We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property”
Review of Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peninsula Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic Property”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I found this property online at short notice during peak season so weren't expecting too much. When we arrived however we were very pleasantly surprised. Its location was very central and only a street from the Whitianga waterfront. Our room (Spa Studio) was fantastic. Very spacious, with its own kitchen facilities, large bathroom with spa and large shower and private rear deck. It was extremely clean appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. Our hosts were very helpful and obliging and even offered us some beach towels and a spade when I mentioned we were heading to nearby Hot Water Beach. Would definately stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    53
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
74
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a one bedroom unit which was immaculately clean and very comfortable and homely. It had a full kitchen with all the necessary gear for self-catering. Some people have mentioned on here about the sign requiring dishes to be washed. Maybe overseas it may be acceptable to leave dirty dishes but in NZ it is expected that you will wash them if you dirty them. This is normal practice and expected, that is why they provide dishwashing liquid. No issues with it. The motelier, Kevin, is friendly and extremely helpful. The motel is in a great location within easy walking distance of town, restaurants, cafes, supermarket and the wharf. Kevin mentioned the one bedroom units are soon to be updated and renovated which will make them even better than they are already. The units look out onto an impressive big native rimu tree with large lawn and garden area which is very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend at this motel for 1 night.

The owner was very friendly . This was our first time at coromandel and after arriving at the information centre and calling the motel to check in , the owner picked us up from the bus stop and drove us back to the motel. This was a very nice thing to do and I have no doubt this is the best customer service I've experienced.
He also offered to call the tow car company for us as our english wasn't that good and offered a ride which we declined politely.
The room was comfortable with two doors so there was a gentle breeze coming in which made the room cool on a hot summer afternoon.
The bathroom, toilet and the bedroom were tidy and the bed was one of the most comfortable bed we ever slept on and both of us snored into the morning almost forgetting to checkout.
There were some issues though. For example the lighting in the room wasn't bright enough so watching TV made it hard on our eyes. The fact that there was a fluoresent light and a normal light bulb meant the room was yellow and white at the same time. The room wasn't well lit so it was sorta uncomfortable.
Shampoo was missing from the bathroom and there was a sign that we had to do wash our own dishes felt kinda weird as past experience suggested that room service covers the cost of washing dishes but that wasn't too bothersome for us as we are a clean couple.


If we have the chance we would visit this motel again.

Room Tip: Find a room that's not next to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin p, Owner at Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review , Our aim is to make our guests welcome and they have a great visit to Whitianga
We are in the process of putting in energy efficient light bulbs into the units we must have missed one , we are sorry about that .
We hope you had a nice christmas , and wish you all the best for 2014 .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and myself had a very enjoyable one night stay 22nd Oct. Very friendly welcome and as we wanted to visit Hot Water Beach, we only had an hour, so Kevin gave us towels and spade and we rushed there. Next day he booked a boat ride to Cathedral Cove for us and advised us about where to go for meals. The room was very spacious and very reasonable in price. A lovely couple and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here during a road trip through the Coromandel area.

On arrival, the owner was friendly, and was a fountain of knowledge about the local area, and helped us plan our travels to Cathedral Cove and Hotwater Beach the next day, including looking up the tides info for us.

The room was very spacious and included two separate bedrooms for an affordable rate for the area.

The bathroom was okay, however the shower pressure was barely adequate. It was nice having Wifi included in the tariff, however the signal was rather patchy and weak. The decor was a little dated but inoffensive, and TV needed to be modernised.

There was nice indoor outdoor flow, and outdoor furniture was provided where one could relax and enjoy a drink during the warm evening.

All and all, very pleasant, and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely quite rooms! Perfect for a romantic getaway! Staff were amazing and would definitely go back again, don't miss out on this delightful experience. We had the studio deluxe suite but the other rooms looked superb as well (from what I could see) thank you so much Peninsula motel!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the delux suite with amazing spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papakura, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Came to stay for a few nights at the Peninsula motel. Stayed in a one bedroom unit which looked out to the lovely garden in the front. A very clean and spacious unit, plenty of room area.It was sunny in the unit, warm and relaxing to sit there. A very short walk into town and beach. Friendly and helpful hosts at the motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Motel

Property: Peninsula Motel
Address: 93-97 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing