We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful getaway, icing on the cake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #2 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Had an amazing time. The natural surroundings made it such a beautiful and unique place to stay. We were more than impressed by the genuineness of the staff. Had to say the bath overlooking the native valley made it all the more exciting and romantic. Highly recommend staying at wairau lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a short break from work and the city so we headed to the Coromandel Peninsula. We decided to go all out and treat ourselves to the River Deck Suite at Wairua Lodge. What a treat it was! The place was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. We came prepared with groceries so we could cook all our meals (other than the delicious breakfast provided). Our favourites would be the tree top bathhouse and taking a dip in the river. Thanks Tam and Charles for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hpffaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

What a wonderful place. Charlie and Tarn have made a beautful resort in the middle of the Coromandal Peninsula that is the perfect quite get away. The gounds are very well maintained, the rivers are clean and great for swimming, and the rooms are gorgeous. Thanks so much for the lovely company and holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We loved the bush land setting and wished we could have enjoyed more than one night - maybe next time! The hosts Tam & Charles were very down to earth and made us feel comfortable from the start. We had originally booked a Queen Snug but as there was a King Snug available we were given a free upgrade which was great, as the king came with its own BBQ on the adjoining patio. The communal lounge/kitchen area was a great added feature and as we were the only guests that night had it all to ourselves. We were also able to enjoy the large spa pool on our own while gazing up at the sky and enjoying a glass of wine. Breakfast provisions of toast, jams, cereals, teas etc were provided also which worked in well with our self cooked BBQ the next morning. I would highly recommend bringing some provisions as you will need to drive up and down a winding, unmade road to access the property, which may be a little daunting for less confident night drivers. I would only make one suggestion for improvement to the hosts; the towels in the rooms could really do with replacing. Otherwise, we had a very pleasant stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: Go for a King Snug over a queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiekarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you know you need to go bush but want to do it in style and comfort then this is the ideal location. Wonderful features with the outdoor bath and spa pool, reading areas, swimming holes and indoor facilities catering to your every need while relaxing. Great hosts who are there when you need them and yet you could enjoy the privacy and quiet you would hope for from this glorious location in the midst of N.Z's bush. We'll be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Wairua Lodge in the Hidden Valley B&B is just that – about 10km out of Whitianga - it is in an isolated valley surrounded by forest. The rooms are small and motel-like with not-very-private verandahs but this is offset by the great location. The property has a creek meandering through it and we went for a swim in one of the private waterholes. We also went for fascinating walks in the steep forest leading down to the creek.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If you like quiet, remote, and beautiful (and you have a little adventure in you) this place tops the chart. The owners Tam and Charles are wonderful hosts! They go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable. The outside bath house is absolutely wonderful. A glass of wine, Pink Floyd in the background, and nothing separating you form the forest; life at its best. Just writing this review makes me feel sad that this is a story told from the past, as I wish I was there in the present. Tam and Charles, I don't know if you remember us, but we will certainly never forget you, the "easy" walks up the streams, and the Wairua lodge.

Josh and Paulina

P.S. We did make it out to White Island after all (with great weather)!

Room Tip: The king room comes with your own grill. This is very convenient when other people may be cooking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshcab c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bayview at 91 Boutique & Lodge 5 Star
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
5.8 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £98 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing