We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location on the edge of the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place isn't hard to miss! It is right across the road from the beach and has free water sports equipment to borrow. It is a short walk into Whitianga town and within easy driving distance of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water beach.

Good sized room and clean facilities but we found the shared set up a bit odd...we were in a 2 bedroom shared unit with each unit having a kitchette and shower room rather than communal facilities for the whole hostel. It just seemed a bit like you'd been thrown into a Big Brother house...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We used this as a base when we explored the Coromandels and it was perfect. The rooms are done so that two rooms share a kitchen, lounge area and bathroom. This was ideal as it meant just five of us were using the kitchen and it felt really social too.

The staff were really helpful with great tips of what to see and do - I would definitely recommend New Chums beach and Otama beach if you have a car. The hostel has kayaks you can use and also spades for Hot Water beach.

Our double room cost us $70 per night which was pretty reasonable.

Great spot and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in a double room and shared kitchen and shower with only two more guests, which was very luxurious! Wifi unfortunately only in the small reception, not in the room. Friendly laidback staff. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Although we arrived to atrocious weather after driving from Auckland, On the Beach was a great place to stay. We booked a double room and we were in one of the blocks towards the back with another couple sharing the kitchen and bathroom. It was quiet, away from the road and the room was adequate for our needs. The only drawback would be the lack of soundproofing - there was a gap above the toilet door so we could all hear each other's, err, everything while in the toilet. Aside from that, the kitchen was clean and practical with everything that one would need to self cater, and the lounge had a small tv and DVD player for those nights where you just want a quiet one (although the TV was tiny!)

The manager (whose name escapes me) was really helpful and was always interested in what we had planned and gave us plenty of advice about where to go etc. Overall, a reasonably priced backpacker option for a double room and well placed for some beach action... If only the weather wasn't so awful while we were there!

Room Tip: If travelling in a couple, try for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed my stay in this backpacker. I was in the 10 beds girls dorm and the room was bright, comfortable, spacious and clean with an ensuite bathroom in it.
( There is also other bathrooms located near the room so you don’t have to wait to jump to the shower! ) The bathrooms were all pretty clean but I didn’t like their tiny sinks which were not convenient to brush your teeth and I found the bathroom a bit out of date...
I wasn’t lucky with the weather during my stay in the Coromandel but the localisation of the backpacker is absolutely awesome for summer. It’s right on the beach and 2 minutes drive from town.
A friend of mine was staying in a single room. It was really small, but cheap in comparaison with the price of single rooms in other backpacker. She also had her private table facing the beach outside.
The backpacker is built on different apartments so there is at least 3 communal kitchens and living rooms. ( I am not so sure about the number ).
I really liked the fact that it wasn’t a party backpacker but it was still a great place to socialise and enjoy a few drinks with other travellers. The backpacker is really homy and really well taken care off by the owner. They were both lovely!

I can’t wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhzvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The staff were very friendly and it's in an excellent spot.
There's lot of freebies, and they even upgraded us to ensuite for free as it was so quiet.
A great place all round.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deaduncleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed in a ground floor room, it was apparently a 5 person room but i would feel sorry for the 5th person whose bed is in the living room directly infront of the TV!
The room had its own kitchen and bathroom which was nice as it had pans and everything you needed to cook.
The toilet was okay but not clean and our toilet had poo marks running down the front of it which was gross. Also a lot of the walls and general areas were mucky and looked liked they had been dusted but never actually cleaned. Also the double bed in our room was broken inside on one side, all the spings had gone so you bum and back half sunk down which was really uncomfortable.
Also the floors are very thin so you can hear everyone talking and walking around in the doom room upstairs which can be annoying if people are walking around late or watching tv and you need an early night ready for doing activities in the morning.
The internet access is a bit rubbish too as the global gossip connection (the only one worth paying for) couldnt connect from our room (the closest to the router) unless your netbook was on balanced by the sink.
Also the staff were okay but not really friendly, when the cleaners took our towels one morning we asked where the replacment towels were. We went to the reception and they said we had towels by accident and that as we werent paying the full $140 for one night (we paid $80, seriously dont pay more its not worth it) we wouldnt get new towels. I asked how much towels were to rent, they said $1...go figure that one out. Really petty for something which we were already using.
Also in the morning we moved our van to pack it as it was raining hard, suddenly the lady from reception appears, opens the door and says "can you move your van i need to get out", then walked out and didnt even say please or appreciate we were in the middle of loading our van.
To be honest for the $140 dollars i suspect there are much better motels in town, and there is another hostel/backpackers too which is nearer to the town centre that i wish we had taken a look at.

Room Tip: we paid $80 for a 5 person room, only 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichMundon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
12 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#8 of 25 in Whitianga
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Holiday Park
Harbourside Holiday Park
#12 of 25 in Whitianga
66 reviews
22 mi away
YHA Opoutere
YHA Opoutere
#2 of 2 in Opoutere
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge

Address: 46 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £26 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whitianga, On the Beach Backpackers is a friendly beachfront hostel with huge bay windows with stunning views over Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula, a holiday spot loved by New Zealanders. Close to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. YHA Whitianga has accommodation to suit everyone from singles, couples and families. Free wifi and Kayaks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing