We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to just chill out and relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Ranked #5 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to just chill out and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We happened upon Wairua Lodge by chance. One of my prerequisites for a 'mini-moon' was that it needed to have an outside bath. So I did a Google search and Wairua Lodge popped up. It not only had an outside TREETOP bathhouse, but also a hot tub/spa - bonus! After months of organising our wedding and having family staying, we also wanted somewhere we could just 'stop' and do nothing. With no mobile or TV reception Wairua Lodge was perfect. Our King Snug was lovely, with all that we wanted, and Tam, Charles and Zachary (the cat) were super friendly and accommodating. We'd definitely recommend Wairua Lodge to anyone wanting to escape the noise and bustle of the city, and get back to nature :-)

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyR_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
177
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent our first two nights in New Zealand at Wairua Lodge and had a wonderful experience! The owners, Charles and Tam, couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming. Upon arrival, they gave us a tour of the grounds and all the amenities. Our room (called a "snug") was comfortable and clean. The second night of our stay we decided to stay in and prepare a meal in the common area kitchen. This room is so cute, has a complete kitchen, gas grill, comfy sofas, candles and a cd player for background music. Both nights we ENJOYED the tree-top bath house which was amazing! Even had a hot tub. Everything was perfect- even their "little" 4-legged friend, Zachary. Made a great kickoff to our vacation!

Room Tip: Make sure you write your name on the schedule for the tree top bath house! Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knewellsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the River Desck Suite July 2009 - I know I know, a bit late writing this review but oh well!
My husband and I eloped and the following weekend we decided to stay here for a few nights. We absolutly loved the location of Wairua Lodge. The gentle sounds of the river at night was lovely, and the bathhouse was a highlight.
Being that we stayed here in the middle of winter, the smell of the wooden walls was glorious and the rooms were nice and cosy warm. We feasted on apple and rhubarb pie with lots of warm custard! Yum.
Were thinking about coming back to stay again for our 3rd wedding anniversary this winter too!

Room Tip: River Deck Suite for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Staying at the Wairua Lodge was truly a unique and amazing experience. I admit I had my doubts when my we turned down the gravel road that led to the lodge after four hours of driving. But once we arrived, I knew I made the right choice booking this place. The owner greeted my husband and I and showed us around the property and to our king snug room. The room was very cosy, but had everything we needed. The property is huge and gorgeous with hiking trails, swimming holes, and two outdoor jucuzzi tubs for guests to use. The owners seemed to be prepared for all the guests' needs with information on local attractions, maps of hiking trails on the property, water shoes for guests to use, and even buckets and shovels for the Hot Water Beach.

After a long drive, we decided to spend a few hours exploring the property and walked along one of the nature trails to the top of the hill overlooking the lodge. When we got to the top, there were beautiful views of the lodge and surrounding areas. This somehow turned into a much longer hike than expected as we encountered a waterfall on our trip down and had to climb down it using the rope provided! It was quite challenging, but we had a lot of fun! We also had a great time swimming in the swimming hole and swinging from the rope swing. The outdoor jucuzzi tub was a perfect way to relax at the end of our very active day.

The room was very comfortable for the our two night stay. We left the door open most of the time and enjoyed the outdoor sounds at night. While warm during the day, there was plenty of cool air at night and I slept really well with the fresh air coming in. In addition, we were told that the elevation prevented mosquitos and other bugs from invading the property, which was great. While there was no cable TV, our room had a DVD player and there were plenty of DVD movies to borrow during our stay. There was also a grill outside our room and we enjoyed cooking dinner one night and just relaxing with wine on the patio. Breakfast was simple, but definitely a sufficient amount of food. It included bread, fruit, yogurt, granola, and cereal. The owners delivered it the night before so we were able to eat at our convenience.

The lodge is about 15 minutes by car from Whitianga, so it was easy to get to town to visit the restaurants and shops. Whitianga was a really cute town with plenty of activity and we enjoyed walking around there. We also visited Cathedral Cove and the Hot Water Beach during our stay and loved them both! However, when we returned to the Wairua Lodge each night, it felt completely isolated and peaceful. It was a really nice change from the other larger hotels we visited during our New Zealand trip. Of course, we tried the treetop bathhouse, which was just as amazing as it looks in the photos.

Overall, I loved the time I spent at the Wairua Lodge. It was a rare combination of nature and luxury. The owners did an amazing job with the property and clearly care about their guests. They were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We enoyed our time here so much that we recommended it to other travelers we met later in our trip. While we stayed in many nice places in New Zealand, this was our favorite because it was such a unique and special experience. I would highly recommend the Wairua Lodge to anyone visiting the Coromandel Peninsula!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAgirl505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

After much searching on the internet and reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to spend a night at Wairua Lodge in January. As other reviews have said, the setting in the valley is amazing - beautiful, not far from the town/beaches, and a good base to explore the Coromandel. The owners are also really helpful and have thought of so many special touches such as the bean bags, outdoor bath, dvd selection etc. However, the big disappointment was the standard of the room. While clean, it was quite basic. There were also spiders in the bathroom - not something we expected from accommodation getting 5* reviews. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would probably go back, but if you're expecting 5* standard (as is implied by many of the reviews), then you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Itchy_English_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed the last 5 days of our NZ trip here. Tam and Charles are wonderful hosts. They have a superb eye for detail. (e.g. fridge in cupboard so that you don't wake up listening to a humming sound.) The location is perfect. The kitchen facility was as cozy as one can dream of. The rooms and beds were good. The only place we stayed at with good reading lights in bed. The shower, always very important, was excellent. For us it was the icing on the cake after 4 weeks in NZ. In fact this Lodge , its surroundings, and its hosts resemble paradise! We met three honeymoning couples. For us it was like a honeymoon all over. Don't miss it!!!!!

Edo and Mieke

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edo_Mieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

After searching the internet for weeks I found the Wairua Lodge. I am very fussy about accommodation and am always looking for just the perfect spot. This trip was extra special as it was our Honeymoon and luckily for us we chose to stay here. Talk about magic.
The property exceeded my expectations and Tam and Charles were incredible hosts. We loved it so much we stayed an extra night!
If you like the outdoors you will feel right at home here, the views are to die for, there is a little outdoor fire that Charles prepared for us and pointed us in the right direction when we needed extra wood. The treetop bath was spectacular and the swimming holes by the river are amazing and a great place to relax with a book in the hammock.
Worth a drive is the Mussell Kitchen on the 309 road, the mussells were to die for. If we had gone there earlier in our trip I am sure we would have gone back for seconds.
All in all an amazing break away, great hosts and all in a spectacular setting

Room Tip: The river deck suite has its own full kitchen and is perfect if you are wanting a bit more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
5.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
7.2 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 24 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.8 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley

Property: Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 Hidden Valley snug rooms which gaze across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and The River Deck suite-a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing