We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peninsula Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely quite rooms! Perfect for a romantic getaway! Staff were amazing and would definitely go back again, don't miss out on this delightful experience. We had the studio deluxe suite but the other rooms looked superb as well (from what I could see) thank you so much Peninsula motel!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the delux suite with amazing spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    53
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
74
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papakura, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Came to stay for a few nights at the Peninsula motel. Stayed in a one bedroom unit which looked out to the lovely garden in the front. A very clean and spacious unit, plenty of room area.It was sunny in the unit, warm and relaxing to sit there. A very short walk into town and beach. Friendly and helpful hosts at the motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Street sign said special rates. At $125 for one person in this OLD unit one could hardly say special for the middle of the week and middle of winter. On the wall of the kitchen area were notices. " We provide this kitchen for your convenience." What, I am the one who is paying. Then another sign Cooking instructions. Do not cook foods that smell and may offend Like SHELLFISH, FISH ECT. What do I not get, this is a sea side town which promotes the sea and its fishing activities. There are even pamphlets advertising fishing trips here. There is only one small bar heater on wall to heat the unit. Middle of winter I repeat. Television small box style with 5 sky channels, found three and one was a MOVIE channel. Wow, SKY CLASSIC'S. How cheap.
Bedroom deco out of the sixties. Whitianga a beaut place. Management friendly but unit a nothing. A card on table asks guests to review on tripadvisor. By your command.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin p, Owner at Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your review Mr Finch , we appreicate your comments ,
I hope the long discussion we had and reccommendations on appartments for sale was helpfull to you .
To explain the notices on the the wall , The cooking of seafood like shellfish do leave a strong odour in the room that requires extra costs in cleaning as we have had guests stay before where mussels were cooked and we had to replace curtains , carpet shampoo where the costs were not passed on .
The cost of the unit was a reasonable rate for Whitianga at this time of year AND WE DO VERY GOOD DEALS FOR 2 OR MORE NIGHTS , The units themselves are quite spacious and very clean , we have full kitchens , electric blankets and electric heaters in all our units .
We have refurbished 5 units this year and the other 4 units will be done next winter .Once again thank you for staying at Peninsula Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitara, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We only sayed for 1 night in a budget room,but it was very comfortable, and warm and tidy. When we got to Coromandel I realised I had left my cell phone behind. Rang Motel and they forwarded it on for me. Very helpful nice people. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had a relaxing, comfortable stay in a deluxe studio which was modern and spacious with well appointed amenities and spotlessly clean. Motel is close to town, beach and marina yet quietly located. Hosts are friendly and extremely helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellie13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Very pleasant budget motel a short walk from the town centre where you can find a wide range of decent restaurants. We stopped for a couple of nights to allow us to explore the local area.

The accommadation was very pleasant and clean, the carpet was stained in a couple of places but did not detract from the overall experience. Kevin and Karen were very helpful in assisting us in finding the best of what the town of Whilianga had offer

Room Tip: Possibly head for a room towards the rear of the Motel. It does front onto a busy highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin p, Owner at Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review Allan ,since your visit we have updated our televisions to new 32 inch led / lcd tv,s , we have also put in touch lamps beside the beds ,and we have also recarpeted the 3 deluxe studio units that you stayed in ,
We look forward to meeting you again when you are in Whitianga
Kind Regards
Kevin n Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived just on dark amidst a downpour of rain. The host Kevin was very helpful, standing with an umbrella while I transferred our suitcases from the car to the room, and then giving us tips on where to eat and suggestions on attractions the next morning.
The room was clean and spacious and comfortable, if older style. There was a good kitchen and ample parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Motel

Property: Peninsula Motel
Address: 93-97 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing