We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if 'paradise ' exists, it's here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaeppeli's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaeppeli's B&B
Ranked #21 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“if 'paradise ' exists, it's here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Having read a previous, highly negative ,review, I feel compelled to share our highly positive experience with you.
We stayed here for six nights at the end of our travels round Australia and New Zealand. Jill and Robert Kaeppeli could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. Our rooms and bathroom facilities were clean and comfortable. Our children were aged 13,11 and 9 and Jill allowed me to use her laundry facilities to wash clothes. The food was delicious, homecooked and served in the gazebo overlooking the ocean. We spent many an evening chatting to other guests under the stars. Jill and Robert were excellent hosts- always sociable but totally unobtrusive and with stacks of local knowledge.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending their establishment and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lo2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

Those who want a sterile, almost perfect , universal look-alike accommodation with a hotel-like atmosphere that can be smoothly approached on a perfectly paved drive way, please... do not visit Jill and Robert`s paradise. It`s an individual place,where people live, where they work, where they hang up their laundry and where you as a traveller are welcome to share their home in that beautiful location in comfortable, spacy rooms. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful with every problem you have and if you love nature and want to relax then go and book the paradise. We have recommended it. We had everything we needed -and more.
barbara and jürgen from Germany

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We felt so fortunate to have stumbled onto this gem of a place. Jill and her partner were very accomodating. The food is all homemade and excellent. The views are nothing short of spectacular we can't wait to go back and visit soon. I've already referred friends to stay here.

Ken Fisher Ft Lauderdale FL

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaKen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Kaeppeli’s uses a number of catchphrases to describe itself.
Among them 'Back to Paradise' and 'Gourmet Meals'.
Forget it!
The only statement that rang true was the great view of the Pacific Ocean.
When we arrived at the place on a steep gravel rood, we first thought that the owner had hoisted flags in our honour. When we came closer, we realised that it was drying washing.
The rooms are basic. The screen of TV set was the size of a post stamp.
The viewing platform was filthy; there were even blood stains on the floor and on one of the chairs. Somebody suicidal, perhaps?
The 3-course gourmet meal that was promised turned out to be fare unfit for a prison.
Give this place a miss. You can stay and eat for the same price - or cheaper - in a much more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminee, Owner at Kaeppeli's B&B, responded to this review, 23 March 2009
I am sorry that Mr VanRiebeeck did not enjoy his stay at Kaeppeli's B&B. Also sorry that he found the sight of freshly washed sheets fluttering in the wind, offensive upon arrival. The blood stains he refers to on the decking happen to be wood stain, after a storm there was possibly a little debris from the adjacent tree on the deck. My apologies.
Television is used by a minimum of our guests, and the size of these has never been an issue before. A big screen is available in the nearby local for any special sporting events, had he mentioned it I could have pointed him in the right direction.
Our meals consist of fresh homegrown products, soups, sauces, desserts, bread, conserves, jams all made in house, without the help of processed products. Organic where possible.
Back to Paradise and Back to Basics of how life once was, good hearty healthy food.
Here we do still make things ourselves and this is what most of our guests really appreciate, the freshly sun dried washing included.
Our steep gravel road gives us the advantage of being "off the beaten track" with a wonderful view and amazing night sky, where you can hear the morepork and kiwi call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
4.3 mi away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#9 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
9.5 mi away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
6.1 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
10.3 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#7 of 18 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaeppeli's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaeppeli's B&B

Property: Kaeppeli's B&B
Address: 40 Gray Avenue | Kuaotunu, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Living in Style, Comfort and Simplicity above the Pacific Ocean. A peaceful, secluded unique haven with stunning sea, bush and rural views where you can relax, unwind, enjoy the natural beauty that surrounds you. Warm sunny rooms all with ensuites, TV/DVD, private decks. Panoramic diningroom. Children welcome. Pets to pamper. Swiss/ German spoken. Voluntary Vacation option available working with Kauri 2000, replanting the Coromandel in Kauri, on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing