

The choice of cooked breakfast is great.

The place is very clean and comfortable, the rooms not too big and there is a shared kitchen.

Overall, a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.2 mi away
At Parkland Place
At Parkland Place
#3 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipi Dune B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipi Dune B&B

Property: Pipi Dune B&B
Address: 5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pipi Dune B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipi Dune is a purpose built Bed & Breakfast with separate guest accommodation. Located in a quiet cul de sac and within easy walking distance of pictureque Buffalo Beach, guests can walk along the sand on their way to the town centre with its trendy restaurants and cafes.We have a guest lounge, kitchenette & satellite T.V. Also free of charge is wifi, a BBQ area and off street parking.A cooked breakfast from our menu is served at a time that suits our guests, is inclusive and part of our service. There is a self serve option.We are very happy to offer advice on where to go and what to see in our very scenic part of New Zealand.We provide picnic equipment & spades for Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pipi Dune B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing