We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but surprised at all the 5* reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #2 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

After much searching on the internet and reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to spend a night at Wairua Lodge in January. As other reviews have said, the setting in the valley is amazing - beautiful, not far from the town/beaches, and a good base to explore the Coromandel. The owners are also really helpful and have thought of so many special touches such as the bean bags, outdoor bath, dvd selection etc. However, the big disappointment was the standard of the room. While clean, it was quite basic. There were also spiders in the bathroom - not something we expected from accommodation getting 5* reviews. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would probably go back, but if you're expecting 5* standard (as is implied by many of the reviews), then you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Itchy_English_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed the last 5 days of our NZ trip here. Tam and Charles are wonderful hosts. They have a superb eye for detail. (e.g. fridge in cupboard so that you don't wake up listening to a humming sound.) The location is perfect. The kitchen facility was as cozy as one can dream of. The rooms and beds were good. The only place we stayed at with good reading lights in bed. The shower, always very important, was excellent. For us it was the icing on the cake after 4 weeks in NZ. In fact this Lodge , its surroundings, and its hosts resemble paradise! We met three honeymoning couples. For us it was like a honeymoon all over. Don't miss it!!!!!

Edo and Mieke

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edo_Mieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

After searching the internet for weeks I found the Wairua Lodge. I am very fussy about accommodation and am always looking for just the perfect spot. This trip was extra special as it was our Honeymoon and luckily for us we chose to stay here. Talk about magic.
The property exceeded my expectations and Tam and Charles were incredible hosts. We loved it so much we stayed an extra night!
If you like the outdoors you will feel right at home here, the views are to die for, there is a little outdoor fire that Charles prepared for us and pointed us in the right direction when we needed extra wood. The treetop bath was spectacular and the swimming holes by the river are amazing and a great place to relax with a book in the hammock.
Worth a drive is the Mussell Kitchen on the 309 road, the mussells were to die for. If we had gone there earlier in our trip I am sure we would have gone back for seconds.
All in all an amazing break away, great hosts and all in a spectacular setting

Room Tip: The river deck suite has its own full kitchen and is perfect if you are wanting a bit more privacy
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Husband and I spent one weekend here and it wasn't long enough! What a hidden treasure. So peaceful and calm - the ultimate spot for relaxation. We had the river deck suite, which featured beautiful timber walls and smelt like a sauna everytime we returned. Each room looked out over the forest with the sound of the river below. Charles and Tam were fabulous hosts as well. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The river deck suite is excellent for honeymooners.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Here we started our NZ-Trip. Such a great, quite, fine place. Tam and Charles make everything you feel good and comfortable. They gave us all help we needed and aksed for. A lot of to discover at the hidden valley itself - middst in great nature. Great places very near to visit. Just great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

An oasis of calm, and a hidden gem in every sense of the phrase. About 10 mins from Whitianga, you turn off on to a well maintained gravel road that leads down in to a river valley, away from the tourists in Whitianga, and everything else for that matter - and not in a bad way.

We rented a room with a BBQ, which allowed us to cook some of the great local produce, although there are cooking facilities provided at the Lodge for all to use. We also used the outdoor bath, which is housed in a hut that opens into the rain forest. A nice touch, and very romantic. We also took advantage of the walks on site, which were short but enjoyable.

All in all, this is a lovely place, with lovely owners, all wrapped up in a lovely, secluded setting. My wife's parents are travelling to NZ in a year, and we have told them to stay there if in the area. A highlight of our trip, and it was our first stop on our road trip.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the BBQ, or choose the even larger room which has more space and (I think) it...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife and I used the lodge as a base to discover the Coromandel region over the Xmas/New Year period. For that purpose the lodge is well positioned and while only about a 10 minute drive from Whitianga, could just as easily have been a million miles from the commercial bustle there. Charles and Tam were great hosts and put a lot of time and effort into adding special touches to both the accomodation facilities and the grounds which make this a very special place. The quality of the accomodation and service was well in excess of our expectation for prices in this region. It would have been good value for double the tariff.
Our 'neighbours' in the next room were unfortunate to have a have a minor car accident and because of the Xmas/New Year timing were having trouble getting a replacement vehicle. Charles and Tam gave them one of their vehicles to use to complete their holiday, which was typical of the gererous hospitality offered.
We would and have already recommended to others. A magic place and we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
5.8 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £102 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing