We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a great boutique Motel! Superb sea view of the whole of the bay. Could not fault a thing. Extremely clean & tidy & superb decor, comfy bed and great hospitality and service - nothing was any trouble. Very quite no road noise! So lovely to walk out onto the beach for a stroll. It was early July & it did rain, but to watch the rough roaring sea and the forever changing cloud patterns was amazing. We shall return as soon as possible in the warmer weather so as to enjoy the BBQ etc.
I will recommend this place to all my friends as the owners are very hospitable and obliging & Whitianga is certainly a lovely friendly place to visit. Very friendly shopkeepers & lovely food at The French Fig Cafe. R & J Hocken

Room Tip: I certainly can recommend Unit 8 the luxury unit. It is superb, upstairs with an amazing view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROBYN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    64
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
89
158
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Most people think of a beach resort as a summer holiday but we had a great time there in the middle of July. True we were very lucky with the weather but when it did get rough the sound of the sea so close was really amazing. A short walk across the lawn and you were on the beach. The spa was a well thought of added extra and the views from our room was beautiful,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

'Lovely and clean, including the outside spa. Fantastic views from upstairs but the downside is going down the rear stairs to access beach or spa. I guess you can't have it both ways so choose what is most important. The owners are really helpful and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't remember the unit number but the top unit furtherest right has a very small bedroom (sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j9rangiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here because it was a ground floor level unit fitted out for wheelchair accessibility and it has a good walk in shower practical for a wheelchair user.
This was a spotlessly clean, compact, space, which could have been so much better, if the second sleeping area had been incorporated into the main unit, for use by two people only. It is obviously intended to sleep two children in single beds, but they couldn’t do anything other than just lie in these beds, there is no space for anything else in that area. I can’t imagine occupying this small unit with more than a pair of adults. At least the children would be outside if the weather was good.
And the outside must be ideal for families with children. Just steps to the water, a grassy area to play on and a barbecue area for cooking, with table and chairs out side on the terrace.
Less ideal for a pair of adults. With such an ideal area for children outside the window, the unit was completely overlooked. I didn’t even venture outside, sadly, on the evening that we stayed. Children (and adults) everywhere, I didn’t feel I could even sit privately on the chairs outside. Maybe it would be an idea to construct a light screen for privacy.
Later in the evening the noise started upstairs. Children from the family above, running and running and running, round and round. Thump, thump, thump. We asked the owner to have a word with them, and to be fair he tried his best requesting the occupants twice to ask the children to calm down. But the noise didn’t stop until after 11, which thwarted our plan to get to sleep early ready for an early morning start. The owner told us the next morning that they usually try and avoid putting families upstairs but this time there had been no choice. Our bad luck I guess (and maybe because we were occupying one of the downstairs units) – stay there outside of the school holidays.
And then the fridge noise conspired also to deny any sleep. This fridge must have been ancient, it whined on and on. In the end we needed to switch it off, which meant that the breakfast, delivered the evening before, was warm by the morning.
The owners were very pleasant and keen to be of assistance. Bear in mind the holiday seasons and maybe pick an upstairs unit if you can and you will enjoy the beachfront location.

For any potential disabled or reduced mobility travellers who have found this review useful, I advise them to also consult the website www.wheelie-easy-hotels.com which offers information on hotels world-wide, including details of other potential hotels in New Zealand.
Hotel management representatives may also wish to enter information regarding their own property onto the same website.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Humbugcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at the Beachfront Resort for two days and had a fabulous stay! They really thought of everything - the kitchen and bathroom were both fully stocked and modern, the windows had blackout blinds, the main bedroom could be fully partitioned off, there was a "sand dunk" pan outside the door for sandy feet, etc.

The owners were lovely as well. Next time I'll bring the family!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view - TOTALLY worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxannedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Beachfront Resort has a great location right on the beautiful Buffalo Beach. From the room there is always the sea to watch and the people who enjoy it. There is a barbecue area and a spa to share with the other guests. The details that marred our vist were all inside our unit. The bed was soft and any time one person moved so did the other. Made for a bad night's sleep and even after three nights we hadn't got used to it. The bed definitely need upgrading. Also the room layout was odd. The only place we could watch TV was from the table or sitting on the end of the bed. I shouldn't think watching TV is a priority but it is annoying not being able to se it from either lying in bed or sitting on the couch.
Our unit was spotlessly clean but I did feel some facilities need upgrading in our room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Even though I was down here for one night it was by far the best place I have stayed at so far. The view in the morning is just fantastic and being beach front eliminates some if not all traffic noise. I would love to have stayed longer however due to work commitments I could not....maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazador D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
17.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.7 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Property: Beachfront Resort
Address: 113 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, The Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY RIGHT ON THE BEACH ... Our superb absolute beachfront location is the secret to the special charm of Beachfront Resort. Uniquely in Whitianga, there is no road or traffic, only garden and Pohutukawa trees between you and the seashore. Each comfortable, immaculate Beachfront Unit has full kitchen facilities, SKY TV, and a private patio or balcony with spectacular uninterrupted sea views of Mercury Bay.Wireless broadband Internet access and guest laundry also available. Kayaks, body boards, beach games, a trampoline, heated spa pool and BBQ are provided for guests so you can enjoy life on the beach right here. A private and peaceful haven only minutes away from the buzz of Whitianga’s shops and restaurants, Beachfront Resort is conveniently located for exploring the whole Peninsula with easy day trips to Coromandel town, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Your Hosts Kate and Paul Dimock Beachfront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing