We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT!!!”
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Best B&B ive ever been to. The view from your room is breath taking Annamarie and Hans are an amazing couple who are extremly friendly and very helpful! Also great company if you wanna just relax and have a chat. They both make amazing breakfasts for you which included home made crossants! defnitly recommend with in the bays if you are ever looking at a place to stay in whitianga :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

In the heights of Whitianga, Within The Bays offers you an amazing view on the mounts and the ocean. You could look it during hours...
Annemarie and Hans are very friendly people, you'll feel good with them. Something you want to know? Ask Hans and like a magician, he'll put out a document of a drawer...He's funny!
Beautiful room, fantatic view, great hosts and good breakfast : a place to visit!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aure001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This was our first B&B on our NZ holiday and Hans and Annemarie could not have been more welcoming. We were given permission to check in early and were welcomed with tea and freshly baked cookies. My wife has a wheat sensitivity, and they had taken special care to bake cookies for her that were gluten-free. At $250 per night the cost was beyond what we had been budgeting, but we took advantage of a third-night-free special rate and were very glad we did. The room was large and very comfortable, with an excellent bed. Views back over the valley are gorgeous, and the location was private and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. Annemarie and Hans were great hosts - knowledgeable and interested in helping us make the most of our time in the area. We enjoyed getting to know them and listening to their stories. Although we shared the main living room with them, they made us feel like family visitors and we were very comfortable relaxing with them over late afternoon tea or an evening glass of wine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My partner and I spent ten days in September between Rotorua and the Coromandel spa-hopping and enjoying the beautiful New Zealand scenery. The highlight of the trip was a helicopter ride out to White Island.

During our travels we stayed at first class facilities, but Within the Bays was the only B&B we tried. We were glad we did! The wheelchair-friendly facilities were brilliant and our room had a large private ensuite with two basins. Sliding glass doors from the bedroom lead to a private balcony and a spectacular view of sea and bush, yet the home is just minutes from the village of Whitiangi, with shops, restaurants, and tourist facilities close at hand.

Hosts Annemarie and Hans Apers could not have been more helpful and gave us many valuable pointers in how to best use the time available to us. We stayed three nights and would recommend that as an absolute minimum to see some of the terrific sights and to enjoy the beaches offered by the Coromandel.

Annemarie spins and works with textiles and crafts and it was interesting to learn more about these creative activities from Annemarie, who is quite happy to let guests have a go if they are so inclined. While we were there Annemarie thoughtfully crafted a small mouse from natural wool to take back home to our cats. These pampered felines usually can't be bothered with store-bought toys, but love the little mouse (what's left of him!).

But the very best thing about our visit was the scrumptious breakfasts. Each day Annemarie presents guests with a menu for the next day's breakfast that would be completely at home in a five star restaurant. Anything you might imagine you'd like for breakfast is available. If it isn't on the menu, Annemarie will make every effort to meet custom requests if guests provide her with enough notice to gather the ingredients. The freshly cooked croissants were a favourite, served with Hans' home crafted jams.

A lovely home in a spectacular setting, knowledgeable and friendly hosts, and special food. What more could one want from a quiet getaway? We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douginnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed at the B&B during our weeding weekend. Hans & Anne-Marie made our wedding weekend luxurious, comfortable, interesting and fun! They really excel at the little touches that make one feel welcome and that make a big difference.

We highly recommend this B&B! One of our favorite places on both the North Island and South Island!

- Yvonne & Chris, Austin, Texas, USA

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonnej14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hadrian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nadiabuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
19.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £139 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing