We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything they say is true!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Ranked #2 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Working for a year in NZ. We're dedicated 'spoilt' tourists having stayed in increasingly fancy locations over the years but Wairua (especially the riverside suite) is definitely up there- very special. Go before the place moves upmarket and gets expensive! Worth it for the tree-top bath and the swimming holes alone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed at Wairua lodge with our five kids and couldn't have chosen a better place in the Coromandel area. The drive to the lodge itself is kind of an adventure and once you arrive, it seems you're in paradise : the location is fantastic, in the middle of nature, right above a small river where you can swim, with quiet and romantic corners in the garden where you can have a drink, read or just dream while your children are playing around. Our apartment was huge, modern, elegant, with all the amenities you can expect in a luxury hotels but the feeling you were "at home". Above all, our hosts were among the friendliest people we've met in New Zealand : full of attention et good advices. They had prepared for us a excellent family dinner on arrival and organize for the kids a "night walk" by the river they will never forget. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We picked Wairua Lodge as our place to stay in the Coromandel area of North New Zealand, and we couldn't have picked a better spot to get away from it all and enjoy some peaceful serenity.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the drive out to Waiura is not for the faint hearted, but it is not that difficult. You just have to concentrate and take care, and you will get there just fine. Tam provides some very good driving directions from Whitianga.

Be aware that there is NO internet, NO television, NO radio or mobile phone reception at Wairua - It is just you and nature with nothing to spoil the experience. Our kids absolutely loved running around the valley and swimming in the waterholes, which are just picturesque. At night, Charles will help you find the elusive Morepork Owls and other wildlife that is prevalent around the lodge. Star gazers take note - the sky at Wairua on a clear night is absolutely astounding!

The kids absolutely loved the warm spa bath, and I myself thoroughly enjoyed the bath in the treetops on our last night there. Tam was a great hostess, and she even provided beach shoes, buckets and spades so that we could enjoy the experience at nearby Hot Beach.

Tip: Do some shopping at Whitianga township before you arrive at the lodge so that you have provisions to cook up when you get there. If you forget there is no problem as Tam and Charles have frozen food packs available if you get desperate, but the Lodge has a fantastic dining and barbeque area which is available for use by guests, and it really is a beautiful, romantic setting when the candles are lit up.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

What I find. My daughter booked this for us and I wondered at first what we had come to but oh how it proved to be a fantastic relaxing few days. Just sorry be didn't have time to stay longer. The lodges are comfortable, homely and peaceful. The valley setting is wonderful with plenty of wildlife to watch especially the morepork owls. The cooking facilities are ideal with either your own BBQ or eating outdoors on the decking area, fantastic. Home from home. Tam and Charles make excellent hosts. Nothing is too much for them.
Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I can only say good things about 'The hidden Valley'. Besides the amazing surroundings the hosts make you feel welcome and at ease. The rooms are comfortable and with a nice view of the garden. The pictures do not to neither the svimming holes nor the spa/the treetop bathtub justice.
Lying in the Tree top bathroom, which is open towards the forrest, listenings to the birds and the river was spetacular! We also were lucky to see lots of Moreporks (small New Zealand owl). The only thing that could have been better was that there was a little trouble with the hot water. But this was sorted out as soon as they could and we could use the bathtub until the shower was fixed.

If you want a place of tranquilty and beauty stay at the Wairua Lodge! Perfect for honeymoon.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_mrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stumbled across this place and stayed two nights but would have loved to have stayed longer if there was availability. It made our NZ trip brilliant. Whether you are taking a dip in the idyllic swimming holes or lazing by them in a hammock then this place is guaranteed to relax you. Great value for money with hosts that look after you as well as leaving you alone to enjoy the peaceful setting. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We (myself, Mrs Haggis and our two kids aged 9 and 7) stayed here for 3 nights in mid January. We selected Wairua based on the reviews in Trip Advisor, and I'm pleased to confirm that the other reviews were spot on, this is a beautiful place.

I can't add much that hasn't already been said - beautiful setting, great rooms, glow worm walk, swimming holes and nature walks.

We had a wonderful few days here, quiet and exceptionally relaxing. The kids loved the spa bath whilst we loved the tree top bath. We also saw the owls most nights, which was a tremendous thrill for us all.

A special mention also to Tam and Charles who were exceptional hosts. Very engaging and accommodating. We wish them both every success with Wairua.

We will certainly return and can highly recommend the lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggis_Supper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
19.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
6.5 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#15 of 24 in Whitianga
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £102 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairua Lodge sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 double rooms look out across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and the Kiwi Apartment is a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing