We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant stat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On the Beach Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
ResearchTraveller
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A brilliant stat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Really sad we only had two nights here. For the price I expected a couple of beds and a small room with shared facilities or something. Totally the opposite. Our room was right at the front, but the road was really quiet and beyond it was a brilliant view out to sea. We had a table and chairs out front and ate our meals with that view to take in. Our accommodation was a large kitchen living room, well equipped and very clean, with a very decent twin bedroom and bathroom. Everything is simple but by no means basic. The staff were really friendly and gave us loads of information and made us feel totally at home as soon as we got there. Despite larger parties staying, it was very quiet and had a really friendly multi-national atmosphere. We borrowed kayaks for free which was great for a quick trip out to the bay. Did hot water beach, cathedral bay, new chums beach etc.. all brilliant and whitianga is a sleepy but really chilled and well equipped base to explore from. Stunning area, and OBB is a really great place to stay while you take advantage of it all. Top marks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResearchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
38
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a great time! Very nice and cosy room, with our own kitchen, a barbecue and bathroom.
The lady at the reception provided us a lot of useful information on the must do's in the area and was really friendly!

Will definitely suggest to anyone who wants to visit for a few days the Coromandel Peninsula and swim in the crystal clear waters of the Ocean, or just lay in the sun on a remote tranquil beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I exchanged accommodation here april 2013. All the staffs are very nice and friendly
especially the boss steve!! What I like the most is the beach is just in front of you!!!! You get see lot of seagulls when you sit there and you can pick oyster for free!! Very nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ching X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent only 1 night at the Backpackers but you could easily spend a week there.
We had a great winter deal for a double room with kitchen and lounge facing the ocean. Great welcome in reception, great service and advices.
The room is perfectly equiped and cozy and with many advices to behave "green".
We will go back in spring to enjoy all the options in the surroundings :-)

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor are de double/triples. The one on the north side has a small garden, no car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My friend and I stayed here at the end of April 2013 and loved it. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in, shared a large lounge and brilliantly equipped kitchen with a double room and a twin room (that were empty during our stay). We could really make the most of the clean kitchen and then sit out on the balcony that overlooked the sea for our meals! The accommodation was cleaned daily.
The staff were so helpful and were always on hand for advice or to book tours. I would recommend cathedral cove tours, a 5 hour minibus tour of the local area with time to spend at gorgeous cathedral cove and hot water beach.
The local town is an easy, flat walk away, following the coast line.
A lovely, relaxing stay thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 nights. The hostel is in a perfect location right on the beach, you won't miss it either with the brightly painted exterior! We checked into a private double room, which shared a kitchen, living area and bathroom with another room, much like a 2 bedroom apartment. This was good, but you do feel as if you are on holiday with another couple who you don't know! The decor is 'homely', comfortable but potentially in need of an update. The staff were friendly and helpful, and are able to provide spades for hot water beach (with a $20 deposit). Whitianga is a quiet place with a very relaxed feel. There are a few bars and restaurants, the wild hog bar and restaurant was good for a drink after a hard day's walking around Cathedral cove.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanazawa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Staff was very helpful and very friendly. The house that I stayed in was extremely clean and cozy. The kitchen was well stocked and the living area was warm and inviting. The layout was different compared to other hostels I had stayed in, but by no means was it a bad thing. I really enjoyed the way everything was set up and it gave the hostel a more homey/apartment feel to it. The location is right in front of the beach and about a fifteen minute walk to the ferry and town. It was easy to get around the area, even without a car. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#7 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Backpackers

Property: On the Beach Backpackers
Address: 46 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — On the Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whitianga, On the Beach Backpackers is a friendly beachfront hostel with huge bay windows with stunning views over Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula, a holiday spot loved by New Zealanders. YHA Whitianga has backpacker accommodation of multi-share rooms (some are en-suite) as well as double and twin rooms in self-contained units. Relax in our clean, comfortable home-like accommodation with all the necessary hostel facilities – well-equipped self catering kitchen, common areas and outside BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing