We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place i have ever stayed...anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #2 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Hidden Valley Lodge is an unpretentious retreat set in a natural wonderland that is fantastic in the true sense of the word. I felt like I was in another world.

The River deck suite provides the perfect accommodation for a group of up to four people. Full kitchen and bathroom facilities are provided along with a cosy living area complete with TV, DVD player (DVDs available to borrow) and a stereo with a CD player and i-pod dock!!! The suite also has 2 separate bedrooms with comfortable beds and extra blankets for particularly cold nights.

Tam and Charlie are your hosts and they provide a warm friendly welcome and unobtrusive service. Fresh fruit, bread and yoghurt is provided daily for breakfast along with tea and coffee facilities. Hidden Valley Lodge not only boasts large, beautiful grounds but also an outdoor heated spa (which can be booked in hourly timeslots) and a hot tub on the deck (also booked in hourly timeslots). BBQ facilities are provided and meat packs can be purchased on site.

Although you will have to drive an unsealed road to get there, it can be done with a normal car (you do not need a 4WD). Do not let it put you off.

We were only able to stay one night, but i highly reccommend that you stay at least 3 or 4.

The most surprising part of it all is that the price is not budget breaking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etkuhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in The Hidden Valley. We were taken aback at the warmth and hospitality of Tam and Charles from the moment we arrived. There was nothing lacking. In spite of the fact that it was raining most of the weekend, the breathtaking surrounds, exhilarating walks, the open air spa kept us smiling. Then there was the sky bath, unbelievably special - increcibly unique - beautifully romantic. The room was luxurious and the hospitality, world class. Thank you Tam and Charles for allowing us the opportunity to experience your haven...your heaven. We will most definitely see you again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wairua lodge and wished that we had booked for longer. Our hosts Tam and Charlie gave us a very warm welcome and their love for the place showed. We were the only guests but their attention to little things contributed very much to our overall enjoyment. The "treetop" bathroom had us intrigued and it did not disappoint. What a beautiful experience is was; candles, romantic music available and mood lighting into the ravine below. We actually turned the music off as the sound of the stream and the calls of the owls were just wonderful in themselves. They had wet water shoes to use for exploring up the river and along the forest paths on the property which saved getting our hiking boots saturated. They also had buckets and spades to borrow for a visit to the Hotwater beach, where we watched the sun go down from our own little hot pool. We also borrowed a powerful spotlight to find some Moreporks (owls) around the property at night, my partner loves owls and she was so excited at finding them. We enjoyed our room that was tastefully decorated, the electric fake fire giving a warm ambience, and extending the romantic feel to the place. The breakfast provided was also healthy and enjoyable. The winding dirt road, the steep approach and the ford created a real “away from it all” feel, making this a unique place to stay. It was equal best in our North Island holiday. Many thanks to Tam and Charlie for a wonderful 3 days.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinamudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Stayed there with my girl friend for a couple of nights in dec 2008.

The place is just wonderful, very quiet and secluded, located (feels like) in the middle of the native forrest, 15 mins drive from Whitianga.

The hosts are just wonderful, and Tam knows everyhing there is to know about the Coromandel area.

The hotel is surrounded by forrests, and a river runs through the propery. If you don't mind the (quite) cold water, you can take a dip one of the swim holes. There's also a sheltered and very cozy outdoor jacuzzi, and a big bathtub.

Just before you get to the hotel, you have to cross the river with your car, there are concrete slabs on the river bed, and the depth isn't more than 10 cm or so, so it feels more dangerous than it actually is. You can also leave the car at the river parking, and get across using the 10m hanging bridge.

The rooms are very quiet and adequate equipped, they got a small fridge, an electric kettle, a basic set of cutlery, plates and glasses. There's a big BBQ (and, I belive, also an open kitchen) you can borrow to prepare your food, but are no ways of heating any kind of food in your room.
There's no TV-signal reception at the Wairua Lodge, but you can borrow a movie or two from the hosts or in Whitianga. You can also forget cell phone coverage, and fast internet, but if you need that, you're staying in the wrong place.

Make sure you try to spot the small owls, flying between the trees in front of the hotel during night!

There's a couple of places where the road to the lodge runs on the hill side, with the mountain on one side, and a 25+ meter drop on the other. There are safety barriers, and the road is usually wide enough for two cars to meet, but it'll still get your pulse up ;-)

We loved the place, and would definetly return!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frollic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Two thumbs up for the warm welcome, the beautiful river deck suite. Everything is done to relax and enjoy. We have had a perfect stay and Hervé forgot to thank you Tam for the marvellous apple cake !
Thx so much for these great holidays !


Hervé, Evelyne ANDRE
New Caledonia

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karin_caethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ManfredTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bayview at 91 Boutique & Lodge 5 Star
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
5.8 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £99 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing