We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NZ Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NZ Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Chris and I started our honeymoon at 'Within the Bays' and we couldnt have asked for more. The location is spectacular with brilliant views from high up on the hills. The bedroom is clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. Hans and Annemarie are fantastic hosts. They made us feel very relaxed and shared many a story with us. The breakfasts were of 5 star quality, with home made breads and crossiants, Hans jams, fresh produce and all very well cooked. Annemarie and Hans were able share their knowledge of NZ and offer advice and suggestions for the rest of our holiday. They truly went above and beyond to ensure that we had a wonderful time in Whitianga. We had such a lovely time here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury B&B !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AClark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thanks for your review, most appreciated! Wishing you a very happy future together, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

A great place to stay with stunning views, very comfortable bed, very functional bathroom and a yummy breakfast each morning.
A very new and immaculate house and just like staying with some old friends.

Thank you to Annemarie and Hans for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itstonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thanks very much! We had a great time too! I hope the mouse you needle felted is still in great condition:>) Cheers, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

In Feb. my parents, sister and I stayed for two days in Within the Bays and being one of our first stops in NZ we could not have asked for a better experience. Annemarie and Hans made us feel welcomed and made our stay an unforgettable one. They not only provided us with many interesting stories and all kinds of information about the Stars, flora and fauna of NZ but also provided us with many tips about were to go and what to see.

The place had the best view ever and the breakfast was "divine". Annemarie and Hans make most the jams that they serve and you have to try the croissants. We loved our stay in Within the Bays.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincinnati4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our first B & B experience couldn't have been any better ! Annemarie and Hans were the perfect hosts and it felt like we were home away from home.

The place was clean and well maintained. They were keen in helping us plan our day and gave us some great tips. We woke up to a scrumptious breakfast and a million dollar view. The freshly baked croissant and organic jams are not to be missed.

Our evenings were spent sitting at the fire place sampling Hans' great lager and exchanging stories and photos. Annemarie taught us how to spin wool which was good fun and we ended up with our own great souvenirs.

We will definitely return for another for many more stays.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidhi1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Best B&B ive ever been to. The view from your room is breath taking Annamarie and Hans are an amazing couple who are extremly friendly and very helpful! Also great company if you wanna just relax and have a chat. They both make amazing breakfasts for you which included home made crossants! defnitly recommend with in the bays if you are ever looking at a place to stay in whitianga :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

In the heights of Whitianga, Within The Bays offers you an amazing view on the mounts and the ocean. You could look it during hours...
Annemarie and Hans are very friendly people, you'll feel good with them. Something you want to know? Ask Hans and like a magician, he'll put out a document of a drawer...He's funny!
Beautiful room, fantatic view, great hosts and good breakfast : a place to visit!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aure001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This was our first B&B on our NZ holiday and Hans and Annemarie could not have been more welcoming. We were given permission to check in early and were welcomed with tea and freshly baked cookies. My wife has a wheat sensitivity, and they had taken special care to bake cookies for her that were gluten-free. At $250 per night the cost was beyond what we had been budgeting, but we took advantage of a third-night-free special rate and were very glad we did. The room was large and very comfortable, with an excellent bed. Views back over the valley are gorgeous, and the location was private and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. Annemarie and Hans were great hosts - knowledgeable and interested in helping us make the most of our time in the area. We enjoyed getting to know them and listening to their stories. Although we shared the main living room with them, they made us feel like family visitors and we were very comfortable relaxing with them over late afternoon tea or an evening glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
2.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
6.7 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Property: Within The Bays
Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing