We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #2 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from two days of total relaxation after staying at the Wairua Lodge. The hosts were so friendly and helpful, just how good hospitality should be.
We walked around the property in the woods and along by the river to the swimming water holes. The room was comfortable and clean plus a good breakfast too.
We would recommend it to anybody wanting to unwind from city life.
Yes we would stay again 100%

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a totsl of six nights to visit the North Island prior to our cruise.. This was the last night before we went to our ship. It was by far the most rural and isolated spot we stayed. It was everything that we expected. We arrived a bit late, as being from the US and driving ourselves, we tended to be late everywhere.
The room was totally adequate, though the tiles in the bathroom tended to get a bit slick if the shower head was aimed in the wrong direction. I am almost 75 and would have enjoyed the addition of safety bars in the shower.

The use of the property and the design of the short walks , etc. was spot on.

I have read some of the reviews where folks seemed to think that the lodge and surrounds should be more trim and neat. Come on! If you are in the country, enjoy the country.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ojairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at Wairua Lodge twice now, and have never been disappointed.
It is close to Whitianga town for when you need supplies, but far enough into the valley that you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Surrounded by bush and nothing but the sound of the river and the birds in the trees, makes for a truly relaxing experience.
We have stayed in both the King Snug room, and the River Deck Suite, and found both to be fantastic. The River Deck Suite is the ultimate though! With it's night sky spa and tree top bath it is somewhere really special, and we will be back every year for a special weekend. Thanks to Charles and Tam who are always friendly, helpful, and go above and beyond to ensure you have an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kels152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Beautiful spot, totally relaxing, great value. Lots of lovely spots to sit and enjoy the lovely scenery and bush walks to take. Just a short drive from attractions but there is really no need to leave the place. You could not ask for more. Highly recommend

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ngaire n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We booked Wairua for the remote location in the Coromandel forest. It didn't disappoint in this respect, the lodge is well into the jungle down many windy roads, so you have a great feeling of seclusion when you arrive. That said, you are still in easy reach of Whitianga and Coromandel town.

The owners are very friendly people and really look to ensure you get the most from your trip, but equally will leave you in peace as you want it.

We got good breakfast supplies and there are nice options around the property, the private bathtub that opens to the forest, the hot tub that looks to the starry skies and the local walking paths and swimming hole.

The only slight criticism and it is slight, is we felt the property a little old and tired. We had the expansive river deck suite which had lots of space, but feels a little dated, a little stale etc. It's similar as you walk around he property. If it could be refreshed a little, this would be a little gem!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charltam, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback and the sensitive way you have presented it.The Hidden Valley is certainly as much about its natural structure as it is about the accommodation itself.We do not respond to reviews normally as we believe it is an international conversation between travelers.In this case thanks for your feedback directed to us and we will assess the Riverdeck Suite for a polish up as you suggest.Happy travels Charles and Tam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Set amongst gorgeous native NZ bush, the lodge offers boutique, comfortable (although quite tiny) accommodations. We felt like this was like an upmarket camp/retreat; great for couples (the outside bath is amazingly romantic) or for groups.
What makes the lodge very special is the couple who own, live and manage the property. Very friendly, approachable and thoughtful, they make guests feel like friends without cramping style. It was very wet over our stay and they even moved our car across the fiord during the night.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get a larger room. We were a short stay so no room service necessary although breakfas...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestnRecreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here after our wedding and absolutely loved it, it was just what we needed!
We had booked in to a king snug room but were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been put in the River Deck Suite for our honeymoon stay. It's a great suite with everything you need, plenty of room and it even smells great!
We enjoyed the outdoor bath and the swimming holes. Even when it was windy everywhere else in the Coromandel we would come back to the nice sheltered lodge and hardly noticed the wind.
Tam was great, always around and very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
6.5 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#15 of 24 in Whitianga
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £102 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing