We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but refurbishment needed.”
Review of Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peninsula Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

There are a number of good features about this motel. It is well situated, within 5 minutes walk of the centre of the village. We had a one-bedroom apartment which had rooms of reasonable size and good kitchen facilities (full cooker and a microwave). There was a nice patio leading on to a lawn and internet access was very good. However, the decor of the apartment was very outdated and tired and the mattress sagged. A serious refurbishment is urgently required!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pgmflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin p, Owner at Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank You for your review , we hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand, We have 9 units at the Peninsula Motel , We have refurbished 5 units in the last 2 years since we took over the motel AND are refurbishing the last 4 units this winter with new furniture n paint , ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Peninsula Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

A very pleasant little family run motel. Very spacious room, nicely furnished and decorated and conspicuous as probably the cleanest accommodation I have ever enjoyed. Kitchen and bathrooms were spotless. The proprietors are lovely and looked after us well. Its not the best view in Whitianga, but is very close to the town centre, wharf, great restaurants and just about everything else in Whitianga. Its well recommended as good value for the dollars spent. Ours was a birthday treat and we felt well treated

Room Tip: All rooms ok. Don't go there for the view. Its a quiet easy place to stay for moderate rates.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Peninsular Motel in Whitianga. The owners made every effort to ensure we had information we needed about the local area, they were very helpful. The motel is in a very convenient location to shops and tourist activities.
The motel units were well appointed and all equipment clean and in good condition. We were very pleased that we could use the washing facilities.
We would happily stay at the Peninsular Motel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a clean, well-equipped kitchen/living room and separate bedroom in a good location. A little old-fashioned maybe. My only comment is the frequent use in NZ motels of spotlights, with very little ambient lighting (which is more relaxing).
We stayed for two nights and were allowed to use the washing machine free of charge. The owners also gave very helpful information about local sights, and provided a spade and beach towels for the volcanic hot-beach (great fun!).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RandJNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I found this was a great place to stay which suited me well and is situated minutes from the centre and beach. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, with private sitting areas outside. You will find your hosts to be helpful, professional and sincere. There is plenty of advice to be shared on the local area and Coramandel, with a fantastic local day trip and longer trip including Rotorua on offer. I would highly recommend staying at Penninsular Motel. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julie681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed just one night. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. We took up the suggestion of the walk to Cathedral cove which we enjoyed immensely. The room was large with separate bedroom and though a little old fashioned it was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizziebuff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Peninsula Motel in Whitianga for 2 nights. We chose a room with a spa tub and it was such a nice change from the usual smaller rooms we had been staying in as we traveled around New Zealand. The room was modern, large and as spacious as a small suite. We weren't cooking our own meals, but if you did want to, the kitchen was well equipped. We used the spa tub both nights and it was so much appreciated to relax after our busy days.
The owners were very friendly and helped us with planning our activities in the area. They gave us helpful suggestions for meals. We had an excellent dinners at Squids and the Brewery Bistro. The later is a unique experience in itself. The owner is quite a character and the very tasty local dishes are prepared by his wife. We had breakfast both days at a bakery on the main street in town. The hot quiche were fresh and very good and there was lots of different breakfast-type foods to choose from.
Kevin and Karen, the owners of the motel loaned us a shovel so that we could dig a hole in the sand at Hot Water Beach. They also loaned us beach towels and provided us with detailed information about the hike into Cathedral Cove. This is a must visit beautiful natural beach with gorgeous photo opportunities for those who like to take pictures.
The Motel is within walking distance of the restaurants and shops in town. It was a smaller, quiet motel, with friendly personal service provided by the owners. We highly recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Motel

Address: 93-97 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: £64 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing