We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding night we could never have dreamed of!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #3 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
1 review
“A wedding night we could never have dreamed of!”
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We travelled to NZ to visit family and to get married. We have a young daughter and could only manage child care for one night therefore the wedding night had to be really special.
The people at isite in Whitianga recommended Wairua Lodge without hesitation but no amount of pictures or descriptions could do it justice.
We had the river deck suite which was truely awsome. We arrived later than expected and TAM and Charles were waiting for us with Champagne on ice as they knew it was our wedding night.
They were truely lovely, the food they served us (privately in our suite) was first rate and their contribution topped off a truely maghical day.
They have what they call the 'bath house' which is basically an open sided hut in the middle of the bush with nice deep bath in it. You can lay in the bath surrounded by candles, listening to chill out music accompanied by the amazing night time stars with the perfumes of nature enhacing the mood!
There is also a crystal clear river with ice cold swimming holes to cool yourself down if the NZ sun gets too much. I'm looking forward to the wedding anivesary in December 2010!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLASSHAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
191
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed two nights at Wairua Lodge in December and we were thrilled we did. What a wonderful place. The setting is glorious (only one other property to be seen in the entire valley, and you really have to squint to see that!) and Tam and Charles, the hosts, worked very hard to cater to our every whim. It is clear they have a real passion to make Wairua Lodge a success and I'm sure it will pay dividends.
We had a king room with a patio that had its own gas-fired BBQ. Wairua Lodge has no restaurant, so the BBQ is an inspired idea. The self catering kitchen area is great though. Rooms are tastefully and luxuriously decorated, with flat-screen DVD players and all the amenities (and more!) you could ever need. No TV or mobile phone reception though - which is a good thing for a relaxing retreat.
The spa pool was great, but was surpassed in my view by the bath overhanging the gorge. How amazing is that. We had candle-lit bubble baths in the darkness, with a glass of fizz and a torch to try and spot the Morepork owls that live in this area (very rare!). And both nights we spotted them!
We would highly recommend a trip to Wairua Lodge as a "get away from it all" experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My family and I had THE MOST wonderful time at Wairua Lodge. The rooms were perfect, so comfortable and homely yet still very modern and pleasing to the eye. I've lost count of the amount of days I spent just walking through the property, reading, sleeping, having a spa or an amazing bath in what has to be the worlds best bath house I have ever had the pleasure of. The host are wonderful, always making sure that we had everything we needed without imposing on our space. They pointed us in the right direction towards all the special local spots (even gave us buckets ans spades for hot water beach) and when my brother and I were looking for a night out they told us that one of our fave bands was playing just down the rd (PERFECT!).
Another fab bonus is that you are out of mobile range so no email or work calls can distract you. However if you ever need to check in your phone goes straight back into range when you go into town (only 10 mins drive).
I returned from our holiday feeling more refreshed that ever before - all down to beautiful Wairua Lodge and our wonderful hosts. I can't thank you enough!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppyb2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We have done our share of international travel, and we rate Wairua Lodge up there with our other most favorite accommodation - the Tjampuhan in Ubud, Bali as a point of comparison.

A first sighting of the Lodge is breath taking. The elegant and unique architecture, the surrounds and the sense of remoteness gives an early impression of being very lucky to be there. This impression lasts.

We used the little house for our three adult kids to reconnect over Christmas, and also one of the romantic units for ourselves. This was a perfect combination of privacy and shared family time.

The additional delights of the outside spa, the bush bath, the gorgeous gardens and of course the wilderness of the river itself - including glow worms at night - made time slow down while also allowing our family to enjoy the faster pace of Whitianga night life and other coastal spots.

Tam and Charles are unfailingly generous hosts - caring for our every moment without being in the least way intrusive. As we stayed for a week, we had access to Tam's dinners if we wanted them, laundry, the self-service economic options of the kitchen in the house and the pleasures of provided DVDs and music.

Wairua Lodge will not fail anyone's hopes for restoration and pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband, my parents and I stayed at Wairua Lodge for the new year and had an absolutely wonderful time. The place had all that we could ask for, a beautiful native bush setting in the river valley and surrounded by the Coromandel mountains. The remote setting only added to the experience, although in reality the facilities of the town centre were only about a 10-15 minute drive away. The owners - Tam and Charles - were immensely friendly and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was both comfortable and enjoyable. We stayed in the two Queen Rooms which were faultless - clean, well decorated and comfortable with all the key requirements.

The highlight for us has to be spending the day down at the river, relaxing in the hammocks or beanbags, taking a walk up stream through the river and up the mountain tracks and enjoying a refreshing, fun-packed afternoon in the swimming holes (and making good use of the rope swing!). At the end of the day, we relaxed beneath the stars in the outdoor bath and spa pool. Another highlight was to have the opportunity to see the native morepork owls and glow-worms.

Wairua Lodge - a magical place that we would happily visit again and again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2009

An absolutely fantastic place to stay. We had high expectations, based on the photos we saw on the website, but nothing prepared us for the beauty and tranquility of the lodge and the very warm, genuine welcome we experienced from Tam and Charles. Wairua Lodge is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. Excellent rooms, beautiful views, the magical 'Treetop bathhouse', two swimming holes...I could go on and on, but the best thing is to GO THERE! Can't recommend it enough! Oh, and thanks for the gift of the macadamia nut tree Charles! Much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phhAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Hidden Valley Lodge is an unpretentious retreat set in a natural wonderland that is fantastic in the true sense of the word. I felt like I was in another world.

The River deck suite provides the perfect accommodation for a group of up to four people. Full kitchen and bathroom facilities are provided along with a cosy living area complete with TV, DVD player (DVDs available to borrow) and a stereo with a CD player and i-pod dock!!! The suite also has 2 separate bedrooms with comfortable beds and extra blankets for particularly cold nights.

Tam and Charlie are your hosts and they provide a warm friendly welcome and unobtrusive service. Fresh fruit, bread and yoghurt is provided daily for breakfast along with tea and coffee facilities. Hidden Valley Lodge not only boasts large, beautiful grounds but also an outdoor heated spa (which can be booked in hourly timeslots) and a hot tub on the deck (also booked in hourly timeslots). BBQ facilities are provided and meat packs can be purchased on site.

Although you will have to drive an unsealed road to get there, it can be done with a normal car (you do not need a 4WD). Do not let it put you off.

We were only able to stay one night, but i highly reccommend that you stay at least 3 or 4.

The most surprising part of it all is that the price is not budget breaking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etkuhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
264 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
17.6 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Property: Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing