We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like being on a tropical island”
Review of The Lost Spring

The Lost Spring
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot Springs, Natural Geo-thermal Pools, Day Spa and Dining.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels like being on a tropical island”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wow, we were taken away to the islands, what a special time we had. Very peaceful, romantic , relaxing and warm. A lovely atmosphere due to the lush vegetation and warm pools. We had a seafood platter for 2 at the restaurant. The platter looked fantastic, and tasted just as good. All in all a wonderful evening

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    266
    55
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A very special 'mother & daughter' moment"”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic place to celebrate some special mother and daughter time! We chose to have a facial and pedicure together and finished off with a very relaxed lunch. The room was blissfully warm and scented, their staff delightful and friendly & we were on first name basis with them both within moments. My feet have never felt and looked so good!!!. The menu choices for lunch were ample with a special board on offer too. Our food was fresh, full of flavour and presented well. Take the time to view the photos on the wall - they tell a story of the development of the Springs. We enjoyed a walk through the gardens before leaving - so much effort and thought. We even got to chat with the owner - nice way to finish our first visit. Next time - we will indulge in a swim! Well done everyone, we'll be back!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank eminms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant..”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Today was my third visit too the lost springs..

This place is as close to Polynesia as you can get in New Zealand.. The pools and grounds are always clean and tidy.. It can be a bit pricey if your only going to be there for an hour but make a day of it - go for the works. Nothing beats a good massage. The staff are always friendly and inviting it seems theres nothing they won't do while you have a soak.

The cafe is great and the food was spot on.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettPaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unbelievable experience!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My friend and I flew up from Christchurch to explore the Coromandel. On ringing to see what we could experience, we accepted the special package of a one hour swim between the various pools, then a massage, a platter for lunch with a cocktail. It was the best way to spend a Sunday that we could think of. Thank you to the wonderful man who discovered the Springs and then spent his money to make it magic. Will we return? Oh yes. You must not miss this beautiful experience.

Jackie, Nelson, New Zealand

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fabulous setting to soak and feel nourished”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have been here several times and always come away feeling totally relaxed and my body so free. IMO, by far the best hot pools in NZ. The setting is stunning where staff come round regularly to take orders for refreshments or food.

Last visit we took advantage of a spa special package & what a good value option that was. Recommend their spa packages any time.

The restuaurant offers good food and something for no meat eaters too.

Another bonus is that they have a generator, so if power is out like it was during our visit due to a big cyclone then this place is certainly the place to be :-)

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 007adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lost Spring also viewed

 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Lost Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing