We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ohuka Place Homestay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Endeavour Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makona Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
37
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden retrievermercury bayb bstayed here for nightsother guestshelenedwinbaileybreakfasthosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Thank you to Helen, Edwin & Bailey (golden retriever) for a lovely stay. We probably should have stayed longer than one night. Lovely friendly couple. Exceptionaly clean & comfortable room, great ensuite. Really nice breakfast. Beautiful garden & surrounds. Great views. Only a few minutes drive from the main town & beach. And of course Bailey the retreiver - reminded us so much of our own old dog (deceased).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Absolutely lovely hosts with helpful tourist information, they even lent us beach towels and shovels for hot water beach. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and great views. Tasty homemade breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again if ever back in whitianga.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed in Totara room which has a fantastic view of Bay and hill side. House is beautifully decorated and set in a very peaceful location within easy reach of the town.Helen and Edwin are very good hosts and do a lovely breakfast to start your day. This was the first stop on our tour of New Zealand and we could not have wished for more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in in Devember 2011 and had a lovely stay. Helen and Edwin were so welcoming as was Bailey their beautiful and friendly dog. Our room was very comfortable and had great views out over the bay - we enjoyed sitting out looking at the view and the birds. Great breakfasts and a great welcome. It was very quiet and peaceful, but easy to drive into Whitianga. It was our first Christmas ever away from home and we were a little apprehensive - but we were made to feel part of the family and had a wonderful time here - thank you. The only possible improvement would be the addition of wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shep847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Excellent stay! Stayed there for one night in February 2012 . The warm welcoming, and attention of our host make us feel like home.
Our hosts are just fantastic. I wish we could have stayed longer.
They offer you a great breakfast, the rooms are spacious and clean, the view is stunning and they give you all the advice possible
Definitely the place to stay in Whitianga.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews